We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and new combined”

Delaware Art Museum
Ranked #7 of 72 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A collection of American art from 1840 to the present.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“old and new combined”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had a great mix of older (1800's) and newer(2000's) pieces of work. There are some newer ecletic pieces in a down stairs room off the main floor. Some sculptures and some wall art. There is also sculptures outside along with a path that leads to the labrynth. Stand in the middle and clap or sing. The sound comes back at you. Way cool! We did get a snack in the cafe and paid $7.00 for two drinks and a bag of chips. double ouch! On sundays it is free, (donations are nice though). Check the website for current rates and for petes sake people keep your little sticky handed ruffians OFF the art!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank plurp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    55
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New year's Eve Alternative Event-Quite Good”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

New Year's eve event with dancing was a nice alternative to louder, crazier bars. Nice generational mix too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank skimom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem with many extras!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

What a special place! Known for its pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood works, which are great, and its treasured holding of illustrations by the American Howard Pyle, this museum also has a lovely six-acre sculpture park, a great little gift shop and other art by talented American colonialists. We were lucky enough to catch the Centennial juried exhibition, featuring artists from the Brandywine area. We soent three hours here, and did not see it all. This museum also offers movies, celebrations, concerts and many other engaging events. A real find!

Helpful?
Thank EmilyMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good to go at least once a year.”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a wonderful place to go for anyone and everyone. I have been many times and still haven't seen everything. And what I have seen is worth seeing over again.This is a beautiful facility to just be in and relax. Plan to spend the day bring a book sketch book homework work work. There is a cafe. A wonderful gift shop. Comfortable seating inside. lots of outside seating among the sculptures. The place for home school adventure and play dates. school trips day care to college. Good place for a date. We had a catered lunch that was well presented and delicious. Set up just across from the gift shop out of the people traffic.The staff are warm and welcoming. Plenty of parking tour bus accessable. Watch for special events such as the new years eve celebration.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travaillour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Variety”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My son has always enjoyed the Marooned Pirate, but the last time we were there, it was not! Still there is enough variety in the displays that we always find something interesting. Also, the weekend art studio family events are casual and fun.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LLPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delaware Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Delaware Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing