We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not very good anymore”
Review of Grotto Pizza

Grotto Pizza
Restaurant details
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just not very good anymore”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Years ago, we really used to enjoy grottos for a quick meal, we drop in every summer, but our last experience did us in. We won't try it again, I ordered chicken tenders to take out to the beach and they were raw! Ughh, they gave me my money back, handled it well but never again. And the pizza is just so average, not worth the trip for us.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean View, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dull, lifeless pizza - better choices”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Lives off their name and not much else. Pizza has little sauce and cheese. while the crust seems to be "manufactured"

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank runamook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg,PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great pizza and fun for the kids”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We usually go to the Grotto's on the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk. Since Hurricane Irene closed many things the weekend we were on vacation this year, we tried the Grotto's in Bethany. Great place. They serve the same excellent pizza as Rehoboth, this made all the adults very happy. They have a game room that made my granddaughter very happy. I had to limit her to a few games before the pizza arrived and told her if she finished her meal she could play more. Most games give you tickets if you win that can be traded for small toys. Nothing great, but she enjoyed trading the tickets for a prize. My advice is stick to the Skee Ball. You get the most amount of tickets for the least amount of money spent per game.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geob69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Stromboli cheesesteak and chicken chessestake very good but the portions are small.”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Food was good but portions small for the value. If you have 4 people in your party you better order 4 stromboli (one for each you you) because they are small.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max1son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Love Grotto pizza”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We love Grotto pizza. It definitely has a homemade taste and especially good if you enjoy more sauce than cheese. (If not order extra cheese.) My daughter actually opts for stromboli or a turkey club. Generous portions. Try the broccoli bites. Fried broccili with cheese and ranch dipping sauce. Anita our waitress was very efficient and it was very busy. The hostess at front was also very good (sorry I forgot name) She was very good getting staff to bus tables and folks seated. Everyone was really pitching in and doing a great job. Gelato is wonderful too!! Take home a half baked pizza for a fresh pizza at home when you're craving a vacation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Pizza also viewed

 
Bethany Beach, DE
 
South Bethany, DE
 

Been to Grotto Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing