We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, But Very Expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Pont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Pont
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
937 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, But Very Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel du Pont is a beautiful old hotel, but it is priced as if it is in the most expensive sections of Manhattan. Service is good and it is a genuinely nice place, though I do think it is not much of a value with weekday prices exceeding $400.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    120
    30
    23
    16
See reviews for
62
156
13
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel du Pont recently for a family wedding. The hotel is beautiful and elegant. The rooms are suites, with a large sitting area and wonderful bathroom. Everything was clean and sparkling. We stayed in a suite with a king bed that was super comfortable. Several reasons for rating this as 4 and not 5 stars: no coffee maker in the room, the mini-bar had one of those sensors, which if you even move anything you are charged for it, and most importantly, the location. There is really nothing, no shops, restaurants, etc. nearby,and if you go just a few blocks from the hotel you are in areas that are somewhat rough and not great (safe) for walking. Parking was also fairly expensive, but we found free street parking (on the weekend) right across the street from the hotel. This was a fabulous, comfortable place for a wedding because we didn't really need to go out anywhere, but I don't know that I would recommend it otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Louisiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Great Service. Wonderful Rooms. Classic Hotel. Stayed here on a business trip and it was awesome. The staff graciously tended to every need I had. Clean rooms and good beds. Only thing that I missed was no coffee in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmeaux56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

In town for a family wedding at another venue but staying at the DuPont as were many other out of town guests. Elegant historical architecture,attentive and friendly staff at every level,room service and food quality way above average. Breakfast in the Green Room a memorable occasion with honest fresh orange juice,innovative Eggs Benedict with crab meat and a superb waiter. Only negative is a a bit colorful neighborhood but never a problem.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank drmalt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel du Pont this weekend for a wedding. I'm not very familiar with the area - but didn't have very high expectations driving up through the city. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel - the lobby was grand and ornate. We had a room with two double beds which was HUGE (and clean) - and full of all the amenities you expect to receive at a hotel of this caliber. Room service was not TOO overpriced for burgers, etc., and was tasty as well. In the morning we ate breakfast in the dining room which was as ornate as the rest of the hotel and the food was decent as well (not the best eggs / bacon I've ever had and a little pricey but still good). The wedding itself was held in the lower ballrooms and blew me away when we walked in - you feel like you're transported back to another era! Overall, I would recommend if you are in the area and looking for an upscale and timeless place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room faced the middle of the hotel where we overlooked pipes / other people's rooms - but be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I booked a last minute Downton Abbey package for the fifth of July, and am happy I did. I appreciated the convenience of having tickets to the exhibit at nearby Winterthur available from an efficient and friendly Noemi at check in. Our spacious and extremely comfortable room could certainly use a bit of an update ( there was a rather startling abundance of brass in the bathroom). That said, the included breakfast was great and it was an overall pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windwardmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you want to go back in time to a look of pure luxury and opulence then this place will be for you. The architecture is stunning. The decor is timeless. The atmosphere is historic You must experience the aura that surrounds this place. The dining room just amazed me. If the walls could only talk and tell the stories about what history this place has. Beautiful everywhere you turn.
The brunch is out of this world.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJM5573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
1.3 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
4.9 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pont

Property: Hotel du Pont
Address: 11th & Market Streets, Wilmington, DE 19801
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#3 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#5 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel du Pont 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Pont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pont Hotel
Du Pont Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing