We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job, but it is not the ultimate experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Does the job, but it is not the ultimate experience”
Reviewed May 4, 2009

The hotel location is convenient, and it has all the amenitiies of a beach hotel. However, it could use some improvements. Bed spreads and blankets are 100% polyester, towels and linnens are clean, but they have seen better days. I did not eat the continetal breakfast, considering that there are so many good places to eat brekfast within a 5 minutes walk. I have stayed there 3 times, because it is the th default hotel. I think I am ready for an upgrade to somthing a bit more upscale.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    84
    54
    27
    36
See reviews for
87
74
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pa
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2009

well, i am used to staying right on the beach but this was a last min trip with my wife and kids and close family, of couse i new it was not on the beach so that is not a complaint. being our first time there we took what we could find.. first surprise was when i was scolded for asking when i could park in the parking lot. once i got over that we head to our room. the rooms are outdated and need updating for what they charge. they were not dirty but sandy, and damp almost like it had rained inside the room. we had not even been to the beach yet and everything was all sand in our room. the rooms were dark and cramped i thought i had my sunglasses on all the time. next id have to say the worst part was the fact that if you wanted to workout in there so called gym, guess again,,,every machine that they had was broke,,i was amazed that they still left the door open to get in. well after the gym disappointment i figured id at least go in the indoor pool and swim laps,,it would have been safer and cleaner to just jump in the toilet in our room. unbelievable how dirty the whole area was and the temperature the indoor pool must have been 105 degrees with no ventilation, but not the water, that was cold and cloudy . this was not just for one day either, the workout room and pool had the same conditions for 4 days, broke and dirty. do not know but im pretty sure the stuff is still broke. i d have to say if you are going to stay at this beach, there is not much to chose from as far as hotels, i would leave this hotel as a last choice of either sleeping in my car for a few days or staying there. if my car had a shower id rate it a 5 star compared to this place. but once again it was last minute and nothing else was available

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surferdude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

First of all, let me say we love Rehoboth and stay there multiple times a year. We really like several hotels, but also like to try new places. The breakers is a place that we stayed VERY often when my wife and I were first dating. it was cheap, clean, and in a nice locations. The sands hotel took it over a few years ago and it is still nice, but less cheap, so we stay there less often. there is a charming little duck pond across the street and the hotel is a short walk from all that rehoboth has to offer. Get some Maryland crab soup at Arenas down the road.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GregCCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

It's a little dated and a little tired, but it's clean and convenient. And they allow you to bring a small dog for a $25 surcharge - so considering everything, it's reasonable.

We had a first floor room overlooking a park like setting - a pleasant balcony with two rusty chairs - just right for a cocktail and cigar.

Our neighbors - an animated, perforated, illustrated, extended multi-generational tribe from PA - congregated in their extensive collection of lawn chairs and pick up trucks tailgating in the concrete parking lot - so as not to loose that buzz running back and forth to the cooler for another Natty Light. Oh, wait a minute, they had the coolers in the parking lot too. They were out there drinking when we left for breakfast and still going at it when we went to bed. Now that's something you don't get at just any hotel!

The forty--something mom was memorable in a pair of short quite tight "Pink" shorts and a black lacy braziere, a cold beer in one hand and a Marlboro in the other. Wow - now that's something else you don't see at just any hotel! Absolutely unforgettable.

So, maybe it's the price point or maybe it's endemic in Rehoboth Beach (tho I doubt it) or maybe it was just our luck.

I'll stay there again - If I can't find another place that will let us bring our dog.

  • Liked — They let us keep our dog with us.
  • Disliked — Our really really really really skanky next door neighbors. Hic!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We planned the trip out of the blue, and checked with several hotels but could only find vacancy in this hotel. We wanted a king bed room but they only had a two double beds, which was fine. It was our first time in Rehoboth and we absolutely loved this town. The hotel was clean, efficient and very close to everything. By the way, since we are a gay couple we couldn't have asked for a better place, the gay bars, clubs, and restaurants are down the block and we felt very safe and comfortable. I also have to mention that the staff at the Breakers were very polite and helpful.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — No pool, no internet access
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OrNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Breakers is not a modern place, but with such a great location we didn't care. We were within walking distance of all the gay stores and clubs. We had a suite with a kitchenette and a big whirlpool tub/shower. The room had its own balcony with sliding doors, and a small sitting area/living room. It was clean and well-kept with no problems. The kitchen had a microwave, small fridge, sink, coffeemaker, and cabinets. There was a table and chairs, and plenty of lamps. A nice surprise was that there were two tv's. In the tiny living room there's a pull-out queen sleeper, but that would be a chore because you would have to move all the furniture to pull it out! The bedroom had two queen size beds, and a nice closet. There was another big closet in the hallway. We didn't get any breakfast there, and no one mentioned it to us. There is a rooftop pool people seemed to enjoy, but we didn't go up there.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — parking lot was tight
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrinacallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Let's face reality, everything in beach towns is WAY overpriced for what it is...that said, I was quite happy with my stay at The Breakers. Our suite was clean and looked recently (within a year or so) renovated. All promised ammenities were present and working. Parking was ample, which is a necessity in Rehoboth (they have meter attendants on patrol all day and night).

The location was perfect, one block from the main drag (Rehoboth Ave) and two blocks from the beach. We were in walking distance of restaurants, nightlife, and shopping. A definite plus when you don't want to lose your parking spot.

There is no restaurant on site - we were given free breakfasts at a hotel on the boardwalk, the food was decent, but the service there was less than stellar. Lunches and dinners were no problem because of the abundance of options all through town.

If you are expecting a four or five star resort, you won't find it here; what you will find is a property that is quite good for a typical overpriced resort town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overpriced - to be expected in this town
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Seawall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#15 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
640 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
333 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Property: The Breakers Hotel & Suites
Address: 105 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakers Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your The Breakers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel And Suites
The Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing