We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely 5 star quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Pont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Pont
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
SOUTHAMPTON, NJ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Absolutely 5 star quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were in Wilmington for an afternoon concert at the DuPont Theater and decided to book an overnight at the hotel since the theater is located just off the lobby of the hotel. We arrived at 2PM for a 4 o'clock concert, checked into our rooms, and settled into the comfortable table at the coffee shop where we enjoyed coffee and maccaroons prior to the concert (Mannheim Steamroller Christmas Concert). We had a package which included valet parking and a full breakfast in the beautiful Green Room. Our Executive King Room was opulent and the size of good sized apartment. While this is a great, old hotel it is formal without being stuffy. Everyone of the staff from the parking attendants to the desk clerk to the servers were very gracious. We enjoyed our overnight stay so much that we have decided that we should make it an annual tradition. But, I'm not sure we can wait a whole year to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DICKKEIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    120
    30
    23
    16
See reviews for
62
157
13
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you have a car and are staying in the Wilmington area, this is still definitely the place to stay: The coffered ceiling in the lobby and in the hotel's outstanding restaurant (The Green Room) remind you that the hotel is celebrating its 100th birthday. The staff was unfailing pleasant, and our king-bed corner room was very large and very reasonably priced with a package that included breakfast (easily worth it). The bathrooms are modern and handsome, and the furnishings generally luxurious - albeit perhaps not quite at the level of a new Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons. But way nicer than your Marriott or Hyatt! Nice Fitness center. Terrific room service. So what's not to like? First, the location: downtown Wilmingon is pretty bleak, depressing and deserted at night and on weekends. You need a car (ample valet and self parking). Second, management should do something about the super-annoying motor entrance to the hotel which is only one lane and often entails 5 or 10-minute waits for cars to unload. Even a person of limited intelligence could have designed a better system. Tear down the overhanging structure and fix the UGLY entrance! Other than than, a wonderful stay and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: look for their weekend and special packages which are often a good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Flyer_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Right from the start the hotel and staff did not compare to other historic hotels we have stayed. Typically the bellmen race to see who can open the door for you, but the bellman at the du Pont chose to push a button for the automatic door opener. The check-in person was in training and we were not greeted with a smile either by the trainee or trainer. No helpful hints were offered, no welcome to our hotel, just basically here is your key. Small complaints for sure but I just felt like we were intruding on their time. Our room on the 4th floor was spacious and nice/clean but the view was comic. It was over a courtyard that housed all the electrical and ducting for the hotel. The internet was so slow we used our own data plan. We had high exceptions for this historic beauty but were underwhelmed by the whole experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oregonians4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We called the Hotel du Pont home base for a weekend while attending a wedding outside in the Delaware "countryside." Fantastic property--huge room, well-appointed and very clean and comfortable. Fitness center upstairs beats some that I have seen at 5-star properties. Great dining room and courteous, professional staff. Only downside of the entire stay was that our windows opened up to a view of the louvers and HVAC systems but we weren't there long enough during the day to care. Will definitely stay there again if I'm ever back in Wilmington!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walls2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We recently stayed in this gorgeous hotel while attending a wedding. The room was beautifully appointed with lots of little extras that make your stay so very special. From the front desk staff, to the bartender in the lobby bar, everyone was professional yet welcoming. We splurged on room service breakfast and found it to be worth every penny.

If you are looking for a place to say in Wilmington, Delaware, this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindas6665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel has excellent charm and our suite 1210 was extremely spacious. Mostly great service however limited hotel amenities (no pool or spa). Without a doubt we would stay again. Brunch was very good too. Our suite had a very large sitting area 1 & 1/2 bathrooms a great tub for 2, dining table and bar. The bedroom however was roomy but not as large as would be expected, but this did not take away from the room. we could have easily hosted a 2-3 couples for cocktails in the common room

Room Tip: High floor suites have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

A first class property in every way. I was there for a conference, so was able to stay here in a discounted rate. The staff are incredibly helpful and professional. Opt for the valet parking as the self park is a bit of hike.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
1.3 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
4.9 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pont

Property: Hotel du Pont
Address: 11th & Market Streets, Wilmington, DE 19801
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#3 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#5 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel du Pont 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Pont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pont Hotel
Du Pont Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing