We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice place but don't take a pool room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place but don't take a pool room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've stayed at this Doubletree before but in a room on a higher floor. This room was by the pool and there wass a mechanical noise all the time. Sort of like a white noise. I put up with it but other may not like it. Ask for a room on a higher floor. I also like this hotel because of the bar. nice place to sit and have dinner. All in all very comfortable and plesant stay. Hotel staff is great. I got in Sunday after noon and asked if there were any liquor stors in the area. They offered to drive me to one.

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor and away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ysottot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    204
    117
    61
    24
See reviews for
123
110
62
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is not in the best area. While they are making an effort to update the hotel, the guest elevators were not operational at times throughout the trip. They did make a service (1) elevator available.

Before making reservation, called the hotel to ensure shuttle service to St. Frances Hospital. Hotel staff confirmed. Upon arrival the front desk agent suggested I take the public transit bus as their shuttle was booked solid by a corporate client. After a long conversation, we were able to work out shuttle service. Shuttle service is un-reliable.

It is obvious they are trying to improve the fixtures, carpet, paint, etc. Hopefully the service will get its own makeover.

Room Tip: Room 821 was very quiet. Spacious. Updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldhhonors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights to attend my brother's wedding. Maybe the hotel has undergone some upgrades because I found the lobby to be pleasantly decorated for the holidays and up-to-date and clean. The best part of our experience was the helpful front desk staff and particularly James. He helped us with 3 separate requests and always had a smile. The maid service left extra towels at our request and prepared our room during the hour we were out before getting ready for the wedding. I really think others need to be careful when reading negative reviews. People don't realize that even a 3-star review is basically a negative review. Was the Doubletree in Wilmington similar to a Ritz Carlton or some classic fancy Parisian hotel? Of course not, but it was everything I expected for the location and price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThankxgivingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

It's just ok! It didn't give me that Hilton flair I'm used to. We requested ahead of time that we wanted a top floor. We were put in the 4th floor of 9. When we went to the room the fridge was completely out of the cuoboard. When we went to move it in ... There was water all over the floor. Needless to say we had to change rooms. We ended up on the 7th floor and the desk clerk was nice enough to warn us they only had rooms by the elevator. The pool area is under constitution but you can still swim. There was oatmeal cookies... Where's the chocolate chip!?!

Was it a horrible stay ... No ... I just expect more from a Hilton property.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkton, MD
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Holy cow! What a mixed up review this is going to be. Loved the location, right across the street from the Grand concert hall. Loved the bedding and how clean our room and bath was. Our dinner was delicious. And, the front desk staff was cordial, although inept.. But, I didn't love the fact that someone else had a keycard and used it to get into our room not 10 minutes after we checked in!!!! Very scary!!!! The desk clerk called us up immediately afterwards trying to make it up to us with a free breakfast voucher, which we certainly appreciated the effort, (but we had already PAID for breakfast during the reservation process !!!!! and the charge was not removed). We were also at the front desk when another party came up to say that when they got to their room, someone else was already in it! .Didn't love the fact that after the concert, our own keycard wouldn't open our room door, and we had to trek back down to the desk to have him key it back in! Didn't love that we waited over an hour to get dinner, when there were only three other parties in the dining room. Didn't love the fact that although we were told parking would be free, it cost us $10 even after validation. One more thing, and this just emphasizes not to make reservations over the Internet. I made the reservation on the website never noticing the AAA discount offer, it wasn't at all obvious. So, when I realized it, I used the customer service link in the confirmation email, and asked if they could please modify the reservation to give me the AAA discount. Their answer was that they couldn't, that I should cancel the one I had made and make another one. Before I did, though, I went back on the hotel site, put in my info claiming the discount, only to find out that now, just 20 minutes after my first reservation was made, that although the room charge was $20 lower, the special breakfast deal was more expensive. Yikes!!!!! I just left my original reservation alone, figuring that I would take it up with the front desk clerk. But when we got there, and they were so inept, I never brought it up. All in all, I would probably stay there again, but, would certainly be on the lookout for all of these mistakes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrammyJoyce_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were at a dinner there and didn't realize that we had lost a shoe (don't ask) until we got home. We called the Hotel several times and they could not have been more helpful! And they found the shoe, too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I recently spent a night at this hotel and it was a miserable experience from check-in to check-out. After refusing to accept the credit card we used to book the room, we were turned away. I was there for a high school reunion so, thankfully, a friend offered to pay for the room. I really wish she hadn't because the room was a nightmare. There were tiny black specks on both beds that looked like dead bugs, there was no free wifi and the temperature of the room was about 60 degrees F with no way of adjusting it. After one sleepless night, we left. Our parking wasn't validated even though there are signs everywhere stating they will validate parking for "all overnight guests". Fine, I was willing to pay the ten bucks just so I didn't have to spend another minute in that place. Imagine my surprise when the parking garage attendant told me he didn't accept cash. We weren't allowed to leave the parking deck until we signed a statement agreeing to pay them $10 when they bill us next week.

I will never stay at another Doubletree/Hilton hotel ever again.

Room Tip: Save yourself the headache and book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
5.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#3 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Address: 700 N King St, Wilmington, DE 19801-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton dowtown is easily assessable to all major corporations in downtown Wilmington Delaware and provides complimentary shuttle transportation to and from business offices as well as dining and area attractions. Only footsteps from Amtrak train station and 20 minutes south of PHL Airport. In addition, the hotel is just minutes to the Riverfront where dining and attractions abound. The Chase Center is less than two miles from the hotel. Located next to the Federal and State courthouses, the hotel also features two fully operable Litigation Centers in addition to one of Delaware's largest Grand Ballrooms. Ample parking is available (fee) and is connected to the property. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Guestrooms feature an oversized work desk and ergonomic chair, refrigerator, complimentary WiFi and bottled water and an in room hot beverage center. Other hotel facilities include complimentary Business Center, Fitness Center and a indoor heated saline pool. Metro Cafe and Lounge located within the hotel offers a full dining menu for all meals and a great gathering place for beverages and snacks in the evening. Dedicated Hilton Honors guest room levels and an exclusive Concierge Lounge available for all day beverages and snacks can also be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing