We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food but too noisy”

Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront
Ranked #1 of 549 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: After years of success in Sussex County, the Big Fish Restaurant Group has brought the great Big Fish experience to Wilmington. Stop by our new location on the scenic Wilmington Riverfront for the freshest seafood, juicy, hand-cut steaks, savory pastas and delicious salads. Our reasonably priced menu, generous portions, family friendly atmosphere and impeccable service make Big Fish on the Riverfront a casual dining destination and a great addition to the Wilmington restaurant scene. Enjoy lunch and dinner served daily with seasonal dining on our covered outdoor patio. Daily Happy Hour at our spacious bar features food and drink specials and 7 large Hi-Def TV's! Book you next event in our private dining room which can accommodate up to 50 guests and has built in audio visual hook-up.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food but too noisy”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Everyone in our party had a nice dinner and delicious food. However, the noise level on a Friday night was so loud I could only talk to the person next to me without shouting. The service was fine even during this busy time. Will go back again for the food but not during the weekend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for the delayed response. We are happy to know you enjoyed the food and service and we apologize for the noise. We take all feedback into consideration and are always looking for ways to improve!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    239
    62
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
165 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great selection of fresh fish”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Cool location by the river and nice decor inside. Best part is the selection of fresh fish. They are also extremely accommodating with food allergies. And make sure to try the chocolate chip cookie with ice cream dessert!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kmc4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for the delayed response but would like to thank you for your nice review! We are happy to know any allergies your party may have had were accommodated for, we take food allergies very seriously!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good food and view”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This restraurnat is casual with very good, well preparred food. If you like seafood this is a good as it get in the Philadelphia/Wilmington area. The fish is fresh and a good selection of oysters, clams and mussels from around the country and Canada. It is a well run restraurant with good service, spacious, outdoor dining and area to enjoy drinks next to the river and the river walk path that extends for blocks along the river for walking, running, biking etc. and connecting 5 restraurants. There is an outdoor bar at one of the restraurants whiich is a great place in nice weather and has music on some occasions. Harry's Seafood on the walk is also very good and comparable to Big Fish. Big Fish had mutiple TVs at the bar for sports. Harry's does not.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerone_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your Big Fish experience!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This visit was our 4th or 5th to this location and everyone has been great. This one was especially tasty. Scotish salmon was excellent as was the stuffed lobster tail. We will definintely be back for more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffs471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are happy to know you enjoyed your Big Fish experience and that you'll be back soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy with Big Fish Grill”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I are big fans of Big Fish, often heading here for dinners out and special occasions. The service has always been quick and courteous, and the food has never disappointed. Some of our favorites include the seafood jambalaya and the tilapia with a coconut sauce. We have always been seated and served quickly and haven't had any problems.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed the food and service at Big Fish!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront also viewed

 
Wilmington, DE
 

Been to Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing