We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Canalside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canalside Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
washington, dc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed October 12, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Canalside Inn during an impromptu beach trip last summer. We had pretty low expectations, based off the websiste. But it came highly recommended by a colleague- and the price was reasonable so we took our chances.

Firstly, the website does not do this place justice. It is very quaint and decorated well. The rooms and the inn were very clean (which is important to me). The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was sufficient, there was ample parking, and we even utilized the jacuzzi and pool during our stay. Our breakfast experience was fine: we were expecting a continental breakfast and found plenty of muffins, danishes, coffee and juice.

The Innkeeper was present for our arrival and our checkout. And while he wasn't very friendly, he was helpful to us. He provided us with a parking pass to drive down to the beach and offered restaurant suggestions and gave us a map of Rehoboth. There was a (minor) problem w/ our room when we checked in, and once we brought it to his attention it was addressed immediately. I'm actually glad to hear that he wasn't as friendly to other guests, as we weren't sure if we should take it personal or not. He seemed to be pretty much running the place by himself, so we chalked the lack of hospitality up to stress. But then again, if you want a lot of hospitality, it would likely require hiring additional staff, thus driving up the rate of the hotel.

Again, I would definitely recommend this place to others and I would stay again next time we go to Rehoboth for a quick weekend getaway. You get what you pay for, and I think that this was a value.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kam1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    57
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
16
128
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 19, 2005

First of all, you need to know what to expect. This is not a bed and breakfast. It is a very pretty, quaint motel which provides a continental breakfast in the morning. As long as you know that, you will not be disappointed. The bedroom we had (11) was lovely and very nicely decorated in a british countryside decor. The bath products were lovely and the bathrobes provided were quite nice. The bed was comfortable and had better than average quality sheets. In the morning there was a little table with a few storebought danishes and coffee and orange juice you could get and then sit on the porch and enjoy. There was no friendly face or innkeeper and the place seem largely deserted. We spoke with the "innkeeper" steve and told him we wouldn't be arriving until late (possibly 11pm) friday because we had to leave after work. He assured us he would be there. We arrived at ten and the place was completely dark. our key and a letter was in the front mailbox so we let ourselves in. The letter told us our room number and informed us we would have to complete check in in the morning and that breakfast was from 8-10am. we saw our room, used the jacuzzi (which was quite small, but nice) and turned in. We went downstairs at around 8:30 to get breakfast and check out since we wanted to hit the beach, but steve once again was absent. there was a note on his office saying he would be back. There was no breakfast room, just a small table in the entry way that had the danishes. we grabbed a danish and coffee went upstairs and sat on our balcony. finally at 9:30 we didn't want to wait any longer so we decided to just slip the key under the door. of course, just as we did this and got into our car, he showed up, looking surprised that we were leaving without checking out! i just thought this was very unprofessional, but we checked out and left. there was no mention of the beach towels and chairs (or bikes) mentioned on the website, even though we asked him how to get to the beach. that being said, it was a very short 5 block walk had we wanted to walk, but we drove since parking is free after the 15th.
i know this is a lengthy review, but the bottom line is if you are looking for the quinessential bed and breakfast, go elsewhere. if you want a quiet, clean, and nice motel with continental breakfast for a relatively inexpensive rate, the Canalside is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 7, 2005

Tucked away in the quiet, serene area alongside the canal, the Canalside Inn features country charm highlighted by a tasteful decor and furnishings. Little touches like the cozy terry cloth robes on the back of the bathroom door and the continental breakfasts were nice, although you’d better get up before everyone else on weekends because it’s first come, first served; no replenishments due to the absence of the innkeeper. And don’t expect a friendly face there to greet you upon arrival, as the innkeeper is often off the premises on weekends, so there is no “welcome wagon” here. But rest assured that when it’s time to check out, he’s ready and waiting to gladly accept your credit card. My experience was that upon attempting to engage this individual named Steve at checkout time, his noticeably social ineptness, or maybe just disinterest in conversing left me cold. Throughout the transaction, he remained expressionless and quite silent despite my politeness toward him. If you can get beyond that, and the fact that you will likely not be thanked for your patronage, (I wasn't), you'll enjoy the stay. But if you don't like being left with the feeling that you were an unwelcomed visitor, or that your wallet is the only welcomed aspect of your stay, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 16, 2005

We just stayed at Canalside Inn...it is off the beaten track; a small but multi-unit establishment tucked away in a quiet, mostly residential neighborhood. A nice if long walk to the beach in cool weather; too far to walk in blistering heat, in our opinion. The place is totally pleasant: new, very tastefully decorated, clean. Balconies with chairs. Tiny pool; hot tub. Pretty basic breakfast (coffee, muffins, juice). Something just a teeny bit odd about the place, but we couldn't put our finger on it; wouldn't keep us from recommending it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We have stayed here many times (10+) over the last three years. We've also stayed in a couple of the hotel/motels on Route 1, and a lower-end motel in town. We find that in the balance, this place is very good value for money, although the prices have gone up a bit this year. The rooms are pretty and clean - we stay in the 'superior' rooms upstairs in the front, overlooking the canal, but all the rooms are nice. The area is quiet, which is a huge plus for us. We can walk to town for dinner, but are not right in the middle of all the summer madness. (We go to the state park beach, so walking to the beach is not a concern for us - you certainly could walk to the town beach, however it would take about 20 minutes.) We also like that this place does not allow young children. The continental breakfast is just that - a continental breakfast - a nice way to grab a quick bite without having to go out. The pastrys are fresh and they usually have some other things as well, fruit and/or yogurt. The hot tub is lovely and the pool is a small dipping pool - nice for a quick dip on a hot day. Its not a pool for kids, but the place doesn't allow kids, so that is fine. Like the rest of Rehoboth, this hotel is gay friendly, but we see both gay and straight couples here.

Every time we decide to go to Rehoboth we look at hotels on Route 1 to 'save money' and decide that the extra drive to town and the generic room isn't worth the $25 or so we'd save by staying there. And I haven't really found anything comparable in town for cheaper. Most of the other B&Bs are more expensive, and have a two-night minimum. I'm constantly surprised that this place isn't fully booked all the time.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2004

We stayed at the Canalside Inn Rehoboth for two nights (Sept 23-24) after making an impulsive decision to head to the beach one beautiful Thursday afternoon.

We arrived at the hotel at around 9 pm. We had not called ahead to make reservations because we were not sure where we'd want to stay. We didn't want rowdy crowds, we didn't want to be too far from the action and we didn't want to stay on the highway. This inn seemed a perfect compromise. We had to call the owners' cell phone (number was posted on the front door) so that we could see if there were rooms available. The owners met us at the Inn within 5 minutes, and we were able to secure a room for two nights a very reasonable $105 (Thurs) and $115 (Fri).

The Inn is cute and well cared for. The linens are high quality and freshly laundered. We were given Room #2, which is on the lower level (there are two levels). I am a neat freak, and I must admit the room was spotless. Even the bathroom was spotless (and hairless!).

We settled in for the night, and we strated to hear snoring. REALLY LOUD snoring. It was annoying, but we were tired and happy to be in a clean room so we made sure the AC would stay on to drown out the noise. I am not a light sleeper, but the walls are not well insulated so I heard the snoring once the AC eventually turned off. Now maybe the man who was snoring was impossibly loud, but we could hear him like he were in the room with us. That is not a plus.

The Continental Breakfast consisted of coffee, good OJ, melon and store bought pastries like danish and donuts. Not bad, but not great. The best part was sitting in a big rocker on the front porch and enjoying the quiet morning.

The Inn does have a hot tub and pool on the back deck, but both are quite small. They did, however, look exceptionally clean. We did not use either so I don't feel qualified to comment further.

The inn is tucked away in a residential area on 6th and Canal, but getting to the boardwalk is an easy bike ride away. The Inn provides bikes so that made it simple to get to the beach and all the action.

The owners were wonderfully nice and helpful without being overly attentive. The location makes it easy to shop at the outlets and get to the beach. The Inn is a great respite from the other options on the beach. It's quiet and out of the way (good things for us), but the walls are thin (bad thing). I would go back if I had the chance to have a corner room with no one in the room next door.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank politicalbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalside Inn

Property: Canalside Inn
Address: 34 Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canalside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Often referred to as The Nation’s Summer Capital, the beautiful Rehoboth Beach offers friendly hospitality partnered with a relaxed pace. When you’re looking for a place to stay in Rehoboth there is no better place than at Canalside Inn. Canalside Inn offers a contemporary boutique style inn exclusively for adults. Canalside Inn offers our guests a casual and contemporary boutique-style inn, which stands out as a cut above the ordinary. Sophistication, style, and affordability are how our guests often describe our inn. Conveniently nestled across from the picturesque Lewes-Rehoboth Canal, Canalside Inn is just a short walk from the center of town, the boardwalk, or the beach. The best way to start your day is with our complimentary Continental Breakfast featuring juice, freshly brewed coffee, tea, yogurt, fresh fruit, and a tempting assortment of muffins served daily in our downstairs living room. Feel free to enjoy your breakfast at our community dining table, poolside, on the front porch, or the privacy of your room. It is our goal at Canalside Inn is to provide a relaxed atmosphere and causal environment for every one of our guests and we are more than happy to aid you in any way during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canalside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalside Inn Rehoboth Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing