We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing summer concerts”

The Freeman Stage at Bayside
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Freeman Stage at Bayside is an outdoor performing arts venue operated by the Joshua Freeman Foundation, a 501(c)3 non-profit fundraising organization. The Freeman Stage at Bayside strives to offer a wide range of diverse and quality arts experiences to people of all ages and backgrounds in the Mid-Atlantic area. The stage is open to the public and we welcome residents and visitors to spend time with us during our outdoor stage season. Typically, the season is between Memorial Day and Labor Day and presents over 50 performances. Genres include dance, live music, national recording artists, and theatre.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing summer concerts”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I experience several concerts this summer at Freeman. The venue is perfect for outdoor concerts. You will have an up close and personal experience with the artist.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    12
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jessup, Maryland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I took my 10 month old infants here to watch the Irish Celtic band Cherish the Ladies. It was a wonderfully casual venue. The sound was first rate and the staff was super friendly. For this show, it was just bring-you-own-camp-chair and there was a lot of room to spread out. I'd imagine that for a bigger show it might feel crowded but it was perfect for us. There was food, clean bathrooms close enough that you could still hear the show inside, the water nearby kept it breezy and cool. Fantastic sunset, NO BUGS and a great show. I would go here again in a heartbeat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank crayolabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“This is a hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wow! Really nice set up, saw Pat Benatar here last month and we are already planning on coming back for other shows. Easily available restrooms, mini bars and food. Paid performances have the chairs/bleacher seating provided, my one complaint is the TIGHT seating in the bleachers. I am five foot 105 pounds and I felt squashed. They have many free shows that look great also, and I will be happy to bring my own chair to avoid the bleachers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thezoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Entertainment at the Beach”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great place to go for an inexpensive evening out. They have attracted big names for this year, Michael McDonald, Pat Benatar, Lyle Lovitt, etc. Sponsored by the Freeman Foundation which brings the arts to kids in Sussex county.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank No1HoyaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great venue for a casual evening and concert”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife went for the first time earlier this season (Sir Rod ) have already been back twice with family and friends ( Blues Brothers Review and Bruce in the USA). The venue is perfect for a relaxed outside concert. Traffic kept us from arriving as early as planned but even with seats in the back half we could see and hear fine. I don't think there is a bad seat in the house.

Parking is free and within easy walking access to the venue. No lines to speak of and leaving after the event was quick and orderly

All the events we attended were "bring your own chair" - you are fine with either low beach chairs or standard lawn chairs ( about 50% of both were at the event) but I'd recommend to opt for the higher lawn or folding camp type which will give you a better view. Sit to the right and you'll be adjacent to the lake.

The staff are all volunteers and are extremely friendly and helpful. All in all this is a great place for an evening out without the pressures and expense of big ticket concerts

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GV27OCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Freeman Stage at Bayside also viewed

 

Been to The Freeman Stage at Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing