We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Slipping But Still A Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Pont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Pont
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Millville, DE
Level Contributor
208 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Slipping But Still A Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I spent a night at the duPont prior to heading to NYC and a flight to Europe. In the 90's after its renovation, this hotel was a jewel with great food and service but as margins get tighter and cutbacks are made; the hotel is slipping. The hotel is usually overrun with attorney's as Wilmington is a corporate and bankruptcy mecca and many attorney's are now deciding to stay in Philly rather than pay the prices for declining service at the duPont.
As an example, the food is average at best and the Continental breakfast could not satisfy a super model. It was pathetically small and thank goodness my counsel put out a great spread of bagels and danish or I would have starved. My night turn down service was missed assuming there is still a turn down service. I needed a safe place to park my car for 4 days and when I called the front desk, they responded as if I was speaking Mandarin. The rooms are huge and comfortable, but my room was showing some age. Also please be careful of the rooms facing the street since the City of Wilmington runs buses all night that disturb sleep when they pull away from a red light on the corner. Ask for a room on the inside of the hotel away from the street. This hotel while only average in a City like NY; is the best place in Wilmington and still above average but unless some positive changes are made, it will fall to average in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bankruptcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    116
    29
    23
    16
See reviews for
60
152
13
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
198 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went with a day trip group to the green room for high tea. Treated to a history tour of some of the facilities. Did not see any of the rooms. This is a well maintained grand dame.They have an impressive collection of art. The staff seems to really like their jobs and successful in maintaining an aloof/ nice. So you feel upper crust but welcome all at the same time. It felt like being in a hotel in london. I look forward to going back to spend the night. The dessarts at high tea were delightful but obviously not made that day. I am spoiled from too much grand dinning at sea when the dessarts were made in house and immediate. but this tasted better. This the place to have a wedding. The ball room bare is beautiful. You can have your dinners in the green room and guests can stay the night in the hotel. the gift shop is an over kill of junk. the first time I ever went to a gift shop and not bought a thing. Didn't have time to explore the high end shops. Delaware has many places of interest this hotel is in a central location. Not good for tour bus parking but accomodation can be arranged. plan for valet parking lf you drive. stairs real art on the walls toddlers and small children need supervision. nice cozy bar area for a date.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travaillour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Being that I had never been to Delaware before, I had little expectation on what to expect. The Hotel du Pont was a delightful surprise to someone like myself that likes to stay at the finest. Old and historic luxury is how I would describe. Valet is a bit awkward as there is only one lane to pick up and drop off. Beyond that, check in and the staff were very accommodating and pleasant throughout my entire stay. I had slightly upgraded from the basic room and was pleasantly surprised to have a seating area in my room. Bathrooms were very large but with slightly dated fixtures. Another plus is that the Room Service menu caters to vegetarians..I just told them what I wanted and they made me my meal of choice. I would definitely stay there again the next time that I am in the Wilmington area.

Room Tip: Have to admit...the bed bug review on TripAdvisor did concern me but I had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

One of the best hotels on the east coast of the states. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. Put on a buffet breakfast for 100 people that was absolutely outstanding in every way. We would highly recommend a stay at this gem if ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timvoight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I find myself in Wilmington frequently and have stayed at the Dupont on on dozens of occasions. The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are sadly dated and the service is good but monopolistic. When I say monopolistic I mean that the crew at the Dupont do not necessarily go out of their way to serve clientele, they instead act as if you should be happy to be staying at the nicest hotel in Wilmington.

The restaurant and bar options are average at best, not quite you would expect for a top flight hotel in a city. The bottom line is that, other than the Sheraton, the Dupont does indeed have a monopoly in Wilmington. The problem with monopolies, unfortunately, is that they often deter or hamper the desire to innovate and/or to offer things that set you apart from other hotels. This is the rut that the very average Dupont finds itself stuck in every day.

My four star rating reflects the great location and the fact that the hotel is tops in Wilmington. If, however, you were to compare the Dupont with a Ritz or a Four Seasons in virtually any other city, you would be looking at a dated three star facility with lofty unfulfilled expectations and possibilities. Let's keep our fingers crossed that the Dupont "gets it" at some point in the near future.

Room Tip: Certain rooms have a distinctive moldy smell to them. I would ask to avoid one of those at the desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I attend the weekend long Blues festival in Wilmington, which is usually held the first weekend in August. After staying at a chain hotel (with the hookers in the parking lot) for the first 4 years, we decided to splurge a little and stay at The DuPont. Last year everything was perfect- the comfortable rooms, the valet parking service, the room service, the breakfast buffet ( which was a bit pricy, but what the hell). But when we ordered the romance bath the staff forgot to bring it to the room. When we got home from having dinner, it was not set up and they gave some excuse that they couldn't get the chocolate covered strawberries. They had hours to come up with what they needed from the time we placed the order to the expected scheduled time for set up. This year we had another incident. We had called the valet for our car. They said that it would be there right away, so we left our air conditioned room only to stand outside in 98 degree weather for about a half hour. Finally, when our car arrived, the driver had a passenger who jumped out of the car with take out food bags in his hand. We complained to the head valet and front desk that it looked like they were using our car to run errands. The only response that e got was that it would be reported to management and tgey said that they were sorry. We were annoyed that something like this would happen.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 201Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while attending a wedding. The rooms are just amazing. Big, beautiful suite. So spacious and beautifully decorated. The king size bed was so comfortable. The bathroom has a huge tub and separate shower. We have been to many hotels over the years and this room definitely stands out as one of the best.

You have to pay for ice and there is no room to put anything in the small refrigerator but these were minor, inconveniences.

There is 24 hour room service which is a wonderful amenity. Especially since there is no where to eat in the area.

Service was excellent. Any time we called for something, they were at the door in minutes.

You will love this place. Certainly reasonable for what you are getting - which is first class.

If you are looking to eat at the Green Room, you better make a reservation. We arrived on a Sunday and could not get in. There is a theatre here and this spot is popular. Thankfully, there was a place down the hall and across from the coffee shop (don't know the name) where you could get sandwiches. We had wraps and soup. Very good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iliketotravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
4.9 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pont

Property: Hotel du Pont
Address: 11th & Market Streets, Wilmington, DE 19801
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#3 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#5 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel du Pont 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Pont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pont Hotel
Du Pont Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing