We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Typical Beach Bar Restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obie's By The Sea

Obie's By The Sea
Ranked #160 of 269 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Rochester, Mi
Level Contributor
168 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Typical Beach Bar Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is not fine dining, this is a bar that serves food on the beach/boardwalk. Limited menu items but with great beer and drinks and awesome views. We ate here twice last week... crabcakes, steamed clams, steamed shrimp and fried shrimp we can recommend...would not recommend the chicken salad though (lots of it, just no taste). We had great service...in fact our server from our 1st visit recognized us when we returned and came running over to take care of us again.... it appeared that it was mainly American college kids that were working the place when we were there. Our service was really good. We would go back

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elphie1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    16
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful do NOT go!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Food was awful, service even worse! Went with 7 people ordered a variety of food all being awful. The burgers were frozen patties and the chicken tender basket looked like a kids portion, got about a handful of cold nasty French fries! To top it off there was a hair in my husband food and they did nothing about it. Not only did they do nothing about it but the so called manger was rude no personality at all, then she was at the bar talking about us and pointing to us to a "regular" at the bar. Please do not go here and waste your money!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittmarie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bel air, md
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not go here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We are not very picky people but this food was terrible! Do NOT waste your money here. The chicken tenders tasted like they were cooked in shrimp. We don't even know where our waiter was half of the time. Then we complained and another waiter told us how they have had multiple changes in management and he feels they are going cheap on the food as well. My Grilled Chicken sandwich was rubber on a bun I couldn't even eat it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank insurance209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beach Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Good beach bar with pub food, nice view of the beach in Rehoboth. Great fries and cold beer

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
80 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The view is the best thing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I have given this eatery a second try a year later but the quality of the food has not improved. I will not be back.

Helpful?
Thank GBG2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obie's By The Sea also viewed

 

Been to Obie's By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing