We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the Grand”
Review of Chelsea Tavern

Chelsea Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Chelsea Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 550 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between West 8th & West 9th
Transit: Chelsea Tavern is located at the heart of North Market Street 2 blocks from the Dart Bus Hub at Rodney Square & 8 blocks from the Wilmington Train Station.
Description: on Facebook - website doesn't seem to be up yet
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Return to the Grand”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

After a hiatus of a few years, we tried the Chelsea before a concert at the Grand. Our group of four was seated quickly in the restaurant ....the bar was full at 6 pm. We split three appetizers - they are still very good - the fried pickle wedges are unusual and always a favorite. Main courses were fish & chips, filet & lobster ravioli, and a Chelsea pizza - well prepared - had minor problem with one of the fish that was undercooked but it was promptly replaced with a new fish with no questions. Drinks are pricey- $6/beer and $10/drink or glass of wine but the appetizers and main courses are at good price points. Overall a good value. Our waitress, Laura, provided great service

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WC-Travelers-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    70
    38
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
310 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection and Food Too”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Have now eaten here a few times while on business visits. Great beer selection, including a few nice Belgian brews on tap. Had the Chimay this past week and it was superbly fresh.

I have also enjoyed their Bacon Ice Cream a few times....it's awesome. Not everyone I have been with loved it....but well if you like bacon, get it.

They have a nice menu with quite a few options, beyond pub food for sure.

We had a big group this past week, and our waitress handled us quite nicely. Service was solid! You can also eat here alone...no issue.
I'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kh57ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Nice Place”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The food was good. The service was good. I would definitely recommend the place. I had a burger and it was good. My husband had their specialty mac and cheese which they made to his liking. I thought it was a great bit expensive but what place isn't these days?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HLMiller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

They have really good food here, it's just a shame that it takes so long every time. I went there for lunch recently and it took an hour and 40 minutes. Needless to say that it's not a great place for a "quick" lunch during the work week.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bethany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre service; Good food”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

12/01/12
We had steak frites and the bacon wrapped meatloaf. The food was DELICIOUS. The service was mediocre. It was NOT busy. We saw the waiter when he brought the food and again when he took the plates. My drink was empty for a large part of the meal and no offer was made to refill. :-( I've been here several times before and expected better service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMarie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chelsea Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Chelsea Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing