We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed at the Breakers with our Pet, on-night getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
New Castle, DE
1 review
“We stayed at the Breakers with our Pet, on-night getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The room had been recently remodeled. The room had two double beds which were very comfortable. There was a good amount of room in the main room, including the beds, a small table and chair It was wonderful that we were able to bring our dog with us (or an extra fee).

Off the back of the room was a nice balcony. Bathroom was not large, so I would not recommend our room for a handicapped individual. Also, there was no rail to hold on to while taking a shower or bath. I had a bad back, and leg and will need surgery soon. So, beiing unsteady on my feet, would have appreciated a The addition of a rail would have been benefiucial. My husband and I were surprised at the hardwood floors, probably due to dogs.

Had a wonderful time at the outlets, Funland, Boardwalk, and Arcades. All a few blocks away.

Room Tip: First floor was great and we were able to park right outside our rom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodaycraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    62
    44
    24
    31
See reviews for
67
56
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Apparently this hotel was once nice, it's not that way any more. The only decent part of the hotel is the lobby. The rooms are dark and depending on your cleaning lady not very well maintained. We left a day early because staying a day longer was just a nightmare. They refused to refund us for leaving early due to there dirty conditions. There is one elevator in the entire place and it is in a jammed up lobby. The fifth floor with the pool is a train wreck with carpet in some areas tile in some and unfinished floors in other areas. Just stay home!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kljones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Adana Province, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel had some poor reviews, but due to price, availability and location we booked anyway on sort of short notice. We have two boys and really needed a place to sleep while spending majority of our time out on the beach/boardwalk.
We were pleasantly surprised. Parking, pool and changing area made available to us prior to check in, the front desk attendant was very nice. When we finally got to our room -- it was clean and recently renovated. The breakfast buffet is in the sister hotel about two blocks away, but a wonderful value. We ate breakfast with an ocean view and had good service. One trick is that the buffet does not cover juice/milk...but hey, whatever, its vacation.
We recommend Breakers for a good hotel to base out of for a two block walk to the beach and boardwalk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anaclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I too, saw some negative comments, but we had a great week. maids were super friendly, renovations were evident (but not a problem), rooms were spotless, & pool was great. Sure the coffee machine in the lobby wasn't working, but ample coffee supplies were provided at the desk for use in rm. The view over the lake was nice from our balcony. We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Despite the negative comments made by previous guests, we have found our stay quite enjoyable. The accomodations are nice. We stayed in the 2 queen bed suite. It worked out nicely because we have a 2.5 year old and she slept in the bedroom while we watched TV in the living room.

The location of the hotel is a great place. It's a few short blocks to the beach and 2 blocks away from the main strip. You won't need your car once you get here. In fact, the hotel provides a chauffered surrey service. It was raining so we took the surrey to complimentary breakfast at the Sands. The breakfast was a fully stocked buffet and not just a continental breakfast. You just have to pay for milk and juice.

The only negatives would be cosmetic. It's clearly going to a remodeling phase, so it's not perfect but comfortable and on it's way to looking much nicer. The TVs are still tubes, but you don't really go to the beach to watch TV, right? The pool was functioning but missing a window ceiling panel. It also is under renovation but a nice amenity during a rainy day at the beach.

Overall, it was a nice stay and you pay for the convenience of location and ability to have a rental for less than a week. The small kitchenette (microwave, sink, and fridge) were just enough to help us feel comfortable for a few day. Additionally, the staff were very friendly and accomodating. I didn't see anyone being incompetent or unhelpful.

Just realize that you're at the beach and not at a luxury suite in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raerae906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at the Breakers the night before a business conference in Rehoboth Beach. I felt fortunate to find available rooms here because most of the other hotels in the downtown area were either full or priced to the max. I paid $179 on a Thursday night for what can best be described as an average/mediocre hotel.

The front desk area was pleasant enough, and the staff were nice. But the elevator was slow and dirty, and most if not all of the rooms have outward-facing doors, which is something I'm never too keen about. My room had two double beds and was quite warm even with the A/C kicked down all the way. I had a difficult time sleeping because of the noisy A/C and warm temperatures.

I checked out promptly at 7:30 to get to my meeting and didn't look back.

I would not really recommend this hotel to anyone unless you're looking for inelegant budget accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

One word: Feces. Our room smelled of feces. When I tried to tell the front desk AND even the manager later in an email, they said "Well, we upgraded you." And would not give me any kind of compensation.

Repeat: Feces. Poop. The room smelled of poop. It was disgusting. I could not wait to go home.

Room Tip: Rooms smell like poop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SPC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Property: The Breakers Hotel & Suites
Address: 105 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakers Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach
The Breakers Hotel And Suites
Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing