We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Tree Willmington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
“Double Tree Willmington”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Location was poor but I knew that going there. I was very dissapointed with the coffee pot in the room. I was attmepting to use this to heat up some water for Hot Chocolate. I ran just plan water through coffee maker five time and is still came out black. It was absolutely disgusting. I am so glad I attmepted to heat water and did not make coffee where the filth would have been masked.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shelby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Shelby,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologize for the challenge you encountered with your guest room. The hotel does have deep cleaning rotations set up above and beyond its daily cleanings and I have addressed with our housekeeping teams so something like this is not missed again.

The location of the hotel really depends on why you are traveling to the area. The hotel sits in the middle of the legal district so if part of the legal business or one of the several Fortune 500 companies within several blocks of the us.

We do hope to see you again so we can provide you a much improved stay.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    234
    144
    76
    32
See reviews for
166
131
71
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I would like to compliment the desk clerk Dominique for oustanding service. Dominique was able to handle our booking issue with professionalism and friendliness. I'm a HiltonHonors member and I stay at your brand hotels frequently and by far that was the smoothest check in process despite our issue.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Rowena,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can not take the credit unfortunately, and have forwarded your comments to the General Manager at the DoubleTree in Wilmington to make sure Dominique is properly recognized.

We do hope we get a chance to see you in the future.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Legal District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glurbnitz
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My daughter and I visited Wilmington for a cheerleading competition. The hotel was very pleasant. The room was large and the furnishings were nice. The food was good, not wonderful. At breakfast there was fresh fruit, which is important to me. There is free van service to anywhere in the immediate area. The only problem was that the heater in the room was noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank glurbnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to writie a review on TripAdvisor. Our guest feedback is very important as we do use it on a daily basis with our teams. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your weekend at the competition as well. Thank you for pointing the challenge with the heating unit, I have already dispatched on engineering team to rectify that problem.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The staff goes above and beyond for all of the guests. Food is fresh and delicious at breakfast and for large functions. If you need to plan an event Polly is your go to girl! I don't even know when she's NOT there! Do you ever sleep Polly and staff??!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank marabts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Mara,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and it seemed that night the event was a great success. I will relay your comments to Polly and her staff. She is one of the most dedicated team members I have ever come across and I am very lucky to have her on our team.

Hopefully the event was a success for the Leukemia Foundation and we do hope to continue to be a part of the event for many years to come.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel was amazing! It was my first time staying at a Double Tree hotel. I was surprise when I received a chocolate cookie upon check in. It was delicious. The room was nice and clean. I will definitely stay at a Double Tree again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Kimberly,

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and I agree the cookies are the best!

We do hope to see you again when travel brings you to Wilmington.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We booked a block of nearly 50 rooms at the Doubletree in Wilmington for our wedding. The staff was amazingly easy to work with in setting up the block, remarkably flexible, and even provided two shuttles free of charge to get more than 80 guests back and forth to the wedding venue across town. The rooms were great, the beds comfy, and the bath products were beautiful! Every staff member we came into contact with: desk, shuttle, restaurant, bar were the friendliest I've run across, and I've stayed at some of the major chains' flagships across the country. I could NOT recommend this hotel more highly for comfort, accessibility and price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Michael,

Thank you so much for writing a review on TripAdvisor. Congratulations on your recent nuptials. We are glad to hear that you and your guests had a great weekend. It sounded from the feedback we received that everyone had a great time at the hotel as well as at the wedding.

Congrats again to you and Kerry. We do hope you have many years of happiness and hope to see you both again.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I went to this hotel after my plane was cancelled. The airline provided me with a number to a hotel discount site. I only had 3 to choose from and this one seemed the most decent. The hotel staff was decent enough, but the room they gave me was a handicap room which I did not like and the sink in the bathroom would not drain which made it inconvenient when I washed my hands or tried to brush my teeth and it made an ugly ring in the sink. When I brought this up with management on my departure day, they could tell me the problem I had with my bathroom before I gave them any details which means they knew about it. This made the trip even worst.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Carla,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our guests feedback is very important to us. I do apologize for the challneges you encountered with your sink. Our engineering team has since rectified that particular issue so it does not happen in the future. We do try to place our guests in the desired room type they prefer, unfortunately I know that particular evening we were very close to being completely sold so I know we had very little options left for room types.

We do hope to see you again in the future so we can provide you with a much better stay.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#3 of 13 in Wilmington
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
1.2 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#6 of 13 in Wilmington
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Address: 700 N King St, Wilmington, DE 19801-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton dowtown is easily assessable to all major corporations in downtown Wilmington Delaware and provides complimentary shuttle transportation to and from business offices as well as dining and area attractions. Only footsteps from Amtrak train station and 20 minutes south of PHL Airport. In addition, the hotel is just minutes to the Riverfront where dining and attractions abound. The Chase Center is less than two miles from the hotel. Located next to the Federal and State courthouses, the hotel also features two fully operable Litigation Centers in addition to one of Delaware's largest Grand Ballrooms. Ample parking is available (fee) and is connected to the property. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Guestrooms feature an oversized work desk and ergonomic chair, refrigerator, complimentary WiFi and bottled water and an in room hot beverage center. Other hotel facilities include complimentary Business Center, Fitness Center and a indoor heated saline pool. Metro Cafe and Lounge located within the hotel offers a full dining menu for all meals and a great gathering place for beverages and snacks in the evening. Dedicated Hilton Honors guest room levels and an exclusive Concierge Lounge available for all day beverages and snacks can also be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing