We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Munduk Moding Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a truly unique find and we were sorry to leave. We stayed for just two nights on a whirlwind tour of Bali, but enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the hotel and all the wonderful facilities on offer. The pool is not big, and slightly too cold but is a stunning feature infinity pool overlooking the most spectacular countryside views, which we further enjoyed whilst enjoying superb breakfasts in the garden both mornings. The rooms are comfortable and rustic - and not quite up to the top notch standards of the city hotels we stayed in - but spacious, clean and truly charming. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the two tour guides for our treks from the hotel were superb and the experiences outstanding. This is well worth the drive into the hills - our only slight criticism was the limited menu given there were no other restaurants available in the immediate vicinity. That being said, the food was of a very good standard, and the staff were very accommodating of any changes we asked for.

Room Tip: We took the two suites above the hotel itself which were spacious and had a whole private balcony ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gedeuli, General Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Caroline,
Thank you for these kind comments - we are very happy that you found MMP so relaxing and that you found our staff were available to assist. Concerning your thought on the pool temperature, we are now working on a system to heat it - should be up and running in the coming weeks. I certainly looking forward to welcome you back .
With best regards,
Gede Uliadnyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    78
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
122
327
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Tham s has to be the ultimate get-away-from-it-all peaceful hideaway, and confirmed by the fact that the guests are mainly French and they have a nose for this sort of place.
Set amidst coffee bushes on jungle covered hills, the dazzling infinity pool reflects the sun setting over the distant volcanoes of eastern available at dusk from the classy little dining room or the two pool suites above. The rest of the accommodation is made up of bungalows nestled in the rich and colourful vegetation surrounding the main building.
Arrival is marked not only with the common drink and cold towel but also with a marigold garland.

Service and menu are professional including free afternoon tea or coffee and plantation mini trek.

Wonderful, and miles away from the bustle of Kuta or even Ubud. Go for it but book early as it is bijou.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremyburtonReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gedeuli, General Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Jeremy Burton,
I am delighted that you seem to have really enjoyed your stay. At MMP we have from the very start put a lot of emphasis on the experience of nature and the peace feeling so it is very rewarding for us that it is actually appreciated by our guests.
With best regards
Gede Uliadnyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copacabana beach, nsw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

What a truly wonderful experience !
This boutique hotel has great ambience and is set in a truly beautiful spot,with great views to the Bali sea.
The food was excellent ,with some produce coming from their own vegetable garden . Really great choice for breakfast .
We stayed in one of the garden view rooms which was clean ,quite and provide all we required.
The staff were very warm ,friendly and attentive.
Attention to detail was fantastic.
Overall a very well run hotel and a credit to all who work there.

Room Tip: All rooms here are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rorydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gedeuli, General Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Rory,
Many thanks for your feedback which we all appreciate very much at MMP. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future.Your kind words about our staff are very much appreciated; as you know, we largely work with people from the area whom we train at MMP: in this way Gobleg and surroundings benefit from our presence and our guests experience being served by people who hail from the area - as you have noticed, the culture here is friendly and genuine - with so little high end tourism in the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Excellent too short stay. Warm welcome from a local staff who the best to accommodate your wishes. We have been accommodated in villa, wonderful! Swimming pool I very cold but you got the impression that you swill in the clouds, view is one of the best I had ever. Food at the restaurant is fresh and of a very good qualities well as the breakfast in the morning that you can rake in the garden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titi02051971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gedeuli, General Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
It is really very rewarding to read your kind words about your stay at MMP which are very motivating for all of us here in Bali. Your comments about the temperature of the pool - about 20°C - are well taken: we have decided to put in a heating system to improve the comfort of our guests. In addition, we will have a (obviously heated) jacuzzi as off the Christmas season with its own deck located a bit down from the swimming pool - with the same view of the Bali sea. Thank you again for your very helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellerup
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

this is a truly beautiful place. we were a Danish family of 8 people . we stayed in villas, they were superb and very private. the suites on top of the restaurant probably have the best views, but less privacy.
we got amazing pictures from the sunset between layers of clouds!

Christian K.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank christian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gedeuli, General Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your comment. It is very rewarding to receive compliments from guests like you who have enjoyed their stay. Your feedback will surely motivate us to always strive and do better… :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 3 days after attending a 6 day Yoga Retreat at Villa Boreh near Tejakula. We wanted a change from our time by the sea. What an amazing place - an absolutely wonderful luxurious Resort with the most beautiful views of the surrounding plantation and over the mountains towards the sea. The food was really good and the service excellent. Most of the staff spoke English well and nothing was too much trouble. The reception staff were excellent. Our Villa (No 3) was really wonderful - lovely view and surrounded by beautiful landscaped gardens - large and very well set out for friends sharing - plenty of space and the two separate hand basins and wardrobes were appreciated. The infinity pool was amazing, but rather cold for swimming. I would suggest some sort of heating would really be appreciated. It is rather chilly at night and in the morning and I would have liked to have warmer clothes for this part of our trip. We had a couple of treatments in the Spa - really enjoyed them and the prices were so reasonble. I only have a couple of criticisims - to get to our Villa we had to climb down 60 stairs ! and the very long/steep ramp from the car park to Reception caused me some problem. I have arthritis in both knees and one hip and so found the steps a little difficult. Also to get to the Spa one had to walk down 137 stairs. There was nothing about the stairs on the website, nor were we told of this when we made our booking. I know this resort is on a mountain, but previous knowledge would have been appreciated. Villas 1 to 5 have stairs to them, but the Garden Suites and the Suites above the Resturant would have been more appropriate for me. I would suggest that if you are older or have any mobility problems, you make sure this Resort is for you. Another problem we had - we booked a Botanical Gardens Tour - our driver spoke very little English and we were disappointed that he could not answer any of our questions - we would have liked some information about the area we were going through and where we were going and for how long - it seemed that he was a driver only - no extra service. He was very pleasant and apologized for his lack of English, but for $45USD we expected more personalized service.

Room Tip: Villas are fabulous/the best if you don't have mobility problems - otherwise go for the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Arriving at Munduk Moding plantation is like entering in a different world made of peace an relaxation!
The view is striking, the therapists have magical hands that will guive your back and body a new life.
You can enjoy drinks and tea time wherever you want in the garden and hence completely feel at home. The service is quiet and delicate and the welcome is warm and nice.
The rooms are really confortable and the food offered very good.

A unique place for honeymoon or just to feel good together.

Room Tip: Even the garden suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gobleg
4.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
22.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sanak Retreat Bali
Sanak Retreat Bali
#1 of 1 in Kayuputih
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munduk Moding Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munduk Moding Plantation

Property: Munduk Moding Plantation
Address: Jl. Asah Gobleg Banjar Dinas Asah | Banjar Buleleng Singaraja, Gobleg 81152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gobleg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Gobleg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Munduk Moding Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munduk Moding Plantation Nature resort & Spa (MMP) is the only boutique hotel in Bali located on a working coffee plantation producing its own specialty coffees.MMP has some of the best views on the Island as well as an award winning infinity pool. Spread out over 5 hectares and nestling in luxuriant gardens full of tropical flowers and plants, our villas offer unparalleled privacy. Guests can enjoy a beautiful Jacuzzi, a unique Bamboo Spa and Hall, a gym, a tennis and badminton court, horse riding, a sky lounge with a comprehensive library and games room while the MiMPi restaurant serves food made with fresh ingredients from our vegetable and spice gardens. Free Internet, an extensive activity program as well as a shuttle service to nearby places of interest are available on a complementary basis for in house guests. Strategically located near Bali's central lakes and Munduk hill station, this European-Indonesian partnership works to preserve the natural environment in unison with the local community, which it supports through its Munduk foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munduk Moding Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munduk Moding Plantation Hotel Gobleg
Munduk Moding Plantation Bali/Gobleg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing