We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked only one night, part of a roadtrip. Location is nice, not far from I-95 but we were a bit concerned about parking. Hotel charges 10$ for overnight parking or 15$ if you want in and out priviledges. We asked about parking on the street at the front desk during check-in which was super fast and easy, and the gentleman was nice enough to let us know parking on the street was free (not metered) and unrestricted during the week-end. We scored a parking spot right in front of the lobby. The reason for free parking during the week-end is that it seems the city becomes a ghost town in the week-end, everything but a few coffee shops were closed. The king bed provided us with a comfortable sleep, everything was in good working condition in the bathroom. Bottom line, we had a good night sleep which is exactly what we were looking for. They didn't give us our cookies at check-in nor in the room, so when we checked out we mentioned it and the lady gave us our cookies (o:

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Sam B,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Our guests feedback is very important to us. That feedback helps us to continue and improve our services and provide an even better guest experience.

Please do not heistate to contact me at any time. We do hope to see you again the next time you are in the Wimlington area.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
alan.filer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 811 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

My arrival at the hotel the check in service was very quick and staff was very friendly. I also received a warm cookie that made me feel even more welcome. The rooms were very clean warm and inviting. I love the decor and the luxury towels and bath products. I was very confortable and relax my whole stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Michelle,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay. Our guests feedback is of utmost importance to us. We are very happy to here you enjoyed your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General manager
alan.filer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff was efficient and helpful without intruding. Staff knew we were guests in the hotel, giving us a warm greeting when they saw us in the lobby. The room was clean and pleasant. When wanted beverage glasses and plastic bag for the ice bucket it was promptly delivered even though I am sure the usual maintenance personnel had gone for the day. When requested van service to the train station the driver was on time and pleasant. .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor, the hotel appreciates all of our guests feedback. The teams will be glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I can honestly say they do care about our guests and pride themselves on giving everyone great customer service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time. We do hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
alan.filer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My colleague and I were only in town for two days and one night and chose this hotel because our sales rep was staying there as well. This place was wonderful!

Colleen at the front desk was very welcoming. Our rooms weren't ready yet (we arrived at 11am and did not expect them to be ready) but she offered to keep our bags and to call us a cab so we could get on to our meeting. Upon our arrival back that evening, we checked in, got our cookies (yum) and went to our respective rooms.

Room was very clean with lots of lamps and plenty of places to plug in chargers for cell phone, Ipads, etc. Complimentary soap smelled great. Hairdryer blows super strong. The blackout curtains are a bit hard to find. There is a set of curtains, a set of sheers and then the blackout curtains are behind the sheers. Room temperature was fine. Water pressure was great.

Fitness room is small, but adequate. Pool area is very clean with plenty of towels. Lots of places to walk to for dining and entertainment.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor over the pool tend to smell like chlorine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candy995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, we greatly appreciate all of our guests feedback. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and will share your comments with our teams. They certainly enjoy to hear they are doing a great job.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. We do hope to see you again the next time you are in Wilmington.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
alan.filer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

After a bad experience at another location, over 15 years and vowing to never stay at any DoubleTree hotel again, I must stay that I was pleasantly surprised. Check-in was smooth, enjoyed our warm cookies, our room was as expected, drinks at the with a side of wings was fun. The only downside, was paying for parking. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad that we could restrore your faith in the DoubleTree brand after many years. Our staff takes pride in providing our guests with the great service they deserve.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
alan.filer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel gets the job done, but was somewhat disappointing in Doubletree standards. It is an OK hotel, but the location isn't exactly downtown Wilmington, it's more on the edge of downtown. The staff was nice which was good, but the internet was sketchy at best. Kept losing connection and it was quite slow when it was connected. Again, it was a comfortable stay (outside of the fire alarm going off one night while I was there), but I guess I just expect more from Doubletree. Oh and the fitness room is a joke, only 2 treadmills and one elliptical. However, the conceirge Peter was very nice!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the front of the hotel, there is a bus stop right across the street which can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay, it is greatly appreciate. We are glad to hear that the staff you encountered was very friendly. I do apologize for the challneges you encountered with the connectivity of the internet. We are currently in the process of upgrading the entire network inside the hotel and hope to have that completed with in the next 60-90 days. The fitness center is also receiving equipment upgrades this year as well.

We do hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area and experience an improved quality stay. Please do not hesiate to contact me at any time.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
alan.filer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Got lucky and parked in one of the two free parking spaces in front of the hotel. So obviously I didn't want to move my car and give up this great space, and pay $15 for parking, but didn't have to. Walking distance to many venues and restaurants. Govatos Candy store right around the corner. AND a complimentary shuttle to take you all around the area.

Room and bedding seemed very clean, although the air in the hallway was so stuffy and stale, I didn't want to breathe. Had to put my shirt over my nose. I think it's just an airflow problem, but it's a bit unpleasant. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I paid around $148 with tax, very reasonable, I think.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameo_Alpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the to share your experience at your hotel. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff does enjoy hearing they are doing a great job. We also agree that being across the street from Govato's is definitely a plus!

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. We do hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
alan.filer@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
131 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
5.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#7 of 13 in Wilmington
398 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#6 of 13 in Wilmington
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District

Address: 700 N King St, Wilmington, DE 19801-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $108 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton dowtown is easily assessable to all major corporations in downtown Wilmington Delaware and provides complimentary shuttle transportation to and from business offices as well as dining and area attractions. Only footsteps from Amtrak train station and 20 minutes south of PHL Airport. In addition, the hotel is just minutes to the Riverfront where dining and attractions abound. The Chase Center is less than two miles from the hotel. Located next to the Federal and State courthouses, the hotel also features two fully operable Litigation Centers in addition to one of Delaware's largest Grand Ballrooms. Ample parking is available (fee) and is connected to the property. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Guestrooms feature an oversized work desk and ergonomic chair, refrigerator, complimentary WiFi and bottled water and an in room hot beverage center. Other hotel facilities include complimentary Business Center, Fitness Center and a indoor heated saline pool. Metro Cafe and Lounge located within the hotel offers a full dining menu for all meals and a great gathering place for beverages and snacks in the evening. Dedicated Hilton Honors guest room levels and an exclusive Concierge Lounge available for all day beverages and snacks can also be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing