We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It has charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summer Place Hotel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It has charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My friends and I stayed at Summer Place Hotel over Memorial Day weekend. We had been to Rehoboth before, and didnt want to be far from the main area. The location is great, being only few blocks to the beach and to the main street. The hotel itself was small and you can hear your neighbors, but for the price it was reasonable. The owner/ front desk dude was really nice and helpful and has some cool memorabilia in the lobby area. All in all, I think we will be back!

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or pool located at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylCC227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    48
    25
    30
    89
See reviews for
40
97
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I gave this hotel all 5 because they did an excellent job on making their hotel the worse hotel and I do me the worse. Cleanliness there was old food in the cabinet and the dishes that was expected to be used was horrible. The location of my room was disgusting there was old rusted lawn furniture tucked out of site in the bushes. We had kids running up and down the room/ apt above us this was all night than early morning. Now as for the room if you actually read this rave review. I was supposed to sleep 4 there was a so called futon in the livingroom it was broken and had two futon mattress on it you couldn't sit on it as a couch sleeping on it sucked the bedroom or walk in closet whichever you chose to call it that bed look like it was used by the hr like the futon...now for the closing best thing there is no refunds so when I had to leave a day early I lost my money...plus get this YOU HAVE TO PAY TO PARK THERE. I couldn't get over that plus it wasn't like my truck was in a goo place it was on a pad in front of the house behind the sidewalk with another car parked behind me..so yea the are the best at being the worse place ever.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pretty1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We've stayed here before and always been pleased. It looks like some recent upgrades have been made and Dan has professional housekeeping done now. Close to the boardwalk, restaraunts and night life. We love this place! Thanks Dan

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashncolesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked this hotel through American Express Travel. I figured I was getting a great deal because it was the off season and I was booking a one night stay. I couldn't have been more wrong ; $7 would have been too much for this hole.
We were greeted in the cluttered lobby and the clerk explained that they were "rearranging some things" After we were handed the keys and made our way down the hall to our room, we opened the door only to find complete disappointment waiting on the other side. The king bed was shoehorned into the room, leaving about 18 inches all around to navigate. No closet, only wire shelves along one wall. We turned back to the door and that's when we noticed the substantial build up of MOLD in the corners. Not a little, or a spot, but floor to ceiling around the door frame. There was also mold around both sides of the door to the tiny unkempt bathroom, on the bathroom walls, and in the stand-up shower stall (no tub here). There was also mold creeping along the wall to that wire shelf where, sadly, the extra blanket was kept. We stayed about 4 minutes in the room and when we walked back to the lobby to complain we found that no one was there. Not in the lobby, not in the office, not on the front porch. No clerk or management (I assume that's the same person anyway). We re-packed our car and called AMEX to complain about the supposed 3 star accommodations. Helpful as they were, they had no luck reaching the hotel at three different numbers, so we booked 5 miles down the highway and fled from this monstrosity. The next morning we find that the hotel tacked on about $15 to what they told me was a "paid in full" stay - waiting for my charge to post so I can dispute the charges from this disgustingly misrepresented "hotel". Please take a look at the photos, they will clearly show that, if anything, I have understated the deplorable conditions.

Room Tip: Rooms at any property in Rehoboth Beach are better than this. If this is the only room available, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I've been there for one week in room 23 with 2 friends of mine. Everything was great! Low price=good quality. 3 minutes walk to beach. I think lowest prices in Rehoboth. Nice owner - Dan.
We enjoyed it, thanks Dan!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Максим К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontana, california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you are frugal and conservative with your finances - as I am, then this is the place in Rehoboth Beach to stay. It's only one block away from the beach and within walking distance from shops and restaurants. There is no price comparison for this location! Staff and management are friendly and accommodating. Although the rooms are not so spacious, they do have all of the amenities of the "chain hotels". (mini fridge, a/c, microwave, table & chairs) If you need parking that can be accommodated with a parking permit on the street, if all of the spaces are full in the hotel parking lot. I definitely will be returning, as this hotel exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justbnme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife & I recently attempted to stay at this hotel (if you want to call it that).

We entered the room and were utterly disappointed. The room had a broken down air conditioner, with clear openings to the street., which caused the room to be very cold and drafty. The room was otherwise very old, tiny, and not well maintained. There was only a light blanket for the bed, which we were afraid to sleep in. The bathroom wasn't much more than what you would expect at a camp. Since we had a number of belongings that would have had to be taken up to the room, it was very difficult to do so due to the very narrow and winding stairs to the 2nd floor. The photographs on the internet, publicizing the rooms in the hotel, looked nothing like the room we were given. The hotel did not appear to be very safe and secure.

Since we were not at all comfortable in staying at the hotel, we drove to look for another place to stay. Once we had found an alternative (which was now much more expensive), we made other arrangements. When I returned the next day to return the keys, the front entrance was dark and no one was to be found. My only alternative was to leave the keys in an envelope on the check-in counter, including a written message of my disappointment with the whole situation.

I sent a written request to the hotel manager stating that I would appreciate a refund of the reservation. I have heard nothing to-date,even though I have now contacted them three times now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chuck and Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Place Hotel

Property: Summer Place Hotel
Address: 30 Olive Ave, PO Box 673, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable guest house style hotel room-located on the Ocean Block of Rehoboth Beach -offers 23 rooms- relatively new- clean- private bath- cable television- telephone- microwave- air conditioning- heat- and refrigerator- Rooms accomodate two or three- with either one king bed- one double bed- two twins or double plus a twin bed- Cots available upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Summer Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Place Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Summer Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing