We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Wilmington
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brandywine River Hotel(Chadds Ford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
176
136
60
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
136
60
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoperations managerfront deskwaffleswaffle makerlaw schoolhard boiled eggsroom was cleandouble queen roomfree breakfast isfresh fruitthe breakfast areastay there againlongwood gardenscoffee tablehot breakfastcourtyard marriottconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 411 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

It was a sad event that brought us here so with little time to plan our trip we picked this hotel based on a very reasonable price. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and professional front desk person (Elizabeth) who took the time to tell us about the amenities. There were pastries available and lemon water to drink which made my daughter's day. The room was very clean and decently sized in my oppinion (had the double queen room, plenty of room for porta crib and all our stuff and still didn't feel cramped). The bathroom was also very clean. The drain took just a minute to figure out how to work (was not broke though i could see where someone with little patience would think it were). Of all the things that impressed us though, I have to say each and every member of the staff that we came across was courteous, friendly, and helpful. From the front desk to Abigail who helped us at breakfast, each made us feel right at home and contributed to our stay here. We moved away from Delaware but this will be our new "home base" when we return to visit family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nattylox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for the great review. I showed your comments about your stay with both Liz and Abby and we are delighted that you had an excellent experience with us during a time that you and your family was mourning. Our hearts goes out to your family and hope everything is well. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Where to begin? We booked this trip online for a double queen room, but when we arrived we were told they only had a single queen room left. We are a couple traveling with a 5 year old and 1 year old. Since we didn't want our 5 year old on a pull out sofa, the front desk clerk said she would bring a cot. Since she was the only person working, it took an hour to receive the cot, the mattress was ripped, there was no mattress pad and the clerk left us to set up the bed ourselves. Though we had reserved it in advance, there was no crib in the room when we arrived either. The same clerk went to get the pack and play - as a result, our kids were over an hour later for bed than we anticipated. The queen bed was way too soft, very uncomfortable and clearly old. The bathroom was clean, however, not great - the drain in the tub looked broken, the whole piece of the inside of the drain was sitting in the tub and in general, made me not want to bathe our kids. The room in general looked more worn than other rooms in this hotel when we've stayed in the past. All in all we were quite disappointed; the staff refused to give us a discount even though we didn't get the room we reserved and were full of excuses about why they didn't have enough rooms, none of which mattered to us or did we want to even hear about - the management should have done whatever they need to do to ensure their availability is correctly reflected on the internet. When they discovered they were overbooked, they should have had more than one person working! Our experience was unacceptable and we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollymocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for your review and informing us about some of the major issues that occur during your stay. We sincerely appreciate every review negative or positive because this gives us the opportunity to reflect on our performance and strive to do better. Here at the Inn at Wilmington we do our utmost to give every guest a marvelous experience, and it is my greatest regret that you did not experience this during your stay with us. Please contact me at your earliest convenient to discuss the matter further. I look forward to hearing for you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

No more or less than what we expected. Everything is pretty basic. Room was clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.. Keurig coffeemaker in the room is a nice touch, as the coffee they make for breakfast is way too weak. Fortunately, the hotel next door has a Starbucks, though it has funky hours.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for your review, I genuinely appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I did address the issue about the breakfast coffee with the staff. If you stay with us next time please all of our Seattle Best Starbucks coffee we carry in 6 different flavors. We look forward to seeing you during you next visit to DE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We Stayed for 3 nights while attending a wedding reception and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, no complaints. Bed linens were fluffy and clean and beds comfortable. Rooms adequate although not huge. Breakfast items were plentiful and the eating area good size. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and the only con I could say is the one elevator if the hotel is crowded, which during our stay it wasn't so not a problem. Gym was nice as was lobby. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2seniorcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for your review, I truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay and I am delighted that you had a wonderful experience. Here at the Inn at Wilmington we do our utmost to give every guest a stunning experience, and it is our pleasure that your stay was pleasant. We hope to see you during your next visit to Wilmington De and continued to exceed your expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel was very conveniently located close to everything. Longwood Gardens were less than 20 minutes drive from the hotel. The stuff at the hotel was very nice and helpful. The rooms are good size. The breakfast was exactly as we expected – coffee, tea, cereal, milk, waffles, muffins…

The main problem with the rooms, however, is that bathroom door does not lock. We had to change the room after the first night stay since housekeeping never came to our room to change towels and clean the room, so we had to stay in two different rooms during our 2 nights stay. Both rooms did not have a working lock on the bathroom door.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
2  Thank Lyuda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Hello Lyuda_12

Thanks for the wonderful feedback regarding the staff. It is our greatest regret that you had to be moved twice due the housekeeping and room mantaince. I have adressed this issue with housekeeping and manitance to ensure this do not occur again. Our goal at the Inn at Wilmington is to provide our guest with the best experience overall. We hope to get another opportunity to exceed you expection.

Thanks Patricia Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews