We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK but just barely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Service was very good but everything dropped from there. The hotel has a musty odor that is masked by a chemical smell. The rooms are a little dated but generally OK. The hot water during my morning shower was at best luke warm until the end when it finally got hot. This hotel is not in the best part of downtown Wilmington which makes it a little iffy at night. You can do better for the money in downtown Wilmington

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhh2ogeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    204
    117
    61
    24
See reviews for
123
110
62
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a one night stay type hotel. Staff very sweet and helpful. Hotel needs refurbished the rooms need new carpet "very dirty" walk in your socks :) and pillows are soft like features even if you request firm. If this is the only hotel available I will stay again, but prefer looking for something more in the Hilton standards.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on 1st floor due to swimming pool, fitness center, kitchen for the conference roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaretaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have stayed in this property twice; the last time was a year ago. It misses Doubletree standards in nearly every way. Front desk staff is poorly trained. Here's how my most recent check-in went:
Although no one else was at the front desk, it took nearly ten minutes to get keys to my room on the executive level. The room was directly across from the concierge lounge and next to the elevators; the noise was unavoidable. I called down and asked for another room, was told yes, then put on hold...and hold...and hold. I went back down to front desk and was greeted by a second person, who then insisted that the person who checked me in fix the problem, although that person wasn't at the desk. When she finally arrived, I received keys to another room on a different floor, but then told I couldn't have access to the concierge lounge on the executive level, where my reservation had been confirmed. After much wrangling, they provided access. Back up to room to unpack. (I've been at the hotel 30 minutes by this point.) A few minutes after I began unpacking, there was a fire alarm followed by an announcement to evacuate the building, which we did. Waiting in the lobby, we were told it was a false alarm and to return to our rooms. However, the front desk personnel kept asking each other "who has the alarm code?" followed by "not me" and waves of laughter.

That evening and the following day, my keys stopped working (this happened twice).

The room itself was fine. Clean, but needed an upgrade. Old television; small screen. In spite of having five or six lights, it was very dark. In-room coffee maker and mini-frig.

There is a lounge / restaurant. It took 30 minutes to get a drink and nearly an hour to get dinner.

And that concierge lounge on the executive level? Poorly stocked beverages and food; on the second day, nothing had been refilled. And at 7 am, there was still no fresh coffee available.

Minimal fitness room, although it did have good treadmill and eliptical machines (Precor).

No valet parking was available during my visit. Self parking is available in a lot behind the property. Be sure and ask for instructions and how to get back into the hotel; none of this information was offered at check-in.

There are a few other restaurants in the area, but it's not a great walking area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a high number to get away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed here during my last trip to the US. Enjoyed my stay here..... everything was good except for the presence of large dryer fans on almost all floors, but I gathered that was due to some major leakage in the recent past.

Loved the staff and the service....would love to come back....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnupamA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I have stayed at the DT in downtown Wilmington for almost a year on business Monday to Thursday. The hotel is older and updates are apparently on the way, but what makes this hotel are the friendly staff who always do their best to help you. The location is great if you work downtown, and there is a full menu at the bar / restaurant if you cannot / do not want to go out. The pool is (just) big enough to swim in and there is a Happy Hour at the bar from 430-630pm. Coco in the Exec Lounge makes everybody feel welcome and is a great hostess.

Room Tip: Odd room numbers are best (away from King St).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had a large business group and below are just a couple of incidents that happened during our stay.

1. One of my co-workers went thru 4 rooms before she found one that didn't have soaking wet carpet.
2. Other co-workers had wet carpet around the air conditioner, but just put up with it.
3. One room smelled so bad that it was literally repulsive. They attempted to "deodorize" the room but it did not help.
4. We ordered food in the bar and waited for about 45 minutes just to be told that the item we ordered (Tuna) was no available. We changed our order and then waited 1.5 hours to get our food!
5. My room was not clean. Hair on bathroom floor. Toothpaste spit on frame of mirror in bathroom.

Highlights:
Breakfast buffet is fantastic
Shuttle van drivers are exceptionally polite and accommodating
Beds are really comfy and pillows are awesome!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgingerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

First time stay at this property. Hilton is really making the effort to improve the DoubleTree brand. Greeted very well at the front desk. Executive level room was ready. Room was large, laid out well, and very tastefully decorated. The club lounge was dated and appeared to be just a suite or double room; however, the attentive staff and the food/drink made up for that. Room was quiet at night. Bed was excellent.

This hotel is in very close proximity to both the US District Court and the US Bankruptcy Court--easy walking distance to both. They have a nice business center on the first floor with computers, printers, and office supplies. Plenty of areas in the hotel to gather. Self-parking is available in an adjacent covered lot for $10.00. Overall, this place is a winner for the business person and for lawyers going to the federal courts.

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive level if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
5.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#3 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Address: 700 N King St, Wilmington, DE 19801-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton dowtown is easily assessable to all major corporations in downtown Wilmington Delaware and provides complimentary shuttle transportation to and from business offices as well as dining and area attractions. Only footsteps from Amtrak train station and 20 minutes south of PHL Airport. In addition, the hotel is just minutes to the Riverfront where dining and attractions abound. The Chase Center is less than two miles from the hotel. Located next to the Federal and State courthouses, the hotel also features two fully operable Litigation Centers in addition to one of Delaware's largest Grand Ballrooms. Ample parking is available (fee) and is connected to the property. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Guestrooms feature an oversized work desk and ergonomic chair, refrigerator, complimentary WiFi and bottled water and an in room hot beverage center. Other hotel facilities include complimentary Business Center, Fitness Center and a indoor heated saline pool. Metro Cafe and Lounge located within the hotel offers a full dining menu for all meals and a great gathering place for beverages and snacks in the evening. Dedicated Hilton Honors guest room levels and an exclusive Concierge Lounge available for all day beverages and snacks can also be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing