We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not the best place ever, but great staff, great value&location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not the best place ever, but great staff, great value&location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I went down to Rehoboth beach for about a week with my girlfriend. The visit started out great, although I arrived at like 5am they hadnt given my room away or anything. The guy at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The bed was a king and it was real comfortable. The room had it's own A/C controls which is always a big thing for me because not every hotel has it set up that way. I like it cold. There was always plenty of parking around, it was never a far walk into the hotel. At the same time the location was great, it was like 5-10 minutes from the beach. It also shares a parking lot with a Cracker Barrel which was nice and it allowed for even more parking. The whole place was pretty clean overall, and it was a great experience overall.

On the downside, the TV was really out of date. It was like a huge tube TV from the late 90s. The remote was some aftermarket piece of junk and not all the channels worked or sometimes they randomly cut out. One of the lights in the room over the 2nd sink didn't work unless you waited like 30 minutes or flicked the switch several times. They had several vending machines but they were almost all out of water or they wouldnt accept my dollar bills or even my quarters and I had to explore several floors before finding a vending machine with a credit card slot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    42
    56
    43
    67
See reviews for
83
53
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I decided to get the King Suite room, two bathrooms, jacuzzi bath in one and it is clean and you are not paying for a bunch of extras. It is very close to all three outlets.

Good for families with children, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have children the suites are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonidor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel through priceline's name your own price function...ended up getting this dump because it was the cheapest. I wish I had read reviews before I had. The room we got was run down, and despite getting a non smoking room, everything reaked of smoke...even the hair dryer filter when I turned it on to use it. The handle to flush the toilet kept falling off....and I swear the toilet paper was actually sand paper. Girl came to service room at 9 am. ..we went event dressed yet. She reluctantly forked over a few fresh towles and a tip envelope. Are you kidding me? The continental breakfast was a joke so we ended up going to the store to get food. When we opened upb the refrigerator to put it in, it smelled musty. Room was also missing a clock, so we never knew what time it was. I paid 47 a night and feel like that was too much... not the great deal I thought it was going to be. I can't imagine people paying 3 times that during peak season. Skip this one if you can....it's not worth the savings.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Harrisburg
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We travelled to Rehoboth Beach for a friend's birthday party recently. This hotel was in close proximity to everywhere we wanted to go and had a good rate of $49 a night for king size room.
(We did stay in January so it was off-season for a beach resort area!)

The place was clean and the staff friendly. There was nothing fancy about it. The furnishings and décor were old, but not damaged or in disrepair. The free breakfast was the typical fare: bagels, little store bought muffins & donuts, coffee, etc. There is a Cracker Barrel restaurant in the front lot within easy walking for those who preferred and didn't want to drive.

We had no problems or issues. The place is probably packed with families in the summer during beach season and if you're looking for simple, basic, & cheap to sleep while spending all day at the beach this place probably fits the bill!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PABucsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach Bottom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband Bob and I had a late Honeymoon weekenat at the beach around labor day this year
the only problem was we hit senior week and the lodge was packed with students. Our view was of the side parking lot, the pool was relaxing,plenty of towels. The only problem was at night ,loud young people in the halls, but they did quit at 11.00 clock pmWe enjoyed the breakfast and coffee all day.It is a bargain for a short time. We had been there before and had a view of the pool and it was
. Also a good family place, cracker barrel is right next door.We spent a lot of time at Lewes on the beach, watching the Lewes Ferry making its trip across the bay. Would stay there again

Room Tip: Try not to go on senior week for college students and their party time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed in this hotel and I would not recommend it to anyone. While the staff was very friendly and helpful the suit had a bad odor, the bathroom smelled so bad the door had to remain shut not to mention the carpet needs a good scrubbing. The breakfast was very disappointing unless you only want bagels and cereal. The picture and description on the web is deceiving. One night was enough for me I will not go back there I was very disappointed and will not go back to this hotel again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
740 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Came into hotel grounds, and noticed many housekeepers on different levels on the hotel.

Then came into the lobby whereby was not greated at all by front desk, I asked for an early check-in noting that the check-out time was 11am, knowing in my experience how long it takes for housekeeping to flip a room over (20-30 minutes), Erica NASTY person, tells me, "there are no rooms available...we have 125 rooms that need to be cleaned...but I can put you in a suite for an extra charge...". Then another lie on top of all of that, she tells me, "the housekeeper JUST got here, and she's gone..."!

Clearly knowing this woman was a complete LIAR, I didn't let this go, calling her out, whereby she kept blowing me off, and even fessed up to the fast "yes I am blowing you off...YOU CAN LEAVE, and call me back between 1-2pm". Not appreciating the nastiness of her lies and her pointing to the door, and after 5 minutes or so of this BS, I told her I'm going to go look myself, whereby Erica replies "if you do, I'm going to call the cops.., then radios the housekeepers the same (wow I thought the housekeepers were gone per her). I walk down both sides of the 1st floor and notice 4-5 rooms cleaned and ready to go on same side to the lobby and then the other street side many rooms also available.

I come back and at this time another guest was standing at front desk, I ask Erica, WHY she was lying to me, as I had suspected all along! She tells me how she's going to call the cops again; I walk outside to call ChoiceHotels to change me to another hotel, come back in and I ask her once again to either check me in or I'm leaving, she comes back with her threats again to call the cops (OVER WHAT to check in early?), and she calls me "CRAZy..crazy we have no rooms available..", I completely lost it once she got personal with me, and threw business cards at her, whereby she came around the desk and put her hands on me, whereby I had to defend myself!

WIthin a minute the "acting manager" comes in and asks me "what are you trying to check in"...

What type of staff assaults guests because they want an early check-in and another question WHY is Erica even still working at this hotel? She clearly likes like the director in charge of everything! Worthless, nasty, mentally challenged herself clearly; once you get personal with someone cards are off the table!


STAY AWAY seriously from this dumpy looking place staff are rude and nasty CLEARLY!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammyBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Bea...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#21 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#6 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Resort

Property: Econo Lodge Resort
Address: 19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Econo Lodge Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing