We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice staff, but the place is a little rough around the edges.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Resort
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Roswell
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice staff, but the place is a little rough around the edges.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This isn't a dive by any means, but needs some updating. My original reservation was for the Rodeway Inn next door, but somehow got routed to the Econo lodge.
The reservation requires 24 hours notice and I wasn't about to loose a days expenses. They were very nice, but wouldn't concede, so I kept the reservation.
The Rodeway Inn is nicer and the prices are comparable, so next time I'll be more careful when more than one place has the same address.

Room Tip: Nothing to add here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    43
    58
    43
    69
See reviews for
83
55
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is the closest to the many shops and restaurants in the area. The hotel staff was friendly and pleasant. They also were helpful in our choices for fast food and shopping. Even when it was apparent that it would be a hectic weekend at the hotel, the staff was still nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed here in March. Got a great off season rate. Our room and bathroom was generally clean. The front desk staff was very helpfull. There was a mix up in my reservation and they were more upset about it than I was. They did try to call in advance to retify but took care of it on the spot.

It an Econolodge, an older Econolodge. You get what you pay for. We got a great rate and got what we expected for that rate. No fluffy beds or down comforters. The breakfast was basic, but it was included. An unexpected feature is that the room we stayed in had a balcony. I could see staying here in the summer. The location is better than some higher priced hotels in the area. Over all, I think this motel was a very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATrainRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

It's cheap. I've stayed here a number of times with my girlfriend as an offseason drunken crash spot. We've never gotten bedbugs. Bathrooms are small and cheap, the handicapped ones are a bit bigger. The coffee in the rooms is terrible. Theres passable coffee in the lobby. It's a cheap motel, probably the cheapest in the area, obviously more in summer. What you see is what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel seemed clean overall. Our room was fairly clean. The carpet was really old and clearly the last guest had smoked in our no-smoking room (there was a plastic bag over the smoke alarm, and it still smelled smoky). The pillows were really hard. The breakfast was basic but the coffee was hot and there was oatmeal. The price was very good though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaK764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I come to Rehoboth a few weekends during the summertime and usually stay here or right near the beach. We've never had an issue here and always are accommodated, even late at night or when all the other Rehoboth hotels are booked. Oceanus Motel which is 2 blocks from the ocean, had bed bugs in July of 2011. I am terrified to stay anywhere in Rehoboth since then. I'm sure they run rampant, bouncing from hotel to hotel. Like I said, Econo Lodge has never given us a reason to not like them. There's a Cracker Barrel right across the parking lot & a Fractured Prune donut shop 2 minutes away on the same side of the road as Econo Lodge. If driving towards the beach, FP is on the right on the way there. So, there's two of our favorite breakfast joints in a 1/2 mile radius from the Econo Lodge & outlet shopping galore. We love Rehoboth and this is a great place to stay when you don't need the ocean view hotel & boardwalk right next door. Honestly, it's not too bad not being near the water/boardwalk considering almost everything in Rehoboth closes at like 9pm. Usually we go out to eat, walk the boardwalk, get dessert/play games & go back to the hotel. This is NOT a late-night town, that's for sure! And beware of bedbugs! I check for them everywhere we go, now, since the Oceanus Motel scarred us for life. Love you, Econo Lodge! Just make sure to keep your standards & cleanliness up so I can continue to write rave reviews about you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NB2395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

During the off-season, this is a great value. Convenient to the Outlets & restaurants; minutes from downtown Rehoboth Beach & Lewes. Room was comfortable, free breakfast was okay; staff friendly. We stay here every year in December, and will be back again.

Room Tip: This year we got one of the rooms on the 4th floor. It had a small balcony. It was quiet (as not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjcooper7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Bea...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#21 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Resort

Property: Econo Lodge Resort
Address: 19540 Coastal Hwy, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-6120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Econo Lodge Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing