We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have gone to the Breakers about 4-5 times. They updated the rooms & combined with Atlantic Sands (on the boardwalk) since our first visit about 5-6 years ago. You pay extra when more than 2 adults stay in the room. The hotel price was a bit high, but we expected as much since we went during peak season and many other hotels were sold out. It's $3 to park & you can stay in the lot until 4:00PM even after you check out. They let us check-in an hour early.

Pros:
Rooms - we stayed in room 314 & had a small, private balcony. All rooms have a balconey, but 1/2 the rooms are not private balconies. It's a long 2 block walk to the beach, but we got complimentary umbrella & 2 chairs from the Atlantic Sands. You just have to be there early.
We had complimentary buffet breakfast, which was ok. Powered eggs & canned fruit on one side and handmade omelets on the other. The servers were very nice & you could look out into the boardwalk. Front desk was friendly.
Cons:
Indoor pool was horrible - it gets worse every time we visit. I forgot how small it was & it leaked when it rained (since the pool is on the roof)! The bathroom next to the pool was dirty & smelled - they must check on it regularly. The bathroom in the room was really small - if you are above average build, forget it. The sink is outside the toilet & tub, so after you use the toilet you use the same hands to open the door so you can wash your hands. Yuck. Linens were ok (blankets had holes in it), but room was small. The TV was so old and it was barely more than 18 inches. Seriously? Doors don't keep the noise out - we could hear people in the halls. We hardly spent any time in the hotel, so it was more annoying than a deal breaker.

Overall it's fine if you don't expect much and realize you are staying at a small beach. Maybe renting a place would be better in the future...

Room Tip: Tip - umbrellas & chairs is located in the side parking lot of the Atlantic Sands - not on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desilady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    72
    48
    25
    34
See reviews for
80
64
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

a friend of mine and our 2 4 year old daughters stayed here just for a night. We arrived 3 hours before the check in time but our room was ready and they let us in which was great for the kids who were tired after a long ride. the next day as we were heading to have breakfast (a buffet included in the price at a nearby restaurant. it was very good BTW), the front desk lady was waiting for me to let me know I had a flat tire. One of their maintenance employees help me with the spare tire replacement and it was very nice of the hotel to allow him do that while he was working. The suite we got faced the street but we did not have any problems with noise. The room was spacious and clean and we enjoyed having a separate small living room + a balcony area were we could chat after we put or daughters to bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel was a choice for a quick weekend for a charity pub crawl we attend each year. The room was right near the elevator, floors are tile, doors left and right, so anytime before 2 AM, we heard people talking loudly going to their rooms. For $500 plus for two nights, I thought it was sub-par. Learned my lesson again not to go with a non-chain hotel. Breakfast buffet, by the way, is three blocks down on the boardwalk. Not a quick bite downstairs. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rudywrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Breakers has some nice features that you don't get with all the Rehoboth motels: free breakfast buffet (with eggs, bacon, made-to-order omelettes, fruit, etc. - a $11 value per person per day) and free beach umbrella and chairs (a $20 value per day), and free internet. The rooms are nice and include a fridge and microwave, and the bathrooms are clean and recently updated. And the staff is really nice and helpful. The only negatives that I can think of are: a healthy hike to the beach (10 minute walk?), early morning noise from the recycling station nearby, and noise from the nearby fire station. We wanted to stay past the 11 am check-out without paying for a whole extraq day, and they offered us three options: noon check-out (free), 1 pm check-out (an extra $40), or 6 pm check-out for half the cost of the room (weekday rate, fortunately!). We chose the half-day. It was nice to hae options that met our needs, and we were able to get in a whole beach day and still shower and change in comfort. We will definitely return to The Breakers on future visits to Rehoboth.

Room Tip: They all have a little balcony, but no real view to make to worth spending time out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andyb575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel has been operating for years...we were quite surprized how nice the rooms were. Small refrigerator and microwave in each room was quite a bonus. Rooms clean and bright. Nice view of lake. Small rooftop pool, but great location. Of course, the price was higher than what we wanted to pay, but it was prime season.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meesha56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We decided to stay here because they had reasonably priced two suite rooms. We have a baby and toddler, and wanted to have separate bedrooms for them. The room was clean and quiet. We never heard our neighbors during our stay. The room could be in better shape. There were stains in the carpet, one of our blankets had a hole in it, and tiles in the bathroom had rust stains. The AC was adequate and kept our rooms very cool.

As many reviewers have said, it is a long 2 blocks to the beach. Probably about a 10 minute walk if you're being leisurely. It is a good location near restaurants on Baltimore and Rehoboth Aves. By the hotel, we liked Dos Locos and Arenas for being family friendly, and the food was tasty.

It was inconvenient to have to go to the sister hotel for breakfast. We would pack everything for the beach since the Atlantic Sands is right on the boardwalk. You can get umbrellas and chairs from the Atlantic if you're staying at Breakers, but they had run out of chairs when we came at 10 am on a Saturday. Then on a Sunday, they were out of chairs/umbrellas by 10. The breakfast buffet was ok, It was good enough that we ate there during our stay a few times. There was scrambled eggs, french toast sticks, home fries, biscuits and gravy, omelets to order (which were good), fruit, etc. They charged you $3 for juice or milk, which seemed silly.

We weren't able to do an early check in, but they let us park when we arrived. We were able to do a late check out of noon. The staff was courteous and helpful at both hotels.

Overall, don't expect anything fancy. It did meet our needs though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe-tine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The room was clean, quiet, located relatively close to the beach, staff was friendly. The room is definitely dated - older tvs and the beds were not very comfortable. They do have the best pillows and give you plenty of them. Air conditioning was nice and cold. They need new fitted sheets on the beds as they seem to fall off easily exposing the bare mattress (which is kind of yucky when you're in a hotel). But, overall, it was a pleasant stay. I wasn't thrilled about walking two long blocks to their sister hotel for breakfast especially first thing in the morning, but the breakfast itself was decent and there was a very nice selection. There is a balcony, which was nice to have since we are smokers (there is no smoking in the rooms). They don't have a fitness center, but they do have a sister affiliate that will charge you $4 a day, and it's a bit of a walk from the hotel. This is not a five star hotel, but it was reasonably priced and sufficient for what we needed. We would go there again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor near the corner of the building. It was very quiet where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laffinbuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Property: The Breakers Hotel & Suites
Address: 105 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2283
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakers Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Breakers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach
The Breakers Hotel And Suites
Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing