We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Pont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Pont to your Saves list
Hotel du Pont
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11th & Market Streets, Wilmington, DE 19801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Grimes, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel and rooms are definitely five star. food and service is excellent. Self parking is a bit of a negative but manageable. Coffee shop staff was very friendly and had a great selection if looking for a quick grab and go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1998panther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    111
    28
    23
    15
See reviews for
57
147
13
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel du pont for several days leading up to our wedding (in the Gold Ballroom). The service was top notch and every member of the staff that we dealt with did an excellent job. The food is amazing and I thoroughly enjoyed breakfast delivery to the room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlondestMamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is very fancy, staff is very accommodating, and room was luxurious. I've stayed here a couple times, last stay being April 2012, not May as it says, and the only complaint that I have is the parking. It's annoying that you need to wait for valet to drive your car over, and the garage must be several blocks away from when I've seen them drive my car to the front of the hotel. You need to call around 20 minutes in advance for your car, which is inconvenient if you're on business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel retains a wonderful sense of old world charm without seeming stuffy. At the same time, modern amenities such as free Wi-Fi are readily available. The rooms are large, the staff friendly and the location is convenient. Overall, this is an excellent hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank EJE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a nice, classy old hotel from an era of bygone elegance.

The rooms are a little dated, but on the surface they appear to have maintained it well.

The restaurant was good, the bar was nice, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the price was reasonable and the staff was friendly.

All in all a nice stay, with one caveat (and it's a BIG "but)...

There were three of us in our group, travelling for business. Two of us have seasonal allergies.

Both of us were miserable the entire time we were in the hotel. I suspect they have a MOLD problem somewhere in the hotel that is circulating within their HVAC system. We both (unrelated adult males in our 40s who rarely complain; see my other reviews) had a immediate and continuous allergy attack while in the hotel (2 straight days) that began to subside only after we left for the airport.

This wasn't a coincidence. I have relatively mild seasonal allergies. Nothing major; taking Allegra solves it. And our stay in the hotel was in early April - my seasonal allergies haven't even kicked in yet, and it's still cold in Wilmington and none of the trees/pollen that would effect allergies are out yet.

It was the hotel. I'm 99% certain.

If you don't have allergies, it's a lovely hotel. If you do, take some extra Zyrtek or Allegra with you.

Given that the hotel is owned by DuPont Corporation, it's an absolute discrace that this company of their science cannot locate and resolve a mold problem...

Room Tip: Suggest that they fix their allergen problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling-Buckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_duPont_DE, General Manager at Hotel du Pont, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention to enable us the opportunity to respond.

The Hotel du Pont follows the OSHA, EPA and NIOSH guidelines and recommendations for maintaining good Indoor Air Quality in our property. As a matter of DuPont policy, we have a preventative maintenance program in place with all of our systems to help prevent and minimize Indoor Air Quality problems.

Thank you again and we hope we have the opportunity to serve you many times in the future.

Hotel du Pont General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had great stay in Sept, 2012. Comfy king size bed. Huge bathroom with bath tub & separate shower. Dressing table just for the ladies!!! Only down side was that the sofa bed was rather springy and they really couldn't accommodate early arrivers. So had to really rush in getting ready for a wedding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk2usa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Took my wife were for her birthday. Beautiful hotel lobby and wonderful room and fabulous service. All that is ruined by no ice machines (who the hell does room service only ice anymore)and no coffee machine in the room. If you want a machine (which is standard in every room from your el cheapo motel six to the Marriotts) you must rent one for $25 per day. Ridiculous. These guys need to wake up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#5 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pont

Property: Hotel du Pont
Address: 11th & Market Streets, Wilmington, DE 19801
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#3 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#5 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel du Pont 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Pont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pont Hotel
Du Pont Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing