We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beachy place with an ocean view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obie's By The Sea

Obie's By The Sea
Ranked #160 of 269 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beachy place with an ocean view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was right next to our hotel, and was a great place to hang out, have dinner or lunch, and enjoy the ocean view. Their sandwich wraps and nachos were great, and their pina coladas are incredible. Great, friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    16
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“If you don't smoke, don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food here has never been anything to write home about. It's pub fare and only mediocre pub fare at that. But it has a truly sweet view of the ocean - where most restaurants in Rehboth are set back off the boardwalk. So really, they fail to take advantage of this selling point.

I hadn't been for a long time before I went a few weeks ago. I was with a family of three, including their 12 year old daughter and it was a Sunday night with perfect weather, at about 5:30 pm. The food arrived and no one was impressed but neither were they depressed.

Then, it happened. A large man sitting at the next table pulled a cigar and asked us if we minded if he smoked. My friend said that we had just gotten our meals and we had a child with us. He shrugged and smiled and lit up, as though he couldn't care less. He did this through our entire meal. A couple of tables over, another nasty smoker was polluting the atmosphere.

Grow up and join the 21st century Obies. Tell people these smoking slobs to go elsewhere - just post a no smoking sign and you'll attract a better sort of client and you might actually have repeat diners.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matollygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“terrible food, terrible service all for a small fortune”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I realize Obies in Rehoboth is a tourist trap, but this is still over the top. The food is awful , ther service if you can get it, is terrible and all of this for prices you won't believe. Terrible!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Obie's use to be one of my favorite places to go - I've been going there for over 20 years. It sits right on the boardwalk at Olive Ave. and you can sit at their outside tables right on the boardwalk to eat. Full bar and always has great music playing - perfect beach ambience. The food and wait service has taken a nosedive, however. I always order their famous Hobo burger (hamburger with cheddar cheese and mango chutney). This time I ordered a Hobo burger and received a regular hamburger. After finally being able to flag my waiter back down, he took the burger back to the kitchen to have the cheese and chutney added. The bun was all greasy, the burger was completely overcooked and by then the fries were cold. My daughter ordered a salad to go with her chicken tenders - she received fries and no salad. Obviously they just don't care anymore. Won't go back again. I can make a much better Hobo burger at home.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuanaMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Drink there, eat someplace else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Outdoor bar on boardwalk was perfect for a cool drink. However dining experience was poor with disappointing food, mixed up orders, and slow service. We'll be back for drinks, but not for a meal with so many other options out there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pand K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obie's By The Sea also viewed

 

Been to Obie's By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing