We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill”

Jasmine Asian Cuisine
Ranked #51 of 553 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
brookhaven, pa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going down hill”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Took our Mother there for Mother's Day, it's her favorite place, I thought it would be more crowded than it was. We have been going here for some time now and have never had a complaint, till now. The bathrooms were gross and not stocked. The service was slow and our waitress I guess expected us to eat our apps on the table, never gave us plates to share, the table was dirty when we sat down, as well as the floor. My Mom's tempura had no taste, my portion of the jamine roll was not what I expected, very small, thought it was an app. When I asked to see the desserts, they didn't have any, what kind of place doesn't have dessert? , the coffee took forever, the waitress said she was brewing it but yet when she served us it was luke warm. What a shame we really liked going there, we are on the hunt for a new place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
1 review
“VEGETARIANS BEWARE!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

VEGETARIANS BEWARE!!! According to the manager - TOM (who said he worked in the kitchen before) that they do not have anything that's vegetarian (except salad or sushi) despite having many "veg" items displayed on the menu. We have been there many times before & had customized our dishes to be vegetarian (like veg fried rice, veg chow fun etc.) When we tried to do it this time, the clueless waitress sought his help who brashly proclaimed 'Maybe all the previous waiters lied to you!!! All our sauces have either beef, fish or chicken stock or sauce in it." When we enquired why do you have so many "veg" items listed. He says "Do you want me to lie to you???" Needless to say, we felt cheated & insulted. And walked out..So 1. They openly admit to be LIARS 2. Manager is arrogant & waiters clueless. 3. "VEG" DOES NOT MEAN VEGETARIAN"......Enough said!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Little disappointed”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We used to be big time fan of Jasmine, we made a special stop while coming back from our trip. Service is was not as quick as it used to be. Quality of the food is still the same. I still think its price is on the higher side but once in a while i am fine to spend little more time and money!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodLoverInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Not consistent”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We have vegan friends who love this place so we go there on occasion with them. The food can be good or below average. They always seem to be out of something. Last time it was brown rice and most of the beer on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank detraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talleyville, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Past its prime”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have been going to Jasmine since it opened in 2003, both dining in regularly and using take out. Jasmine raised the bar for Asian food along the Rte 202 corridor and its popularity even hastened the closure of other Pan Asian restaurants in the area. We have also been regular customers at their second restaurant, Saketumi, near Rehoboth Beach.

Jasmine is fairly simple in layout and decor, being located in a strip shopping center. Saketumi is a classy dining experience in its own building that the owners started up in 2008. Sadly, that seems to have been the beginning of the decline in Jasmine and possibly an over extension of resources by the owners.

Service at Jasmine has become hard to find, even when picking up a take out order. I've stood there for 10 minutes with my bag on the counter just waiting for staff to get to me. Other reviews have confirmed slow service as well. The space, although recently painted, is tired. Look closely and you see that maintenance is being put off.

Some of the dishes are still as good as ever but others are suffering from either a new chef or misdirected ideas on what patrons want. The Singapore noodles are more like peppers and onions with a few noodles in between. A little innovation would be good here as the menu hasn't changed since the day Jasmine opened and they don't have many specials to enhance it.

Competition among Asian restaurants along Route 202 has become fierce, particularly with the opening of many BYOB restaurants just over the line in Pennsylvania. That seems to be taking its toll on Jasmine. Maybe the owners need to sell one of their locations and re-invent the other. In the meantime, we are taking our chopsticks to other restaurants.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SearchLite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasmine Asian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Jasmine Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing