We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Gem”
Review of Canalside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canalside Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mechanicsburg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What A Gem”
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I, my husband, & our dog stayed here for a weekend getaway. We absolutely loved the place & look forward to staying again. We were on the first floor & I believe it was room 4. It was decorated beautifully & all the comforts of home. The owners were away the weekend we were ther but the gentleman that was taking care of the place was an absolute delight. I cannot say enough goof things about this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsnylvr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    59
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
18
128
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

My beach house was rented and I needed a place to stay for one night. I have noticed this place for years so I thought I would give it a try. The guys who run it do a great job. The room and bath room was a moderate size - not too big but not small either. The hot tub was very nice and the small pool looked nice too (it was too chilly to go in). They put out a nice breakfast. The community room is well appointed with flat screen TVs and a computer. It's a good walk to the bars and restaurants in town (not too far). It's in a quiet location along the ... you guessed it ... canal. I will definitely send friends to stay here when my beach house is full or unavailable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorro98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We decided we were finally going to take our much needed vacation to Rehoboth Beach and started searching for places to stay. After looking at a few over-priced and low quality hotels we found the Canalside Inn. The rooms are amazingly clean and decorated. It was like living in Pier 1 imports for 4 days. The location was absolutely amazing too, Canal St is right off the beginning of Rehoboth Ave. From their we took a taxi whereever we wanted for about $6 + tip. The owners did not seem to friendly, but it didn't matter because we rarely saw them. Make sure to bring your room keys with you all the time. They're suppose to lock the outside door at 11, but one night we came home at 7:30 and it had been already locked. Pool and hot tub were still closed, but it looks too small anyway. We highly recommend the canalside inn, beautiful place with unbelievable rates!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFarmersGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I have been going to Rehoboth my whole life and know the town very well. It's funny that I never knew about The Canalside Inn before this visit. We booked a room based mostly on their pet policy and had an amazing experience. The hotel is spotless, rooms were well decorated (believe the photos on the website), and the staff were great. Nice sheets/towels. Rooms are well equipped (mini-fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, beach towels, etc.). The breakfast area /lounge is really exactly what you want...coffee and fruit, yogurt,danish, bagels, etc. We did not get a chance to use the beach chairs and bikes. It's a great setting and a well-run establishment...literally no complaints. We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2009

In my opinion the service was excellent and the room was bright, clean and very comfortable. I like the location which is both walkable to the Rohoboth night life while being tucked away along the canal providing for quiet nights and quiet mornings. I love the front porch and its very plush comfortable furnitiure. Steven and Rick are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachboy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware County, PA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Don't be put off by Steve - especially if you're a guy. He doesn't take so well to us girls, but he's bearable. The worst was when he locked my friend and I out on the pool deck late one night where we were quietly talking and dipping our feet in the hot tub (great hot tub) without even saying "goodnight, I'm locking you out." Nope. Not a word. Fortunately one of us had our keys. The place is great though. You can bring your dogs - they have a great better than continental breakfast with good coffee, bagels, danish, etc., etc. What the heck more could you want? The place has never been "dirty." Stained here and there a bit sometimes, what place isn't - but not damp and not dirty. The first floor rooms are stunning. Did you know you can take your dogs down to the state beach?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fergoosin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Great Innkeepers! We can't understand the bad reviews this place got! We loved the Inn. It is located near the main drag, not in the center of town just the way we like it. The place was extremely well appointed. We had one of the most relaxing weekends ever at this inn. Rehoboth is a great town for bike riding. We brought our own bikes along. However, we had flat tires and a broken pump. Steve pumped up our tires for us with the inn's compresser and we were off! We brought our dog along and felt right at home. We had a nice place to sit and eat our take out dinner and breakfast was ample, fresh fruit hit the spot. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finerflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
597 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,747 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalside Inn

Property: Canalside Inn
Address: 34 Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canalside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Often referred to as The Nation’s Summer Capital, the beautiful Rehoboth Beach offers friendly hospitality partnered with a relaxed pace. When you’re looking for a place to stay in Rehoboth there is no better place than at Canalside Inn. Canalside Inn offers a contemporary boutique style inn exclusively for adults. Canalside Inn offers our guests a casual and contemporary boutique-style inn, which stands out as a cut above the ordinary. Sophistication, style, and affordability are how our guests often describe our inn. Conveniently nestled across from the picturesque Lewes-Rehoboth Canal, Canalside Inn is just a short walk from the center of town, the boardwalk, or the beach. The best way to start your day is with our complimentary Continental Breakfast featuring juice, freshly brewed coffee, tea, yogurt, fresh fruit, and a tempting assortment of muffins served daily in our downstairs living room. Feel free to enjoy your breakfast at our community dining table, poolside, on the front porch, or the privacy of your room. It is our goal at Canalside Inn is to provide a relaxed atmosphere and causal environment for every one of our guests and we are more than happy to aid you in any way during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canalside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalside Inn Rehoboth Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing