We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical dive bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Reef

The Reef
Ranked #116 of 549 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Bar, American, Steakhouse, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wilmington, De
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Typical dive bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for the all you can eat crabs on Sunday. It's $25 all you can eat not including the 20% gratuity. They don't tell you that they tack that gratuity to the entire bill. I believe they do that because they know their service sucks.

What is also sleazy at this place is that for soft drinks/ice tea, they charge per drink, without telling you. It's pretty low when they ask you if you need a refill with your cup half full and take off with it and fill it up, still charging you full price. The ice has a real funky taste to boot.

The crabs were small #2's with very little meat in them. Some batches were piping hot, some were just warm. Sides of French fries were included.

Service was lackluster. The Harley's parked in front fitted in with the tattoo parlor and beauty salon. No reason to go back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Db1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to hang out and meet great people!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Reef has a wonderful atmosphere, great bartenders, bands, Keno (WooHoo) , a million TV's for sporting events, a cool owner that does magic tricks, and the best freakin food ever!! (Gotta try the crabs!!) Not to mention, you can get your hair cut right next door at Salon 17 !!!! I hear the owner is a hottie!! What more can you ask for??!!??!! Go check it out.. you won't be disappointed!!!! XOXO..Dawn and Ron...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bukus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Private Party@ The Reef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband recently threw me a surprise party at The Reef. The food and service were outstanding! I am pretty much a food snob, but the quality of the buffet was quite unexpected - the vegetables were al dente (just the way I like them) and the entrees were first rate. Every single guest remarked favorably on the food and attentive waitstaff. Family members experienced in the food industry who attended the party were also greatly impressed. The entertainment there was wonderful as well. This place is really a wonderful venue for a relaxed and fun party!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deblondesinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Service & Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I went one time. I got a bacon cheese burger and fries and a small pizza. Just my review on service and the food I received was pretty good. I also had a few drinks bartender was nice and prices were okay just average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Officalreviewguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Its a bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Its a bar with bar atmosphere but the food is good and reasonable

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank DAVE0169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reef also viewed

Springfield - Delaware County, PA
 

Been to The Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing