We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricy, but well worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Table Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Captain's Table Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pricy, but well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

At the age of late 60ties, we felt like youngster entering the restaurant. It was filled to the brim-sole marker with old age, probably not the less affluent ones.

We asked for a table at the window which was nice. As there were many arrivals just before us, we had to wait a bit for the food. My wife chose a salad and I chose Rib-eye.

The attendants were very observant and there were plenty around. The owner, a young woman, - stopped in at peak of service to help out. She also came to our table for a short “checkup” on her “clients”.

I was destined to end up in the restaurant business, but “misfortune” brought me into the tricks and treats of finance. When I watch a well run “joint”, - it tends to warm my heart. It is business, but it should be run the way that customers return again, and again.

We decided to stay two days our our hotel next door instead of one, just to have another go at the menu. The food was that good. The last time I enjoyed such a delicious meal was at the Anasazi Restaurant in Santa Fe - 2 years ago. It is a good thing I do not live at Rehoboth Beach. I would have put on even more weight!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phagerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Owner Has Poor Food Prep High Prices Small Portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

For you foodies...the new chef is a graduate of C.I.A. as is my daughter. We waited 45 minutes after ordering our meals, at which time the waitress came out and said they couldn't get the mussels open and we had to order something else. HUH? That means they are DEAD and shouldn't be served! The onion soup wsa so salty it was barely edible-the chicken tough and dry. A $28.00 rib eye entree was 7 1/4" 2" x2" slices of beef on top of a 1/2 of potatoes-the menu led you to believe that you were ordering an entire steak for $28.00.

They have 1/2 painted the restaurant and have ruined the interior-it looks like they ran out of money. Overall a disappointing and frustrating experience-compounded by embarrassment as we had highly recommended to to friends who had joined us there for the 1st time. This one won't make it through 2013.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not ready for prime time.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very disappointng dinner, especially considering the prices. Hour wait for appetizers. Received round of comped drinks, but that is not always a wise thing and does nothing for nondrinkers. Entrees ranged from excelllent to poor. Order a ribeye steak and get a few medallions over roasted potatoes? No!! This place was dreary before and even more so since extremely slow renovations began. There is no reason for this restaurant to be open until it gets its act together. Waitrss was a saint to endure these conditions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeninRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A delicious step back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

An evening at The Captain's Table is like a fine beach dining experience, circa 1970. The dark wood ambience, seafaring pictures and colonial furniture put me in mind of my childhood visits to the Delaware and Jersey Sores. The service was great... Our sassy waitresses Amy and Terry never led us astray, and I'll be forever grateful for Amy's recommendation of the Stuffed Lobster Tails...over the top delicious. Loved being invited to the kitchen to meet the 91 year old matriarch 'Granny' who still makes oyster stew, crab imperial and crab cakes daily...a must for every seafood lover. This was our second visit, and I'm certain we'll be back again and again!

Helpful?
Thank BeachBumDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waleska, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Homemade food AND excellent HH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wow, dollar drafts and chicken and dumplings Wednesday....outstanding! HH menu half price and food is soo good. An often overlooked Gem in / near Dewey...just past the canal. REAL waitresses here and in uniform. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Table Restaurant also viewed

 
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing