We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible restaurant”
Review of Pho Cali

Pho Cali
Ranked #132 of 550 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible restaurant”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The sprouts that came with the pho is not fresh - dry and dirty.
Service is slow and rude.
Lastly, the pho is not good at all! Their broth is horrible. Also their pho is mushy.

Would not come here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowing_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Been here twice, not impressed either time.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The first time I took my Vietnamese family here, we all ordered a variety of items. From Pho to stir fry noodles to grilled pork chop with rice dish - all were pretty average in quality and very lackluster in flavor.

I tried to go back a second time, thinking maybe I just had a bad memory. However, the second time was as I remembered it the first time.

I ordered the spring rolls, which were fine. They were generous with the shrimp and pork. However, they did not use any of the special Vietnamese herbs that I remember growing up. All the vegetables they had were lettuce and bean sprouts. Spring rolls can have amazing flavor and these did not deliver. The peanut sauce, was good however.

I ordered a heaping bowl of pho, which was very tasty! However, I was thirsty halfway through the bowl. Like REALLY thirsty - and then I continued to be thirsty for 2-3 hours after the fact. My Vietnamese mother always warned me that if you are thirsty for a long time afterwards, that the broth itself was not seasoned correctly and they took shortcuts somewhere. Maybe it's just a family myth! But I know when I make my own pho broth, I am not that thirsty afterwards and have had plenty of other pho bowls without being thirsty afterwards either. I was delighted in the very fresh basil they gave me though.

If you are really craving Vietnamese food and you do not want to make it yourself, then this is a fine substitute. Honestly, it benefits from being one of three restaurants offering Vietnamese cuisine in the Wilmington/Newark area. Being from Houston, I have had some really outstanding Vietnamese cuisine. This place really pales in comparison and would be out of business in Houston. But for here, I guess it will do.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TakeMeWIthYouPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently yummy”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We go here routinely and usually get our noodles, rolls maybe stirfry , but I cannot recall any single thing that would would not order again except their banh mi. Great value, love the spicy Hue style noodles.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilmingtonKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellence”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

OMG I was talked in to coming here and now I have to go back the food is WONDERFUL well at least the soup(can feed 2 ppl) was I wish they had the bread for the Bon Mi but there's always next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great pho”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

just moved to wilmington area, hit this place on a rainy evening. very very good pho in heart portions, great spring rolls. fast service, was amazed typical buffet chain a few doors down was packed, this place maybe 1/4 full and way way better food. will be a regular here as down the road from the house!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gborotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Cali also viewed

 

Been to Pho Cali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing