We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, MD
13
Reviewed February 18, 2006

Basic clean room. Microwave and refrigerator a nice addition. The mattress was not comfortable. Blankets were not in good shape. Location was very convenient. The $1.50 safe charge is absurd.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for The Breakers Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 249 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Cleveland, Ohio
15
Reviewed January 5, 2006

Stayed here in June 2005 - The Breakers was decent in almost all categories. It is a 2-3 block walk to the beach so keep that in mind, but the point is you can walk.

Rooms are a good size but pretty spartan. This is not a luxury place by any stretch but with a separate bedroom and living area it worked well for my family (2 adults, 2 boys under 7).

Numerous good restaurants within walking distance. Recommend the coffee shop across the street for coffee and breakfast food as the hotel offers packaged danishes and bagels and bad coffee as a 'continental breakfast'.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2005

We stayed at the Breakers Hotel in early July. Overall a very nice experience- we would stay there again. This was our 5th visit to Rehoboth. We usually stay at The Atlantic Sands, but this year each of our teenagers brought along a friend so we needed more space, and could not do a Sat/Sat rental. We booked a Double Suite @The Breakers: 2 seperate bedrooms, living area w/pull out couch, kitchen space, large bath (whirlpool tub), balcony. The suite was large- plenty big enough for the 7 of us, and gave us enough room to spread out. Unfortunately, there was a heavy rain storm the third night, the window leaked in the master bed-room & the carpet got quite wet. I told the housekeeping staff we needed extra towels. They must have reported it because the front desk called and offered us a change of room or a discount- they could not have been nicer- we didn't even have to ask!
The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about, but adequate. Again the staff was great- they even offered a box to bring items back to our sleeping teenagers! The kids tried out the pool & exercise room- both clean, nothing exceptional but ok. We were used to staying right on the beach, but The Breakers is a short walk. Actually very enjoyable- gave us a chance to experience Rehoboth in a different way. The hotel was not outstanding, but definitely met our needs! The room was clean and up to date, and the staff certainly did their best to be friendly and professional.
Overall, we had a very pleasant vacation and were sorry when we had to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank deberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2005

My husband and two children stayed at Breakers for nights. The dirtiness of the hotel completely ruined my trip. My children are 2 and 5 and I did not even want them to walk on the carpeting barefoot. If you could even call it carpeting. We booked a suite and could not believe the price for such an unclean, uncomfortable room. The furniture was old and shabby looking. The bathroom was dirty beyond words. The musty smell was overwhelming. It is the worst room I have ever stayed in, not to mention one of the most expensive. The furnishings were unacceptable- they looked cheap and worn. The "continental" breakfast consisted of wrapped muffins in a musty conference room. The hotel staff was unhelpful and rude. I could not wait to go home. I would defintely not recommend this hotel under any circumstances.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank familyvaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2005

Loved the location of the hotel, walking distance to the beach and in downtown, near restaurants and shops. Hated the continental bkfast and to us the room had that beachy, musty odor. Nice size though and staff was very nice. We're trying something new this year.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank laurie1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
117
Reviewed July 13, 2005

Every year we look forward to spending a fun, relaxing week at the beach in Rehoboth, DE. Because of our work schedules this year, we decided we could only spend 4 days at the beach, so we booked a hotel room rather than renting a place for the week. We chose the Breakers after looking at their website, liking the location, and noticing that they were "pet friendly" (we liked the idea of bringing our small dog along on the trip rather than putting him in the kennel for the week).

We easily booked the room using their online reservation system, noting that we'd be bringing our pet along. Upon arrival, my wife and I were greeted by a rather unfriendly front desk staff, but we brushed it off thinking perhaps they were having a busy/bad day. We went up to our room on the 2nd floor. The room was a comfortable size, with 2 beds, and a terrace that looked out onto Lake Gerar across the road. There was a small refrigerator and coffee maker in the room, which was nice, but there were very few other amenities. There were 2 dresser drawers for the whole room and no closet. no hairdrier. no iron. no extras, etc. We unpacked what we could into the dresser drawers and left the rest of our things in the suitcase.

I took a walk upstairs to check-out the rooftop pool and workout room. It was a hot, 85 degree day; there was no one in the pool. The pool is on the top floor and is enclosed in a greenhouse-like glass room, where the air temperature was easily 100 degrees. Next door was the workout room with a treadmill, elliptical machine, and universal press. That room, too, was extremely hot and empty, with no A/C. I decided that was fine, since we were there to go to the beach, and not the pool.

When I got back to the room, I found my wife packing-up the things from the dresser. She said that the front office had called to inform us that they made a mistake, and that we needed to move to a "pet friendly room" on the first floor.

The room downstairs was unacceptable. It was the same size, but it smelled terrible -- like a damp, musty dog, and it had not been updated like our room upstairs. Some of the TV controls did not work, the A/C was an older, noisy unit, the bed blankets were old and matted, and there was loose dirt on the inside of the dresser drawers. The first floor room was also very dark and quite noisy from the cars on the street, in the parking lot, and from the recycle dumpsters that were only 50 feet away from our door. It was hard to believe that the hotel was charging $15/night extra to stay in a "pet friendly" room that was obviously not cleaned or updated like our previous room.

My wife and I quickly called the kennel in Rehoboth and made arrangements to put the pooch there for a few days so we could move back upstairs to the much more acceptable room.

Unfortunately, there are not too many hotels in Rehoboth that will accept pets, so it is nice that the Breakers provides that option for people who REALLY need it. But if you're not desperate to stay with your pet, I can't recommend the Breakers.
Overall, we had an OK stay, but for the money ($195 + tax / night) you can find more friendly and comfortable hotel options in Rehoboth Beach...

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2005

Clean and comfortable rooms, nice location. Comp breakfast (doughnuts, muffins, cereal, juice, coffee, etc...) in upstairs conference room. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jayy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
279 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
341 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Address: 105 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: $88 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakers Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach
The Breakers Hotel And Suites
Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing