We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Always Terrific” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Espuma - CLOSED

Espuma
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st street
Washington DC Area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always Terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Espuma about a half dozen times over the last 4 years. It never disappoints. The ambiance is upscale and intimate, the service excellent, and the food is the finest in Rehoboth Beach - bar none. It's fine dining that rivals high-end restaurants in DC. You'll have an excellent, "can't miss" dining experience here. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank LVBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    30
    14
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary with a wonderful dinner at Espuma. The restaurant is small, attractive and comfortable. We started with a very good, dry martini and a "Blood Orange" cocktail, which was beautiful and packed a punch. The server explained the menu well, and there were interesting choices. Each course, including a complimentary mini-appetizer, was beautifully presented and delicious, including the sourdough bread with 3 little spreads. Neither of us could finish our paella, and dessert was out of the question. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Recmanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We go to Rehoboth every summer for family time and have tried many of the restaurants there but had never tried Espuma. The amazing thing is that this restaurant is only about 100 feet from the house in which we usually stay as guests and we had passed it by many time on the way to other restaurants.

After reviewing the menu we decided to give it a try just for something new. What a surprise. The menu is limited but covers all the bases including wonderful vegetarian selections. The meal was truly outstanding with every part of the meal prepared to perfection. There were three couples in our party and we all tried something different from the menu. Everyone claimed they had made the best choice. The meal was creative, both in its presentation and in the complexity of flavors. Nothing against Rehoboth, but it's hard to believe that this chef isn't in Boston, New York or Washington DC.

The meal was on the higher end of the budget but great value for dollar for those wanting a special evening in Rehoboth. The wine list is limited but includes some very nice wines, both red and white. The setting is intimate, the service was warm, friendly and very efficient when combined with great food resulted in a very pleasant end to a special family week.

Visit before someone steals this chef to a larger market.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FredB911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved the food, the staff, and the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

From our "lost" phone call when the hostess came out to the street to wave us into the restaurant, to the waiter's making sure we had our doggie bag when we left, we had a truly enjoyable experience. We started with cocktails, and were really impressed with their flavor and unusual combinations (limoncello & basil, and peach & jalapeno). The appetizers and mains also "wowed" especially the stuffed pepper and the pork. (Some misses -- the not tender beets, and rice in the paella really didn't seem to work.) But overall, very helpful and attentive staff, and great thought and ingredients made the food quite delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great creativity in Spanish fusion cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well presented environment, with not over the top servers pretending something that they are not. Great quality food that required a true thought process and effort. Creativity in designing dishes, comparable to most sophisticated establishments. The fact that it is located at the beach, enables one to bring well behaved teenagers, but I would not bring young children. Thank you for another great meal at Espuma!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ggold7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espuma also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing