We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Farmingdale, United States
1 review
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

For the price paid, this was a very underwhelming hotel. A cookie at check-in does not a hotel make, get your priorities straight. The best part of this expereince was the staff at teh restaurant. The evening manager, his name escapes me, was very courteous and our server, (Kisha) was truly remarkable and very attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Lou,

Guest feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that John & Keisha were able to provide great service and will share your comments with them. The DoubleTree Cookie is meant to provide a warm welcome to our guests upon arrival and is standard in all DoubleTree Hotels. It is meant to go in conjuction with great service from our teams and I do apologize as it seems we did not meet those expections. Our ongoing goal is to continue to improve our service and provide our guests with a quality stay.

We do hope to see you again in the future so we can provide you with a much improved stay.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    225
    130
    69
    30
See reviews for
154
124
69
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff was very friendly and check in was simple! We were there for a weekend for a wedding. The beds are very comfortable. Shower pressure was strong unlike many hotels. The room is dated but very clean. The indoor pool is very nice and clean. The only disappointment was paying for parking. I still don't know why hotels charge to park when we are paying to stay. Anyways it is $15 a day if you go through the hotel and it is unlimited access. The receptionist at the front desk will stamp your ticket you receive when entering the parking garage. Once you have that and choose to leave their is no charge. If you do not use the hotel you are paying $ 2 a hour. If you are going to be leaving the hotel on many occasions use the hotel parking if not you can use the parking garage company. My room was 728 which was right by the elevator. The noise was not too bad but when we walked out of our room there was a tray of food sitting right next to our door. Not appealing at all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brittney718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Brittney,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Our guests feedback is very important to us and we are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Parking charges are very typical in most urban locations. We do not own the garage attached to the hotel, so unfortunately options are very limited with those charges.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Four women on a getaway found this to be just the right spot to rest and relax. We were treated to the executive level for evening wine and morning breakfast, but the best was the jitney service, no more driving for the night. We were taken and picked up from our restaurant which was across town. Our rooms were large and clean, had all the amenities we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank LTG1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am very happy to hear you had a great time on your get away. I will definitely share your feedback with our teams.

Hopefully we will see you all again soon.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staff at this Double Tree in Wilmington made sure my family's stay was an excellent time. No problem was to big or to small for the staff to stop and help. We encountered several problems staff made sure they helped out on or pointed us in the right direction. If this is indicative of Hilton hotels I will only stay in there chain from this day forward.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Anel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our guest feedback does mean a great deal to us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will continue to stay at Hilton Hotels in the future. We do hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My room was next to the service elevator and I was kept awake by an insidious noise--electrical low level continuing buzz--for a good deal of the night. The offer to move me at 2 am to a room not nearby was not very appealing. I liked the hotel but would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Bernard C,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Our guest feedback is very important to us. I sincerely apologize for the challenge you encountered with your guest room location. I know our Front Office Manager has been trying to contact you and will continue to do so, so that we can try to "make it right".

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. We do hope to see you again in the future so we can provide you with a much improved stay.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

i went to stay at the double tree for one night for my son birthday party and they were having a fight party with people with liquor and beer and when i took my son to the pool they said people were complaining about the noise from the pool and i had the worst service ever and i would not recommend staying at the double tree ever again and make sure you tell you family and friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Erica W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

In an effort to make sure all of our guests are comfortable during their stay, as well as staying within compliance of city occupancy codes, the hotel does not allow parties of any kind in our guest rooms, inparticularly when the party is as big as twenty plus guests in two guest rooms. In addition our pool area is for registered guests only. We do however have numerous banquet rooms for all occasions where we happily host parties every day.

Again my apologies if you felt our team seemed too strict during your sons birthday party, but I do hope you understand we must keep all of our guests best interest in mind.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The rooms were really nice and very clean. I had a hard time with room service though. I ordered breakfast and there was no coffee in the coffee thermos. So I had to call down and get them to bring up coffee. Then there was no sugar on my tray. I had to get them to bring that up too. But overall, I would stay again. Great front desk staff as well as great shuttle drivers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lindsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Lindsy D,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey on TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologize for the challenge you encountered with room service that morning. We will definitely address with our food & beverage team in order to continue to improve our services.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. We do hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#4 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
5.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Address: 700 N King St, Wilmington, DE 19801-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton dowtown is easily assessable to all major corporations in downtown Wilmington Delaware and provides complimentary shuttle transportation to and from business offices as well as dining and area attractions. Only footsteps from Amtrak train station and 20 minutes south of PHL Airport. In addition, the hotel is just minutes to the Riverfront where dining and attractions abound. The Chase Center is less than two miles from the hotel. Located next to the Federal and State courthouses, the hotel also features two fully operable Litigation Centers in addition to one of Delaware's largest Grand Ballrooms. Ample parking is available (fee) and is connected to the property. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Guestrooms feature an oversized work desk and ergonomic chair, refrigerator, complimentary WiFi and bottled water and an in room hot beverage center. Other hotel facilities include complimentary Business Center, Fitness Center and a indoor heated saline pool. Metro Cafe and Lounge located within the hotel offers a full dining menu for all meals and a great gathering place for beverages and snacks in the evening. Dedicated Hilton Honors guest room levels and an exclusive Concierge Lounge available for all day beverages and snacks can also be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing