We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scary place!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of In Bocca Al Lupo - CLOSED

In Bocca Al Lupo
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Smyrna, Delaware
1 review
“Scary place!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I will have to agree with Donna L, decided to try this "place" won't classify it as a restraurant because I tried to order from the menu but most of their menu items weren't available. Was greeted by a person who I found out later was owner, in dirty clothes and obviously in a bad mood. Which was confirmed later by her screaming and cursing at employees (?)
It did take forever to get our drinks-it was weird, almost as if they did not want us there and they didnt have anybody else in the place. Over all was a scary place to be and it didnt seem like we could get a menu item so we finished our over priced and very weak drinks and left as quickly as we could.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    0
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A job for Restaurant Impossible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place looks like a dive from the outside but some folks said it was a great place to eat so several of us went there. Let's start with the greeting, "seat yourself". The place has 2 very small dining areas. On with pub tables and the other one with regular tables. As we walked towards the regular tables we were again told to seat ourselves. We said that there were no tables set up for 5 people. PK they took two tables and put them together. Nothing was on the tables except 2 placemats and artificial flowers. The server was young but had been working there for over a year. The food was BAD at best. The décor shabby. The carpet on the floor filthy. We had complained about the food and was told the "guy" cooking is new and they are still trying to teach him! Two of the groups order was so wrong that we told them we weren't going to pay the higher price for a simple burger and the server told us again the guy cooking was still learning, this was not our problem. She then had to get the bartender to call the owner (she kept leaving to go smoke) and they reduced the bill. When the owner came in she asked if everything was ok! We all told her NO! All the time we were there NO ONE ELSE CAME IN!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
375 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,356 helpful votes
“Thursday night steak night review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This restaurant appears to be divided in half, with a bar and small dining area on one side, and the Italian restaurant on the other side. It also appears they share one kitchen. We ate in the bar half, as there was a sign advertising it as steak night, and we had a taste for steak.

There were four patrons sitting at the bar, and no one in the restaurant area, nor did any other customers come in during our meal. We were greeted by the owner, who was very friendly, and seated. Our waitress promptly brought over our drinks, and we chose an appetizer and our steaks. We wanted to try the house special appetizer, which was a nice plate of fried shrimps, fried chicken strips, fried pickles and fried broccoli bits. Although it was tasty, in my opinion, none of it was homemade, all tasted as if it came out of a freezer and then was cooked.

My husband's order of strip steak was unavailable, so he had the grilled rib eye instead. I had the steak special, which was a grilled steak and baked potato. Neither steaks were actually grilled. They were not even cooked in a grill pan. Steaks cooked in a grill pan would have grill marks, just like the grill pan I use at home to cook my own steaks. The meat was unremarkable, and also tasted as if it had just come out of the freezer. His plate came with two stalks of boiled broccoli. I did not get a vegetable.

What was odd about steak night was that we had to ask for salt and pepper, there was none on the table, and when we asked for steak sauce, the waitress did not know if there was any, ran all around the restaurant looking for it, and finally got a bottle from the bartender. Wouldn't you think that on steak night the tables would at least be ready with the basic seasonings most people use on a steak, i.e., salt and pepper and steak sauce?

The restaurant is cute. Too bad the food does not measure up. I could have made this meal at home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiouMiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
242 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“One of the average Italian restaurants in the Smyrna area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Changing the management didn't help. The food is average and it has become more of a sports bar

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HKonowitz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
161 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Service is appauling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have been here 3 times and it took over an hour & a half to get seated (only 2 tables there each time), get waited on and get our food. They hire inexperienced wait staff that does not know how to properly wait tables. Each time the waitstaff was in the weeds with only 3 tables in the whole restaurant. The food is good but not worth the time it takes to get fed. Sorry!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ILuvVacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Bocca Al Lupo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing