We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“WORST HOTEL EVER” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Resort
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

If your a non smoker don't even try to stay here. If you ask to change your room they will go out of their way NOT TO! Staff was very ignorant. Asked to speak to manager and received a snippy reply of not available. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank overkill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    43
    59
    43
    70
See reviews for
86
55
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Should have turned around when the clerk did not want bothered to check us in. I asked twice where the elevator was and received mumbled answers. End of sidewalk blocked by vehicles had to carry luggage thru bushes. Room was nasty. Box springs stained badly and very old. Sheets stained. Mold around air conditioner. Room was outdated and nasty! Stained up chairs. Dirty carpet. Bathroom was disgusting.
Not expecting a lot for a $90 room but this was awful. Requested call from manager. Never received. Did comp us $50

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MulberryHollow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Glen Burnie, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've stayed here a few times but never with my kids. This time was a family vacation with my 6 year old and my 4 month old. The hotel itself is slightly run down. It's showing its age. The pull out couch was very uncomfortable and stained I would not let anyone sleep on it. The bathroom had mold on the floor the ceiling was rusted and starting to fall. The bathroom door was coming apart and the shower leaked. The wallpaper was coming off the wall in several places throughout the room. The curtains had holes in them. What totally redeemed this hotel was the fact that the staff was AMAZING. We traveled in a bit early and because of the baby they checked us in early. We realized the fridge was not working properly so I walked up to he front desk because our phones didn't work and before I walked back to the room there was someone there fixing it. They determined that because the people before us put crabs in it and it stunk and was not getting cold they would just replace it. With in 10 minutes we had a new fridge. I don't know if I would stay again but it wasn't too bad for the price. There is mini golf right down the street and shopping all around. The beach is about 10 minutes away. Very convenient location. For the most part it was clean and had a comfortable feel. Just needs some upgrades.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here last year and the rooms were way better then. Just a very average room. The beds were very uncomfortable this year and the room smelled like smoke. On the plus side then pool is very nice. I think next year we will be looking for a new place to stay. The location of this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking for an affordable hotel the Friday after July 4th 2013. Most of the hotels on the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk were booked or required a two to three night minimum. We planned to spend one day in Rehoboth then drive south to Ocean City the next day so we only needed one night and the Econo Lodge popped up with a low rate (considering other hotels in the area) and no minimums. On the plus side the hotel is located on Coastal Highway just behind a Cracker Barrel restaurant and directly across the street from a K-Mart. The Tanger Outlets are about a block or two away on both sides of Coastal Highway and are in easy walking or driving distance. There is a Walmart and other chain restaurants/stores/liquor outlets/banks nearby which are very convenient. The other positive is the bus stop just in front of the hotel parking lot (sign is located on a utility pole). You can board a DART bus (206, 205 etc.) that goes to the park and ride about half a mile away then transfer to the number 201 DART bus that will drop you right on the boardwalk. This bus runs late into the night and is very convenient as it allows you to avoid the traffic and parking woes on Rehoboth Avenue and surrounding streets.

Now as for the hotel itself, the property is older and well worn. We stayed in room 110 which faces the pool and a set of vending machines. The room had two double beds, box TV, hair dryer, coffee maker, and small mini fridge. Overall the accommodations were fine for what we needed. The room was clean, the bathroom sufficient and included plenty of towels. We took advantage of the continental breakfast in the morning which included cold cereal, mini doughnuts/cupcakes, bagels, coffee and tea. Again sufficient to get us going in the morning. Check in is 4pm and check out is 11am. There is plenty of free parking and since we used the bus we never moved the car until we were ready to go. There were a lot of kids on property and we later found out that there was a baseball tournament so many of the players and their families stayed in the hotel but this wasn't a big issue except that they crowded out the pool. BTW, the pool closes at 8pm.

So if you are looking for a simple, budget friendly room in a convenient location this will do the trick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was very nervous after reading the posts about the Econo Lodge. Sadly to say, we did see a couple of things that will probably keep me from booking here again. Obviously, when you book accommodations at "econo" anything, you know that you are taking chances. This hotel room is dorm room living at best.

I think it was a smoking room at one point because it has this other odor to cover up a previous odor. We have two queen mattresses and one resembles more of a bowl shape than a flat mattress. We did see two pretty big spiders (one inside, one outside) and I just killed a small roach in our bathroom. Of course, this means that we have to inspect EVERY nook and cranny of our luggage before we bring it back to the car - an extra 20 minutes I was NOT planning on. The linens, furniture, bathroom fixtures and pretty much everything in here is absolutely not top quality, rather old/dated/worn. There are severe gaps and cracks along moulding, doorways, etc., which would explain how the bugs are getting in. There is a decent gap in the corner of our hotel room door which allowed enough rain in (we had a nasty storm) which dampened the rug.

If you are looking for a place to just throw beach towels and crash while you enjoy the beach, then this is a decent place for the money (hence "econo"). The staff is helpful, the pool is clean, plenty of decent TV channels, and it's very conveniently located to shopping, outlets, big box, grocery, restaurants, etc. The continental breakfast will give you a decent cup of coffee and philly cream cheese on your bagel. If you are looking for top notch cleanliness, updated amenities, or 100% bug free living (it is summer you know), this is not the place for you.

It's a dorm room, not a hotel accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't go near pool, try to be on second or third floor, and bring bug spray and Febreze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this location, and although the room was clean and the location was decent, this hotel was by far no resort. The staff seemed annoyed by the patrons, and were only helpful if you caught them at the right moment. The indoor hallways had a funky odor and was thankful our room was an exterior room. The continental "breakfast" was sub-par and nowhere near filling. If you can afford to stay at a different location it will be worth the extra penny, though I am sure there are worse hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAwesomeSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Bea...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#7 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Resort

Property: Econo Lodge Resort
Address: 19540 Coastal Hwy, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-6120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Econo Lodge Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing