We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wilmington's Power Brokers Eat Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deep Blue Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Deep Blue Bar and Grill
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between Orange & Tatnall
Description: Deep Blue, a contemporary American fish house specializes in creative preparations of shockingly fresh fish. Not strictly seafood, the menu also features excellent steaks and vegetarian options as well. The raw bar features exotic oysters from around the world. General Manager John Narvaez sets a sophisticated, welcoming tone for Deep Blue with friendly service and a nationally recognized wine list.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Wilmington's Power Brokers Eat Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Deep Blue remains my favorite in Wilmington, Delaware, even after twelve years of dining here. It is an easy walk from the Hotel DuPont, serves terrific cocktails and seafood that is creatively and flavorfully prepared. Keep your ears open around the bar and you might hear tales of one of the big corporate mergers gone awry being litigated in Delaware's famous Court of Chancery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trace_Schmeltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    37
    15
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Delaware
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lunch was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have traveled extensively, and we both agreed that our lunch a week ago at Deep Blue was one of the best meals we have had anywhere ever. For appetizer and entree, I had 2 items that were specials: chilled gazpacho, and then a piece of fresh fish, broiled to perfection, served on a bed of Asian rice (black!), and topped with a few lumps of crab meat. Perfection. I do not remember what my husband ordered, but he was equally pleased with his meal. We were both also very impressed with our waiter: again, one of the best ever, attentive, but not hovering. There is a parking garage around the corner from the restaurant on Orange Street (the restaurant is on 11th Street) which gives a parking ticket that can be validated at Deep Blue for a discount. The restaurant is convenient to the duPont Theatre (formerly the Playhouse), and other venues on Market Street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If you live withing two hours of this place go....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am going to put this as simply as I can. One of the best meals I have ever had. The Halibut is amazing. The chef that has been here for the past four months would be making 250k in New York. Everything I have eaten is so thoughtfully prepared...In other words run don't walk here. Aboslutely fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aquaholick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent place with the city vibe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are looking for a more upscale place this seemed like a good place to hang out for the business crowd. We had a good time hanging around and having some beverages.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank falcon_scranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lobster Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Saturdays in the summer is lobster night with a 3 course lobster dinner for $29,90. It changes weekly and our dinner was very good. They didn't have the wine I ordered so they let me trade up for a more expensive will at the same price. I would highly recommend Deep Blue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep Blue Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing