We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food okay, service terrible”

Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront
Ranked #1 of 549 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: After years of success in Sussex County, the Big Fish Restaurant Group has brought the great Big Fish experience to Wilmington. Stop by our new location on the scenic Wilmington Riverfront for the freshest seafood, juicy, hand-cut steaks, savory pastas and delicious salads. Our reasonably priced menu, generous portions, family friendly atmosphere and impeccable service make Big Fish on the Riverfront a casual dining destination and a great addition to the Wilmington restaurant scene. Enjoy lunch and dinner served daily with seasonal dining on our covered outdoor patio. Daily Happy Hour at our spacious bar features food and drink specials and 7 large Hi-Def TV's! Book you next event in our private dining room which can accommodate up to 50 guests and has built in audio visual hook-up.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
281 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Food okay, service terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Visitied the Big Fish Grille once and will not return. The food is mediocre at best, and the service is horrible. The day we visited we were seated fairly quickly, yet it took our server almost 15 minutes to acknowledge us at all and then another 10-15 minutes to wait for our drinks. The food arrived warm, but not hot. Our waitress did not stop by our table to see if wee needed anything. We were not rude to her or anyone else during our visit, yet service was painfully slow. We were actually very polite considering the way that our table, and others were treated on the day we visited. Staff seemed very indifferent.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We apologize for your experience at the Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront. We take all feedback into consideration and are always looking for ways to improve to make sure something like this does not happen again.

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    235
    61
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, clean restaurant, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This review is based on the lunch that I had here with my husband, so the dinner menu might be slightly different. They had lots and lots of options, including a "specials" page with at least 20 food options on it- It was almost overwhelming. I do wish they had more fresh fish options (it seemed like most lunch options dealt with fried seafood) but the fish tacos were very good. We got the mussels to start, and were very happy with them, although they could have used more garlic. Will have to come back here for dinner soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I slaughtered the 3lb lobster.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I went there on a Sunday evening and enjoyed the 3lb lobster. It was freshly prepared and cooked to perfection. The creamed spinach left a little to be desired. I went back another time and had the seared tuna and it was awesome as well. I will be returning.

Helpful?
Thank RKBRAN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
244 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good Seafood on the Riverfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a group of 21 for lunch at 3:00 p.m.. We had made a reservation. The food was great but the service was extremely poor. The manager allocated ONE service person for 21 people. The restaurant was not busy at the time.

It took one hour to get our food. This manager ought to be replaced. He did not use good judgement.. Food was fresh and good. If you go with a large group break it into smaller parcels.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HKonowitz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claymont, Delaware
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice place on the Wilmington riverfront. The food was good and priced right. Service was fine and the atmosphere was fun!

Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront also viewed

 
Wilmington, DE
 

Been to Big Fish Grill on the Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing