We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack Astor's

Jack Astor's
Reserve with OpenTable
Jack Astor's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 110 Restaurants in Stoney Creek
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed a good meal, our waitress was really friendly, and the menu has a good variety to choose from. Nothing to complain about but nothing really memorable. It's a bar like restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Halligan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    26
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“not enough variety”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife likes their Thai chicken , but I find that the only item on the menu I wanted was the steak. I don't go there anymore because I am not impressed with the menu offerings.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“One of the better chains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Some interesting options on the menu, including some health choices. Otherwise, tyical of other similar chains.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank grobinsongow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“reliable and consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The food preparation at this pace seems to be very consistent from one location to the next. I have eaten in four or five Jack Astors and they are all the same. Caesar salad was very good, I ate with two other people and they both reported their lunch was very good...bill seemed high, so high that we spent a minute to look at it to make sure it was right - have not double checked a bill in 10 years!

Had a good experience with our server - I tried an Arnold Palmer (combination of juice and ice tea...recommend it) and it was very tart...I could barely get it down. The server took it back and made me one herself and it was excellent. So, give it a try...its called an Arnold Palmer and I am guessing it is his favourite drink.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Real_Duke_of_Hockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good food great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went there for a birthday. Had calamari which was a little greasy and she had cicken pasta something. She liked it. I had the special pasta and I liked mine. The brought her a free desert for her birthday and sang. It was a good dinner and a good place to go so we will probaly return again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MOREOFLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Astor's also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
Stoney Creek, Hamilton
 

Been to Jack Astor's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing