We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation/Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Seaford
Lusby, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Renovation/Noise”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We did not see any notice that this hotel was under renovations and it definitely needs it. The upper floors seem to be completed but the lobby is still under construction. The hotel is located right off the highway and the noise from trucks and vehicles all night long was very disturbing. Our room was not right by the elevator but the dinging of the elevator door also kept us up as well as just regular noise in the halls. The renovation should include lower the bell noise and soundproofing the doors and windows! Breakfast had NO fruit just cereal, eggs, toast, etc...

Also the television is really small in comparison to most hotels.

Room Tip: If you must stay here would suggest you get room at end of hallway and at the backside of hotel to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear krofly,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the renovations being done prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    27
    12
    14
See reviews for
42
29
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

There isn't a lot to choose from in this part of Delaware and when the hotel we usually stay at was full I sighed and booked the Holiday Inn Express. I figured it should be clean at least. It was more than clean, it was refreshed! The rooms has been recently renovated and the lobby and public spaces were fresh and immaculate. To add to the pleasant surprise our room looked out over the lake.
The breakfast was hot and fresh, with eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, warm cinnamon rolls and all other manner of continental breakfast goodies.
The staff was friendly, helpful, efficient and always smiling.
I will definitely book another stay there when I am back in Seaford.
Thanks Holiday Inn Express, Seaford DE!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtic_Traveler-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We took this hotel as a last minute plan to go to Dover Race. It's about 35 miles away so we at first were disappointed. We got to the hotel Saturday after being at the track for hours and did not want to travel any more. Tge room wS great 2 TVs a sitting room and bedroom SLL very clean. There were places to eat including Friendlys in walking distance. The free hot breakfast and coffee was a great touch in the 2 mornings we were there. The people were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grazerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed here before on our way traveling south on Route 13. You get what you pay for in this property. There was no indication on the web page that there is construction going on in the lobby and breakfast area. We were warmly greeted as a HI Platinum member, room was just fine on the 4th floor. Typical HI Express decore. I asked for a room with a quiet AC unit and that was achieved. Breakfast was bare minimum in a noisy, under construction breakfast room. TV and music on at the same time....OM. Desk clerk never looked up when we were leaving. The best part of this stop is the Mexican restaurant across the highway. If you are on a budget, looking to stop one night, it will do. Will be better when the construction is finished.

Room Tip: Top floor in the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy011351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny P, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your second review of our hotel. We are pleased you chose to stay with us again in Seaford. We apologize your breakfast experience wasn't up to our high standards. We will try our best to inform you and our other guests of any renovations ahead of time. The renovations are almost done, with just the installation of drapery and the fireplace tile left to complete. I have informed our front desk staff to mind the combination of the lobby music and television as well as to thank you for staying with us. Feel free to contact either me or Carol Powell our General Manager about any suggestions. We sincerely hope to see you again and look forward to exceeding your expectations.

Sonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson,ms
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and it was the worst hotel of my fifty years of traveling experience. Why? Once in my room, I could not make the television work. I picked up the phone to report the problem and the phone was dead. Two lights were not working so I went down to the front desk to report these problems. Later, the lights were fixed, but the television never worked. When I got in the shower, the water did not drain and I discovered a huge glob of hair around the drain.

I cannot imagine Holiday Inn Express continuing to allow this hotel to use their highly regarded name.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolSeaford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear scottishlad,

I am so disappointed to hear about your experience at our hotel. We strive to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied and very happy with their stay. I have addressed your issues and can assure you that this will not ever happen again.

I appreciate that you took the time to let us know how we are doing.
We would love to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Sincerely,

Carol Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaford hotels

Lagos, Nigeria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed a night after a long trip from North Brunswich to Virginia and then to Delaware on a business trip. My stay was lovely; the rooms and clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very warm and friendly.

Room Tip: You may need a car to move around
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imeh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here to attend baseball tournament in nearby Georgetown with my son. It wouldn't be my choice but then again, there aren't many choices in Seaford.

Average/satisfactory accommodations -- not great/not bad. Room and bathroom were clean , so that was good. Skipped the free breakfast b/c didn't like the offerings we saw on the first morning -- not many healthy choices. In fact, the whole surrounding area seems to be lacking in quality restaurants with healthy choices -- mostly fast food places.

Would not recommend area for a vacation but if you're attending the Sports at the Beach Tournament, this hotel will suffice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShopBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear ShopBread,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry if our hotel fell below your expectations. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

While I understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaford
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Seaford
Hampton Inn Seaford
#1 of 6 in Seaford
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Seaford
Comfort Suites Seaford
#2 of 6 in Seaford
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Seaford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Georgetown Delaware Beaches
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Georgetown
131 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Salisbury
Hampton Inn Salisbury
#1 of 14 in Salisbury
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13

Property: Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13
Address: 24058 Sussex Hwy, Seaford, DE 19973-5872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Seaford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Seaford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13 hotel is an interior corridor, four story hotel with a fireplace in the lobby. Located on Williams Pond, rooms on the back side of the hotel offer spectacular views of wildlife ranging from geese, birds, turtles and fish. Features include an outdoor pool, exercise room, and business center. All rooms include coffee maker, iron/board, and hairdryer. Voice mail and 2- line phones. Coffee served 24 hours a day in the lobby. Monday-Friday we serve fresh baked cookies in the evenings. We are conveniently located near the Invista/Dupont, Nanticoke Hospital, Allen Family Foods, Seaford Industrial Park, Perdue Chicken, Solocup, Seaford Army National Guard. We are also within a 15-30 minute drive to the Delaware Beaches, Cape Henelopen State Park, Sports at the Beach, Delaware State Fairgrounds, Harrington Raceway & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seaford Hotel Seaford
Holiday Inn Seaford
Seaford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing