We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The line out the door tells all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Treat

Royal Treat
Ranked #1 of 27 Dessert in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Maryland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The line out the door tells all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

If you want a great breakfast place this is it. There is always a line waiting to get in. Everything is good but would recommend the pancakes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank columbiatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    55
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Love this place! Great breakfast - especially the pancakes, though many love the French toast too. Highly recommend getting there at opening (8 AM) if you want a seat on the screened front porch.

Helpful?
Thank Hurlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg PA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The most perfect breakfast in Rehoboth Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The service is always excellent, the food is wonderful. They must have the largest eggs, because a generous portion is described as 3 eggs, but it's more than a meal. French toast, coffee, bacon, all made to perfection. A trip to the Royal Treat is a must for my visits to the area. They've been around for 31 years, so they must be doing something right. Two big screen-in porches make the experience even more memorable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank USTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We All Scream for Royal Treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is by far my favorite ice cream place at the Delaware shore. Hershey ice cream is delicious with hard-to-find flavors like my very, very favorite peppermint stick and cappucino crunch. A kid's cone or kid's sundae is more than enough for this adult ice cream lover, and regular-sized portions are quite generous. Our group frequently order root beer floats which bubble over the top and are soooo yummy. Not to be missed is the hot fundge sundae - they line the glass dish with dark or milk hot fudge and the ice cream just settles in for you. Excellent! Given my lactose & cholesterol issues, I rarely splurge on such decadence, but when I do, Royal Treat is worth the wait! Sadly, they are open just for the summer season, but we look forward to each summer. There is also an icy cold jug of free water with cups around the side. Service is generally friendly and helpful. If you can snag a seat on the porch, it is great atmosphere, too. We've never made breakfast, but friends have liked it for years.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aplace4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First time in Rehoboth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great family atmosphere. Loved the porch. Ordered the creamed chip beef over potatoes. Potatoes were a little burnt but chipped beef was good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Treat also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Royal Treat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing