We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keeps getting better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Munduk Moding Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was our third time staying at MMP.
The staff are still fantastic, the accommodation awesome and the food is great.

There have been some changes since our first visit, but I must say they are all improvements. The upstairs lounge and library area are a good addition, the gym is terrific, and the small bar is great.
The jacuzzi is awesome and must have the best view of any jacuzzi in the world (except when encased in cloud). The heating of the pool was also a welcome improvement.

It's nice to know that there are no plans to make MMP bigger (ie. increase the number of rooms). Much of it's charm is the peace and tranquility afforded by it's smaller size and remote location. The only downside on this occasion was the fact that some of the guests did not seem to appreciate this. I guess there's not much the staff can do about that.

Still a fantastic place to go to escape the rat race and truly relax.

Thanks again.

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Placebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Placebo,

On behalf of the whole team,I would like to thank you for staying with us recently.It is indeed a real pleasure to have an opportunity to host both of you for the third time.We are glad to know that you enjoyed the addition to the plantation such as lounge,library,gym,bar and jacuzzi.

However,we are very sorry to know that some in house guests did not seem to appreciate it even though,as you are aware,we have been doing our best to address this issue.

Hopefully we will have another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    80
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
133
350
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
740 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 875 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

we had lunch at Mimpi restaurant which is good food with slightly above reasonable price, view to infinity pool. The pool water is heated so we can swim without freezing. The resort has nice gardens, pathways, Jacuzzi, and places in quiet and secluded places to sit. The temperature is cold, and I love the mist. in sunny weather, we can see the north bali sea and mountains in java island from the Mimpi restaurant/ Infinity pool. The people are nice, friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: we had lunch, not staying in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EredGorgoroth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear ardhyryadi,

Thank you for having lunch at our restaurant recently and leaving these kind comments.

We are delighted to know that you liked the view of the infinity pool,the mist,gardens,pathways and Jacuzzi.More over,we are happy to know that you found the food was good,the staff were nice,friendly and helpful.

We do hope to have an opportunity to welcoming you back as in house guest in the near future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a must place to visit in the north of Bali.
As a family with 2 children aged 10 & 12 this was our 1st trip north of Ubud in late January for 2 nights, and was spectacular for a number of reasons.
The scenery is simply awesome ,as is the property and staff.
The shuttle service is a must and the drive around the area is very interesting, there are plenty of things to do or relax by the best infinity pool around.
Treks , spa's, massages and excellent accommodation compliment a great stay.
This resort is not in town but is easily accessed by shuttle and the drive is spectacular rising some 1300 meters above the lake below.
The food was excellent , we had breakfast , lunch and dinner, and was value for money.
My wife has an unusual food allergy, and the resort went to great lengths to ensure that all was safe.

Room Tip: Villa,s are dotted around the plantation, garden suites are closer to the main resort area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thommo051966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear thommo051966,

I,on behalf of the whole team,would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at our resort recently and writing a positive review.

I am glad to know that you found the accommodation and food were excellent.In addition,I am delighted to learn that you like the scenery,staff,shuttle service,spa and treks.

Hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcoming you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We are a young couple in our mid-twenties and are quite well-travelled. The MMP was – by far – the nicest hotel we have stayed in, both during our most recent trip to Bali as well as all earlier travels in other parts of the world.
We booked quite at short notice, about 10 days before the stay, for one night only (we absolutely wanted to treat ourselves to a stay at the plantation as it ticked all our Bali boxes but were a bit budget-conscious so we settled on a short stay) in the cheapest category room. Even though the website offered credit card payment, we were asked to pay through PayPal, which we don’t use. When mentioning this to the extremely helpful hotel staff, alternative arrangements were promptly made. Gede and us exchanged quite a few E-Mails prior to our stay, and he would always reply promptly, politely and with all the necessary information, making us feel welcome and well taken care of from the very start.
Pick-up in Bedugul was perfectly on time and very convenient. Stops were made on the way for us to be able to take photos of the beautiful scenery.
When we actually got to the hotel, we were greeted with flower garlands and a homemade, non-alcoholic cocktail in what we thought was a reception room – only to find out to our disbelieving but most pleasant surprise that we had been upgraded to their adorable two bedroom pool villa. Which naturally took our stay to a whole new, honeymoon-style level and we are still extremely grateful, whatever made us deserve this treatment.
I haven’t seen the other rooms and villas, but ours was perfect to detail. We have stayed at 5 star places during the very same trip and while they were great, we still enjoyed the MMP a lot more by far. The reason for that was its authenticity, the fact that it blended in its natural setting perfectly without overpowering the natural beauty, and stuck to the typical architecture and features you want to have on your Bali vacation without compromising as regards luxury. Rooms featured four poster-beds with thick comfy mattresses, the biggest ever bathtub that would have easily fit 4 people, and the typical open plan bathroom and shower, albeit covered with Plexiglas due to outside temperatures (which would leave the room a bit damp after bathing due to lack of ventilation, but it didn’t really bother us). All amenities were readily available and presented with great passion for detail.
Our villa was serviced by its own butler who was very nice and always on call but never importunate. We felt a bit funny about having a butler at all – we were constantly carted around in a golf caddy and offered to have breakfast made for us in our own living room, but we were quite happy to walk and have breakfast in the restaurant. I guess just for us being so young the level of luxury we were exposed to was a bit too much but so well meant and enjoyable.
Food was good, well presented and there was a nice selection available so even if you stayed there for a week you would find enough variety to have a very enjoyable dinner every day. Some dishes like the Satay would be presented quite spectacularly, and you would get a little treat before the actual meal. We were particularly positively surprised about the fact that while the restaurant has quite a monopoly (there’s not really anywhere else you can easily get to for dinner) and would be in a position to charge accordingly, they keep the prices very moderate and fair. I would have enjoyed some soft, Bali-typical music to have played, while my partner enjoyed the silence so I think that’s a matter of personal preference. For lunch we could pick anywhere on the premises to eat which was excellent as we had a favourite spot and enjoyed a lovely lunch there.
The premises are amazing and of immense natural beauty. Due to our short stay we didn’t do any excursions, but they all sounded great and would offer something for everybody. So even though the plantation is remote, it won’t get boring even if you just do nothing but take in the surroundings and enjoy being pampered, as we did. I would have stayed the whole 10 days vacation and not have missed anything.
We had a spa treatment each which again we found fairly priced. In retrospect, we would advise people to go during the day, as it was quickly getting cold when we went during sunset (a shame to miss out on, too!). There was a little problem with the hot water in the shower, so after a bit of fiddling I went to wash the body scrub paste off squatting in the bathtub and I got really cold in the meantime. So just go in the late morning hours if you can, or early afternoon. The massage was very relaxing, the ladies friendly and all the products they use locally sourced and free of additives (as, I believe, is the food). Again I would have liked some music, but that way you could listen to whatever natural sounds there were, wind blowing, raindrops, wildlife etc which was very peaceful.
There’s not much to say about the pool and Jacuzzi – the pictures speak for themselves, and it is just every bit as beautiful and gorgeous as it looks there. I am a massive fan of Bali’s infinity pools and I believe this one can easily compete with the kind you find in Ubud. The tiles are so pleasantly coloured that it creates the wonderful impression of melting with the sky, and the view out to the sea is undisturbed and peaceful. The water was a bit chilly if you are sensitive in that regard, but I am not fussy when it comes to that and found it quite refreshing. Our private pool was covered early every night to prevent it from losing too much heat, which of course makes sense, but if they hadn’t covered it I would have totally gone for an evening swim prior to a hot bath.
As mentioned before, all staff was helpful, kind and the service spot-on. I had quite a few pleasant conversations with the manager and the spa therapists and I enjoyed the fact that everyone was so approachable.
Bali is so crowded in popular areas that I am happy that places like MMP exist, which really cater for those who are looking for tranquillity and relaxation in unison with nature – and once you have grown out of your backpacking years, there you can do it amidst all the amenities you don’t wish to miss out on. Escape the crowds, the uniform hotel rooms and bathroom kits and enjoy the true natural Bali. No hotels left and right, airstrips on your beach, or something else they won’t show you in the brochure – this place is truly as beautiful as it looks on their website and better. I would any day (that I can afford it, that is) go back and stay for a week or two, our honeymoon, a very special occasion or whenever I am looking to escape it all and recharge within the intimate, paradisiacal setting this place provides. But even if you just have a day like we do, treat yourself to a wonderful experience. Just do it towards the end of your holiday, otherwise whatever else you do just won’t compare (trust us on this).
We again wish to think the entire MMP team, the investors and architect for realising this beautiful project, the lovely staff who made our stay so special, and everybody working on the plantation for the great authentic supply and wish everybody who will stay here in the future a truly wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RedSquirrelArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannah-sarah, Owner at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Google Translation
Haben Sie Vielen Dank für Ihre freundliche Wörter. Wir freuen uns dass Sie eine gute Zeit bei uns verbracht haben und die Lage lieben. Wir hoffen Sie wieder in MMP begrüssen zu dürfen. Gede Suparwata,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had the most wonderful experience here.
We stayed at the pool villa and it was exquisite and this provided us with the space and privacy that we were wanting for this vacation.
The view was breathtaking and the staff could not have been more helpful.
We are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Meghan S,

Thank you for your comment. It is very rewarding to receive compliments from guests like you who have enjoyed their stay. Your feedback will surely motivate us to always strive and do better… :-)

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

we have enjoyed very good time at Munduk Moding Plantation. Although it is far from the airport, it is really worth the whole trip. The view of the infinite swimming pool is excellent!!! People there are very nice! we are very looking forward the next visit there!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy_Zhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Nancy_Zhao,

Many thanks for your feedback which we all appreciate very much at Munduk Moding Plantation. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Before check in to the cosy munduk plantation we walked into the rise fields and had a walk to the beautiful waterfall
because we arrived in the afternoon, we missed the plantation tour, we asked for the map and did the tour on our own. we enjoyed the swimmingpool and we spent a lot of time in the jacuzzi counting the stars. we were very lucky because there was an evening entertaiment with balinese dancing children . We had dinner in the hotel and it was super with an excellent service ! our room was very nice with shower, bath and flowers everywhere,a good bed and a beautiful vieuw. the breakfast was also very good
I asked for a yoghourt with fresh strawberry's ( delicious)
We stayed only for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefstinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear stefstine,

I am delighted that you seem to have really enjoyed your stay. At Munduk Moding Plantation we have from the very start put a lot of emphasis on preserving traditional Balinese dance, empowering locals and using only the freshest ingredients available in the area. So it is very rewarding for us that it is actually appreciated by our guests.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gobleg
4.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
787 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
179 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 198 in Ubud
1,033 reviews
22.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 198 in Ubud
1,874 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sanak Retreat Bali
Sanak Retreat Bali
#1 of 1 in Kayuputih
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munduk Moding Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munduk Moding Plantation

Property: Munduk Moding Plantation
Address: Jl. Asah Gobleg Banjar Dinas Asah | Banjar Buleleng Singaraja, Gobleg 81152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gobleg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Gobleg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Munduk Moding Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munduk Moding Plantation Nature resort & Spa (MMP) is the only boutique hotel in Bali located on a working coffee plantation producing its own specialty coffees.MMP has some of the best views on the Island as well as an award winning infinity pool. Spread out over 5 hectares and nestling in luxuriant gardens full of tropical flowers and plants, our villas offer unparalleled privacy. Guests can enjoy a beautiful Jacuzzi, a unique Bamboo Spa and Hall, a gym, a tennis and badminton court, horse riding, a sky lounge with a comprehensive library and games room while the MiMPi restaurant serves food made with fresh ingredients from our vegetable and spice gardens. Free Internet, an extensive activity program as well as a shuttle service to nearby places of interest are available on a complementary basis for in house guests. Strategically located near Bali's central lakes and Munduk hill station, this European-Indonesian partnership works to preserve the natural environment in unison with the local community, which it supports through its Munduk foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munduk Moding Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munduk Moding Plantation Hotel Gobleg
Munduk Moding Plantation Bali/Gobleg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing