We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Summer Place Hotel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This "hole-in-the-wall" was absolutely disgusting, such a scam...easily the worst vacation experience of our lives. We basically walked into a closet that had an overpowering stench of mildew and dead bugs all over the place. We were afraid to put our stuff down or even take a shower since there was a spiderweb hanging from the faucet. The place didn't look like it had been cleaned since it was opened. We were also woken up all night long by the slamming of the stairwell door. And I almost forgot to mention that you had to ring the bell no less than ten times before being serviced. We got the hell out of there the next day and left early with no refund. Please don't waste your money; unfortunately it ruined our whole Rehoboth Beach experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soccer14k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    49
    26
    31
    94
See reviews for
43
100
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our personal experience has always been pleasant in the 4 years we have stayed at Summer Place Hotel. You cant get a better place to stay this close to the beach for the price and hospitality. The parking is very easy at 5 dollars a day and your car is right outside your door. Only 1 block from beach and 1.5 blocks from rehoboth ave.

Room Tip: specify your wants in the reservation email and Dan will be happy to accomadate you. I would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zachary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I read the reviews before we ventured out to Rehobeth and must say that it made me a bit nervous. Lesson learned- don't let one person's horrible experience determine yours. Our experience was extremely pleasant. It's not luxury, but who needs that at the beach? Rooms were clean, a bit small, but perfect for our needs. This beach house is located in the heart of the town and everything is within walking distance.. Who could ask for more. When I was getting my complimentary coffee, I had the pleasure of conversation w/ the owner.. He really is a nice guy. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momofjna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

After all the reviews I read, I was really worried about what I would find. This was a last minute trip and everything on/near the beach was booked, so I took the plunge. With such low rates, you have to go in with the expectation that you are staying at a motel, not a hotel. My king size room met this expectation. The room was clean, no stains on the bed sheets and no bugs. The size of the room was small, but it met it's purpose. Bathroom was clean, the AC unit in the room worked, tv worked, and the mini fridge worked. I came to Rehoboth Beach to spend time at the beach, not the hotel so I didn't mind staying here. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, then don't stay here. This is a motel so don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank may s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

It has been a while since I was at that dirty hotel and the reason why I waited so long is because I couldn't remember the name. However after looking at some reviews, I see nothing has changed. First the hotel is dirty, smelly, bug infested and the front desk keeper is not only rude, but unconerned about any thing but payment for the room. This is the worst at the beach. STAY AWAY FROM THIS ROACH MOTEL

Room Tip: The rooms are all dirty!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

It was a Saturday night stay. Second week of june. High season. We arrived at the lobby, it looked shady, nobody at the desk. There was an old piano there, old coach from junk yard and some other junk around. The lobby wasn't inviting.
Finally, after we rang the bell three times, a man showed up with naked torso! Whatever! (I'm not even mentioning the level of professionalism here). He charged us $5 room key deposit and said we stayed upstairs. Oh man, how dreadful we felt when we arrived there...
It was a room about 10x10 sq ft with a california king bed taking up all the space. The air conditioner had a broken frame but worked..fridge was unplugged but worked.
Upon bed inspection, the quilted spread was dirty, and NO sheet underneath. All the bedding sheets used to be white but now showed a grayish tint and stains all over.
Furniture was old, stained, and the only "updates" were the black lamp still in original store packaging (see pic) and flat tv.

The bathroom. Absolutely disgusting.
Towels had blood stains (see pic), shower cabin was a tiny square, and we found a creature on the floor ( see pic)...
The door is really easy to kick in, the lock is unreliable.
Some crazy people were banging at neighbors door at 6am, so forget about decent sleep.

And we got all this "luxury" for a meager $200 a night, who would have thought??

My advise: Stay as far away as you can. Better sleep in the car.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mashechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a one star-type hotel, but unlike most one-stars I've stayed at the room was spotless. It's very close to beach and there is an outdoor shower (hot water but no stall) to shower in when you come back from the beach.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies; I think its the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelersinlove28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Place Hotel

Property: Summer Place Hotel
Address: 30 Olive Ave, PO Box 673, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable guest house style hotel room-located on the Ocean Block of Rehoboth Beach -offers 23 rooms- relatively new- clean- private bath- cable television- telephone- microwave- air conditioning- heat- and refrigerator- Rooms accomodate two or three- with either one king bed- one double bed- two twins or double plus a twin bed- Cots available upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Summer Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Place Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Summer Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing