We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient business hotel in a busy area”
Review of Inn at Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Wilmington
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We've stayed at this hotel about 10 nights, in 2 stays over the past 3 months. It's fine, and very comfortable. The rate is reasonable, and was more reasonable than its two neighboring chain hotels, Marriott and Hilton.

Pros: Good location on a very busy commercial strip (Rt. 202), lots of stores and restaurants. We especially loved Yi Palace, in a strip-mall across the divided highway, south of Widener University. Terrific authentic Sichuan dishes, fiery hot if you want! We ate there 4 or 5 times! The Inn has free fast wifi, and breakfast is included with the room rate. There was a microwave, fridge, and coffee machine in the room. We also got some snacks at Trader Joe's, about a mile north on Rt. 202.
The hotel staff is relaxed, friendly and courteous. The hot coffee and tea is available in the breakfast room for later in the day, too, and that's welcome.

Cons: If your room faces Rt. 202,traffic noise can be loud. Partly my own fault because I had the window open an inch or two. I love having a window to open, though!

I have to say that the pros greatly outnumber the cons on this review. We'd gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeresaupstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 402 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2010

Last stayed here about 5 years ago, back when it was the Macintosh, but it's still a great value, clean and pleasant - and quiet. They've put in flat-screen TVs, microwaves, and mini fridges, and have enhanced the breakfast offerings. I only picked up on a couple of glitches: one of my night table lamps had too short a cord to reach an outlet, so either the previous guest had pinched an extension cord or it had gone long unnoticed; and while the room was clean, housekeeping had missed pizza sauce left on the TV remote, which was kinda yucky. Rates seem to be cheapest on the weekend when they're not catering to business travelers, and senior/AAA discounts can be had on line.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COwens54, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the INN at Wilmington. We are happy to know that you find the INN at Wilmington to be a reliable hotel. It was nice of you to acknowledge the improvements we have made in the past few years.

I apologize for the housekeeping issue you had in your room and the problem with the lamp. We will address both issues with the appropriate staff and appreciate you bringing these items to our attention.

We hope to see you on your next trip to the Brandywine Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

This is our fourth trip to the Inn at Wilmington. We go to the Winery's every fall
and have found this to be our favorite place to stay. The room's are clean with
flat screen TV's - we were lucky this time to be given a Suite with a couch and
separate area. Roberta at the front desk is the most friendliest host, they make
you feel right at home. It definitely has the feel of an INN and sometimes you
feel like you are the only one's in the hotel (but they are always booked). It's
a perfect place to stay for an overnight trip or a weekend. They also have a free
breakfast in the morning that is really great. We are used to staying in high
class hotels when we travel such as Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton - but when
we are going away for a fall weekend trip in the Brandywine Valley, this is a perfect
hotel for our stay. You won't be disappointed. Thank you again to the general manager
Christina and Roberta at check-in, we had a great stay and look forward to our return.
-Ryan

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rycomusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Wilmington for a Saturday night in Sept 2009. We were looking for a hotel that would feel a little nicer than a typical chain hotel, but wasn't as expensive as a B&B. The Inn at Wilmington fit the bill quite nicely. We appreciated having a small couch in the room, a flat screen TV, fridge, and microwave. The bed and linens were clean and comfortable. We had limited interactions with the staff, but they were friendly and courteous with each interaction. The complementary breakfast suited us just fine, but it was a continental breakfast supplemented with microwave-able breakfast sandwiches and a waffle maker. The location was great-- easy on and off Baltimore Pike, which is lined with chain restaurants and stores. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeweltoseeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

This is an excellent choice if you find yourself in Wilmington, DE. It has plush bedding and is well run. The environs were clean and the price, albeit, higher than alot of places, is about right for a major metropolitan area in the Northeast. I paid $120/night.

It is a ten minute drive to downtown and there are alot of shopping places and restaurants of all types in the area.

It is close to major highways and the train station (ten minutes).

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank Goodpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed for one night to attend a concert. We stayed on the second floor in a king room. Although i saw some a minor stain on the curtain, lamp, light pink stains on the bathtub in the bathroom, and the towel bar outside near the sink was bent. It was clean enough to stay for one night, a little smaller than other hotels we have stayed at.

My husband said the exercise room was ok. For breakfast i had the bagels, orange juice and bannana, and it was good.

The restaurants are right across the street and the mall was not far from the hotel.

We would stay again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Used as a stopover on my way to Florida. Hotel was recently renovated, but still maintained somewhat of a musty smell. Rooms were clean, but for a recently renovated hotel, some of the details were not well done (ie. caulking, bathrooms). Great complimentary breakfast and service was friendly, as well. Great value for a stopover and would probably stay again for the $85 price I paid. Not as great as some of the other reviews I read.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flymdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Wilmington

Address: 300 Rocky Run Parkway, Wilmington, DE 19803
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#2 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#7 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $70 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxurious comfort and local charm at the INN at Wilmington. Nestled in the heart of Delaware's Brandywine Valley, our inviting boutique hotel features contemporary styled guestrooms and suites and impressive amenities, including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free Wi-Fi, and business and fitness centers. Enjoy our convenient location near points of interest such as Nemours Estate and Winterthur Museum, major businesses like DuPont and AstraZeneca, and the Nemours/Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children. Book one of our exclusive vacation packages that pair local attractions with our modern, pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Wilmington Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing