We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun time at St. Anthony's Italian Festival”

Saint Anthony of Padua Church
Delaware
Level Contributor
1,102 reviews
445 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,756 helpful votes
“Fun time at St. Anthony's Italian Festival”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited St. Anthony's again this summer for the Italian Festival. We always stop to visit the church 1st. It is a beautiful old church with a very pretty fountain out front. I find the doors and architecture to be amazing. As always, we had a nice time at the festival. This year the festival was smaller in size. We noticed that they cut out a whole section where there used to be a band, food vendors, seafood shack and casino style games. We did miss the seafood shack, but we still had a good time. La Casa Pasta & The Chesapeake Inn were both back this year with their specialities. We stopped and got an authentic Italian dinner from Chef Giuseppe Furio, who was making fresh pasta by hand on location. It was delicious! While we dined, we caught a live performance by Eric Richardson (Tribute to Dean Martin show). To finish the night off we got a lemonade and a funnel cake (from the school booth), which was also very good. On the way out, we stopped at Torrone Candy and got some soft torrone & at Bernie's Original for a lemon water ice.

Overall we enjoyed the festival. Prices can be high, but it is a nice night out where you can enjoy the culture and live entertainment. Rides are attractive, but I haven't been on them. Overall food is good, but some stands are better than others. Admission is fair price at only $5 per adult. Kids under 14 & seniors over 60 are FREE. Church is FREE to visit throughout the year except on evenings during the week of the festival.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyferret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“alright church”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

pretty greedy place though. church inside is old and pretty. staff is not so friendly. their feast is outragious as far as price to get in very expensive

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carmen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
252 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Worth the drive to attend mass”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

You will need to use GPS to find the church as there are several one-way streets in and around the city of Wilmington proper. We decided to attend the Saturday mass vigil at 5:30PM. They also have mass Sunday at 7, 9 and 11AM. There are daily masses as well that are listed on their website. We parked on the street but while walking up to the building, saw a lot across the road for parking. The church is somewhat large. There is a bathroom to the side in the back. The side chapels are varied and beautiful. They showcase various saints and prayer areas. It reminded me more of the churches in Italy in that it is unlike more modern Catholic churches that do not have any side chapels. There is an old world feel to it. Note the striking lit up halo of the Madonna near the front altar. The ceiling is dimensional created of wood and color. Just a beautiful interior and great workmanship by the Italian Americans who built this building with love and pride. We met the priest after mass and he was very welcoming to us and glad we had stopped for mass. The only sad note was the poor sound system so that if you were seated in the back it was difficult to hear mass at times. I would suggest sitting closer to the front if you go. Overall a very nice experience and I would love to attend services here again if ever back in the Wilmington area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank joyceTL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Old-style Roman Catholic church built by the Italian immigrants from the neighborhood it serves. Really lovely ornately decorated interior.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sdr19899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
281 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful church in the heart of Little Italy”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Saint Anthony's is a beautiful church in the heart of Wilmington's Little Italy neighborhood. The neighborhood itself has changed over the years, and not necessarily for the better. The area is not as well-maintained as it was in the past, but many cities suffer the same fate. Their festival, held in June each year, attracts people from far and wide. I personally believe that it has overgrown the area, but it remains as popular today and it was when I was a kid.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Anthony of Padua Church also viewed

 

Been to Saint Anthony of Padua Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing