We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Night Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Seaford
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Late Night Stopover”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Traveling down the eastern shore and after many hours on the road decided stop in @ 3am. The night person seemed miffed for the interuption (she came out of a back office and barely spoke during the transaction) and took forever to check us in on a Saturday night when there were perhaps fewer than 10 other cars in her lot. It seemed odd that she would check us into a room at that hour next to the elevator. We fell into bed and then the hotel radio alarm clock woke us abruptly @7am??? Must have been pre-set by previous guest. In the light of day you good see that the room was dusty, needed a good vac, and the pillowcases were stained (even on the opposite bed) The walls had been damaged and then perhaps just badly patched. The hotel amenities were generic (soap, shampoo, but no lotion at all?) and not of the quality which we normally have expected for Holiday Inn Express. We checked out at noon and asked for our receipt (since we'd paid cash the night before, it was a business expense, and we wanted to add our Priority Card #) the woman was polite, but then again she also seemed to struggle with the computer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floor away from the elevator and highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneFreemanYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear mowva,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us.We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
43
29
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed hear in September what a mistake rooms ,very smelly carpets in need of a good clean,I had to buy some Febreze to make room better, front entrance untidy with dead plants and a filthy entrance mat ,staff very friendly but did not make up for this horrible place, we had on this trip stayed in more than twenty holiday inns and express all very good, but if this had been the first one it would have put us off staying in any more. What has happened to the managment are they blind with know smell.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear roger p,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you find our front desk to be friendly. Our staff members are truly the heart of the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapses in the cleanliness of our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for your patronage and for sharing your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaford hotels

San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a government rate which helped... the room was nice, however the bathroom could have been cleaner. The air conditioner was very loud and the settings were either freezing cold or off, but we had to leave it on because I could hear everything in the room next to us if I turned it off. The continental breakfast was also very good. I stayed at the hotel during the Sea Gull Century ride, so I know they were very busy. I believe the staff even came in extra early (5:15 a.m.) to provide breakfast. The front desk lady was very nice during my check-in. We also had a sweet little view of a lake out of our window. Overall, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet_C295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just stayed here for The 2012 Sept Race Weekend - we thougth it was a nice place - the room was very clean and well appointed. The hallways were a bit dusty - not sure if there is construction or work being done right now - maybe that could be the reason, but the room was fine. We were gone most of the time at the race track, so we didn't eat here or use the pool, etc..... - just slept, and for that purpose the Hotel was just fine....we would def stay here again if in town~

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlinStarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, NC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I were on the road south of Dover, DE on the evening of this review looking for a place to stay and read the reviews of this HIE. They mostly seemed good so we called and made a reservation. When we arrived we were concerned to find first that all the plants at the entrance were dead. Humm. There were cigerette butts scattered all around the entrance. Upon entering the hotel we noticed the door mat was really dirty. We checked in with a friendly young women who gave us a room on the third floor. As we walked to the elevator, the place was dirtier and dirtier. Molding around the hallway entrance by the elevator was torn off- no notice of "excuse our mess" etc. there were smudges all over the elevator. When we got to our room, there was a towel laying on the floor *outside* the door. When we opened the door, one bed was completely bare and the other was obviously slept in. The carpet down the hallway was dirty. It was as if the cleaning crew took the day off. Why would the clerk give us an unmade room? How in the world does Holiday Inn let their managers get away with such incompetence? We went back to the clerk and told her we would not be staying there. I told her the room was unmade and the place was filthy. She smiled and said ok. We ended up staying down the road at an HIE in Delmar, MD just north of Salisbury.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subtropical_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear subtropical_ken,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklawn, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel should be a much better hotel. It looks like an excellent place. Comfortable, clean rooms, a nice common space, and a solid breakfast arrangement are certainly pluses.

Sadly, basic customer service seems to be sadly lacking. Most of the appliances in our room were left unplugged, including the TV, several of the lights, and even the desk outlets. The standup light had a blown bulb. No big deal, a bad bulb, right? Unfortunately the front desk clerk was unable to replace the bulb because "they lock up the bulbs at night," and she apparently wasn't worthy of the key. Really nice. But the bulb issue shouldn't happen, she told us - "the maids check every appliance every day." Really. Nice check.

Plus the TV never worked, no matter what outlet. And the wall temperature control was bypassed into unit by the window, with the wall control completely dead.

The bathrooms were clean, but horribly designed. The door comes to within a half-foot of the toilet, which requires a contortion act to get out of the way. That is complicated by the sink and countertop, which bows out at the sink. Nice in theory, with a wide sink, but poor in actual practice.

It's not that the place was bad, certainly the sleeping part was fine. The smaller details were just lacking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJE1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear KJE1776,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and leaving a review. It delights me that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and pleased you enjoyed breakfast. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your feedback is very important to us. We're sincerely sorry you were not fully satisfied with the condition of the room amenities, bathroom decor and some aspects of our hotel staff services. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this is the best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is an OK at best hotel. A bit disappointting for and HIE. Someone needs to show the cleaning staff what a vacum is. The stairs in the lobby have not been cleaned in weeks. My room was OK by the throw at the foot of the bed had stains on it and had not been through the wash in months. I have pasted this location at least 50 times over the past 5 years. I understand now why I was driving pst this location

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Rusty S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am glad that you liked our location. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day, especially with room accommodations you received. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best way of improving guest services.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaford
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Seaford
Hampton Inn Seaford
#1 of 6 in Seaford
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Seaford
Comfort Suites Seaford
#2 of 6 in Seaford
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Seaford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Georgetown Delaware Beaches
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Georgetown
135 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Salisbury
Hampton Inn Salisbury
#1 of 14 in Salisbury
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13

Property: Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13
Address: 24058 Sussex Hwy, Seaford, DE 19973-5872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Seaford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Seaford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13 hotel is an interior corridor, four story hotel with a fireplace in the lobby. Located on Williams Pond, rooms on the back side of the hotel offer spectacular views of wildlife ranging from geese, birds, turtles and fish. Features include an outdoor pool, exercise room, and business center. All rooms include coffee maker, iron/board, and hairdryer. Voice mail and 2- line phones. Coffee served 24 hours a day in the lobby. Monday-Friday we serve fresh baked cookies in the evenings. We are conveniently located near the Invista/Dupont, Nanticoke Hospital, Allen Family Foods, Seaford Industrial Park, Perdue Chicken, Solocup, Seaford Army National Guard. We are also within a 15-30 minute drive to the Delaware Beaches, Cape Henelopen State Park, Sports at the Beach, Delaware State Fairgrounds, Harrington Raceway & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seaford Hotel Seaford
Holiday Inn Seaford
Seaford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing