We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
123
63
17
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
63
17
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastbagelsquiet areafrench doorsoff seasonsmall poolshared balconymini fridgepool and hot tubfirst floorneeded a place to stayking roomdogfish headflat screen tveach morninglong weekenddogs
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 220 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We booked a weeklong stay at the Canalside Inn for the week of the 4th
of July. After looking at pictures online of the beautifully decorated
rooms and reading "the Canalside Inn, a casual and contemporary
boutique-style Inn, stands out as a cut above the ordinary. Sophistication,
style, and affordability define the Canalside Inn," we decided to give it
a try.

Well, our room looked nothing like what was shown online. Our carpet
was filthy--not just stained but dirty -- I think it matched the chair.

The room was damp and had a basement feel. We asked Steve the innkeeper
if he had any other rooms, and he replied no.

We then met a few people who were staying in (and checking out of the
next day) the room next door. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL.

We asked Steve, since they were checking out the next day, if we could
switch to that room.

No. Someone already requested it.

And did I mention that Steve gives new meaning to the word unfriendly?

When we complained about the room again he said "people spill coffee on
carpets you know," and then said he'd steam clean it.

OK, that should have been done way before we got there and in my
opinion would be a mess at this point--you know how long carpets take to
dry. Plus we had our dog with us so we couldn't leave him in the room
while it was cleaned (and before you say we had a "pet room" the guys in
the beautiful room next door also had their dog with them.)

Long story short, Steve finally said he'd refund the rest of our money
and after luckily finding another room (less the 4th of July because
everyone was booked by now) we took him up on it.

He then admitted our room had not been upgraded. He seemed to care less
that we lost a day and were inconvenienced with having to move. He
even charged us for the first night -- if he had any sort of customer
service, he would have refunded the first day's stay.

AND IT'S NOT AT ALL walking distance to
the beach. It is a good 20 minute walk to the beach.

You can do way better than the Canalside Inn--trust me.

And if you are thinking about staying here--call Steve and ask a few
questions. You'll quickly get a feel for his warm tone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank nohobillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I stayed at this place recently and thought it was great. Very clean, very conveniently located (easy walk to shops and restaurants in the dowtown area but I think too far to walk to the beach comfortably so we drove), nicely decorated and sized rooms, parking right there, out of the mix enough to be quiet and peaceful, and other nice amenities like a small pool and hottub and breakfast in a nicely decorated large lounge type area. Only thing that was not great was that the innkeepers had the personality of wallpaper and a total lack of interest in guests and lack of friendliness (in my experience). I thought they were in the wrong business and could use a friendly/energy pill! But, all in all, I don't need the red carpet, I just need a nice place to stay and this was it. They did a nice job in creating a nice place to stay and I presume they are going to keep on with the renovations and that'll make the place even greater. Far nicer than where I stayed last time - Silverlake Inn (though the innkeepers there were super nice and helpful). Silverlake was nice too, but the rooms were not nearly as nice and crisp feeling.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lfo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

It's like staying at a small hotel designed by Ikea or Crate and Barrel! The room decor is modern, but warm. The downstairs gathering room has 2 LCD TVs, and is a great place to meet others, or just to sit and read. Nice pool and hot tub. My favorite place to stay in Rehoboth Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kirrabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

My husband and I chose to stay at this inn based on TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed.

Highlights:
1. Rate: We paid $140 for our room, which we felt was a fair price for a nice room in a hot beach town on Memorial Day weekend.
2. Room/linens: The room (poolside queen) was small but well-appointed, with nice bedding and cute/funky decor. The room was very clean.
3. Bikes: The inn has free bikes. We loved pedaling around town. Be sure to head to the boardwalk before 10 to ride on it!
4. Breakfast: The continental breakfast was quite hearty, offering fruit salad, yogurt, danishes, bagels, cereal and juice.
5. Lounge room: The room is comfy, quiet and includes internet. This room would be perfect for a family or group staying at the inn to gether in.

Lowlights:
1. Curtains: Our room's curtains (sheer, white) did little to block the morning sunlight. Fortunately, we are heavy sleepers, but for others, we think the inn needs to add more substantial blinds or curtains.
2. Carpet in our room had stains (from the pets allowed on the property?)
3. Room was really small
4. Bean bag chair: Although the bean bag chair in the room is an interesting idea, we found it to be impractical and not something we'd really use. We'd have preferred a more typical chair and table.

To address some of the other posts, the host, Steven, was really quiet, but we don't think it was because he is unfriendly or rude. We thought he just has a quiet personality. Don't hold that against the inn. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the inn to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DCmetrodogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

In a nutshell, the Inn is nice, the great room for coffee and TV and internet is very nice. The Inn was very clean and well appointed,
However, We did not receive any maid service for our stay.
We ended up making our own beds and cleaning up the coffee mugs and taking them downstairs. Given that the season is only 3 weeks away (yes we did get the off season rate) the grounds needed to be cleaned up. The designated smoking area (yes one of those) hadn't been touched all winter, it was dirty and full of leaves. The street was cleaner. Lastly, the other guests were very nice, much nicer and friendlier than the Innkeeper on site for this weekend. The expression on his face was blank and not engaging in the slightest. A good morning goes a long way to your guests, you shouldn't have to pry it out of them. This came highly recommended by our friends that stay there quite a bit. I would go back if they put a smile on their face as they take your money and the maid provides room cleaning services, and then they may get a tip for the envelope that is left in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sugarpiedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews