We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Does what it needs to”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I'm rating my stay as 5* in the context of it being a 3* hotel. You must know what you are expecting when booking.
I found the reception staff to be very courteous, helpful and polite. The barman, Doug, is just what you want from a barman; friendly, helpful, knows his beers and able to provide some info on the local area!
The food was good - loved the chicken wings and Cheese Steak. Simple straightforward food and reasonably priced. Breakfast selection good with fresh pastry, omelettes, selection of bacon/sausage/eggs. Good coffee and fruit juices for $7. Great value.
Rooms are large and clean. Shower good. Bedding comfortable and clean. Bed very comfortable. Good facilities in room with large screen TV and coffee making facility. Good aircon. Ice machines clean and stocked on the floor. In room safe easy to operate and secure.
Pool area very clean and free for guests.
Great shuttle service to and from place of business. Simply book at Reception.
The area outside is a little intimidating but not much the hotel can do about that!
Overall really happy with the stay with the exception I didn't feel comfortable enough to explore the local area in the evenings.

Room Tip: No street noise when higher up. Rooms quiet to rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
RobJ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. Our guest feedback is very important to us and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I will definitely pass your comments along to our team. I completely understand the impression of the surrounding area, however in the vicinity the hotel is located, particular Market Street where the majority of restaurants and shops are, is very safe for our guests to walk to and from. The shuttle, as you mentioned is a great amenity for our guests that is available not only to and from work, but also available in the evenings with in a 5 mile radius of the hotel.

We do hope to see you again when your travels being you back to Wilmington.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    231
    141
    74
    32
See reviews for
163
130
71
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The guest room and overall hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was VERY accommodating and friendly. I thought that the quality of food could be much better though. I would likely not choose to eat there again if I stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Tara,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. Our guest feedback is very important to us and was very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear about your experience with the culinary outlets. I will discuss the food quality with our Executive Chef & his team, as typically we hear great feedback.

We do hope to see you again when travel brings you to Wilmington.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

For the price paid, this was a very underwhelming hotel. A cookie at check-in does not a hotel make, get your priorities straight. The best part of this expereince was the staff at teh restaurant. The evening manager, his name escapes me, was very courteous and our server, (Kisha) was truly remarkable and very attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Lou,

Guest feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that John & Keisha were able to provide great service and will share your comments with them. The DoubleTree Cookie is meant to provide a warm welcome to our guests upon arrival and is standard in all DoubleTree Hotels. It is meant to go in conjuction with great service from our teams and I do apologize as it seems we did not meet those expections. Our ongoing goal is to continue to improve our service and provide our guests with a quality stay.

We do hope to see you again in the future so we can provide you with a much improved stay.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff was very friendly and check in was simple! We were there for a weekend for a wedding. The beds are very comfortable. Shower pressure was strong unlike many hotels. The room is dated but very clean. The indoor pool is very nice and clean. The only disappointment was paying for parking. I still don't know why hotels charge to park when we are paying to stay. Anyways it is $15 a day if you go through the hotel and it is unlimited access. The receptionist at the front desk will stamp your ticket you receive when entering the parking garage. Once you have that and choose to leave their is no charge. If you do not use the hotel you are paying $ 2 a hour. If you are going to be leaving the hotel on many occasions use the hotel parking if not you can use the parking garage company. My room was 728 which was right by the elevator. The noise was not too bad but when we walked out of our room there was a tray of food sitting right next to our door. Not appealing at all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittney718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Brittney,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Our guests feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Parking charges are very typical in most urban locations. We do not own the garage attached to the hotel, so unfortunately options are very limited with those charges.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Four women on a getaway found this to be just the right spot to rest and relax. We were treated to the executive level for evening wine and morning breakfast, but the best was the jitney service, no more driving for the night. We were taken and picked up from our restaurant which was across town. Our rooms were large and clean, had all the amenities we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank LTG1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am very happy to hear you had a great time on your get away. I will definitely share your feedback with our teams.

Hopefully we will see you all again soon.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staff at this Double Tree in Wilmington made sure my family's stay was an excellent time. No problem was to big or to small for the staff to stop and help. We encountered several problems staff made sure they helped out on or pointed us in the right direction. If this is indicative of Hilton hotels I will only stay in there chain from this day forward.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Anel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our guest feedback does mean a great deal to us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will continue to stay at Hilton Hotels in the future. We do hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My room was next to the service elevator and I was kept awake by an insidious noise--electrical low level continuing buzz--for a good deal of the night. The offer to move me at 2 am to a room not nearby was not very appealing. I liked the hotel but would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Bernard C,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Our guest feedback is very important to us. I sincerely apologize for the challenge you encountered with your guest room location. I know our Front Office Manager has been trying to contact you and will continue to do so, so that we can try to "make it right".

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. We do hope to see you again in the future so we can provide you with a much improved stay.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#3 of 13 in Wilmington
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
1.1 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#6 of 13 in Wilmington
227 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#7 of 13 in Wilmington
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Address: 700 N King St, Wilmington, DE 19801-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton dowtown is easily assessable to all major corporations in downtown Wilmington Delaware and provides complimentary shuttle transportation to and from business offices as well as dining and area attractions. Only footsteps from Amtrak train station and 20 minutes south of PHL Airport. In addition, the hotel is just minutes to the Riverfront where dining and attractions abound. The Chase Center is less than two miles from the hotel. Located next to the Federal and State courthouses, the hotel also features two fully operable Litigation Centers in addition to one of Delaware's largest Grand Ballrooms. Ample parking is available (fee) and is connected to the property. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Guestrooms feature an oversized work desk and ergonomic chair, refrigerator, complimentary WiFi and bottled water and an in room hot beverage center. Other hotel facilities include complimentary Business Center, Fitness Center and a indoor heated saline pool. Metro Cafe and Lounge located within the hotel offers a full dining menu for all meals and a great gathering place for beverages and snacks in the evening. Dedicated Hilton Honors guest room levels and an exclusive Concierge Lounge available for all day beverages and snacks can also be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing