We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Elegant chinese restaurant in Rehoboth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Confucius Chinese Cuisine

Confucius Chinese Cuisine
Ranked #60 of 269 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elegant chinese restaurant in Rehoboth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

After stumbling across this restaurant 2 years ago, we now make a point to visit every year. This is definitely NOT you typical 'chinatown' fare. The food is fresh, the menu is inventive, and the ambiance is quiet and subdued. The thin skin pork dumplings with cilantro are superb, and the mango shrimp is fantastic. When we first stood outside reading the menu it seemed a bit pricey for chinese food, but a couple leaving said 'just go in, the food is fantastic' and I couldn't agree more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OurJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    47
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't Go Back to Takeout Now!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a delicious celebratory dinner and are stuffed! The Thin-Skin Pork Dumplings were out of this world! Didn't even need dippy sauce, either. The Salt & Pepper Calamari was delish, but the peppers way too hot for my taste. General Tso's Chicken is bangin without the sauce...coating was not too thick, not too thin so basically perfect. And _real_ chicken--not mystery tidbits entombed in some crazy batter. Mu Shu Pork was good. Hunan Beef was best ever. Go mid-week off-season is the perfect time to go. Service was very good. Can't wait to go back! And yes the floor, walls & funky-angled ceiling amplify sound so it's quite loud even when it's not rascious. A bit pricey but worth making a regular pilgrimage.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RehoSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Large portions and excellent General Tsao!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This rating is purely for the General Tsao's chicken since that was all that we sampled. Between the three of us (ladies), two entrees of General Tsaos was plenty. The prices are high but if you share entrees, it's very affordable. We did take out and ate on the benches overlooking the beach. Take out gives you a 10% discount. The chicken was breaded perfectly, not too much and not too little. The sauce was also perfect - sweet and just lightly spiced. Highly recommend this place!

FYI, the inside is very cute. I imagine dining in would be really nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DayTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good choice in Rehoboth Beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a minimal wait the night we were there; it's off the main drag and maybe Chinese is off the radar of the beach crowd? It shouldn't be though; the decor of the restaurant is sleek and elegant, staff is friendly, and the food is good. I found the food a bit salty for my taste but the other people in my party (husband and kids, age 16, 11 and 7) loved it and thought everything was delish.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flipnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Food is excellent, but like nearly all gourmet restaurants, portions aren't as hearty as one would like.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confucius Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Confucius Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing