We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gotta have me some Grottos!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grotto Pizza

Grotto Pizza
Ranked #67 of 269 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gotta have me some Grottos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Can't get this pizza anywhere else in the world and it is aweso e. secret is in the criust which co es out crispy unIike other pies. So delist!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 5STARz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    85
    41
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
Level Contributor
195 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Lousy Pizza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Lousy Pizza for the price, way to expensive for a family. Nice clean returant. Just over priced. don't treat you like guest. Push you in and out. Staff looking for tips, if you don't put a drink order in to jack up the price they thump up their nose.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lancaster4luvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Some people really hate on Grotto, but I can't. I grew up in Rehoboth Beach. Spent much of my life in NYC. Have been living in California now for over 15 years. Grew up in an Italian-American family.

My mouth waters for this pizza, and I've tasted pizza all over the world--even in Italy itself. New York pizza. New Jersey pizza. Chicago pizza. California Pizza. Gourmet pizza from D.C. Authentic pizza in Naples, Italy, where pizza was born. There is just nothing in the world, TO ME, like Grotto pepperoni pizza.

I don't care if the employees in the restaurants greet me with a dirty look, an insult, and a hard slap across the face; or whether or not the pizza itself is overpriced (and admittedly they are overpriced); I've been hooked on this stuff all my life. I have to order their sauce and other items from their website so that I can have the taste all year round as I only get home a few times a year.

You either love it, or you hate it. Personally, I love it, and I'm a discriminating, serious, pizza eater. It's the taste of Delaware, NOT NYC, NOT Chicago, NOT Italy. If you go in expecting that, you'll be disappointed. Try something different, and embrace the uniqueness of it.

They started with one restaurant in 1960, and now have 18 locations across the state. Three of them are less than a 1/4 mile from each other. That's not a coincidence. That's a sign of excellent pizza and excellent business.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“good and consisten”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We've have at least one meal at grotto every time we visit the Delawae Beach. Grotto still turns out a consistent product. A good (not great) thin crust pizza. It seems like their was more allure to Grotto years ago when there was only a couple of locations at the beach rather than locations throughout the state of Delaware. Beyond pizza, the offerings at Grotto are minimal and of varying quality. While based on the quality of the pizza alone I would rate Grotto higher, the combination of limited unexceptional alternate choices along with relatively high prices brings the rating down a bit. A "Large" (16") pizza with 2 toppings will top the $22.00 mark, a 12" meatball sandwich with fries will hit $12.00. The addition (a couple of years ago) of "Grotto Gelato" to the menu was a plus. Try the blood orange--delicious.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank marty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Love the Pizza! I got plain cause I dont think you need any topping.Its good plain! Delicious cheese and sauce and they even deliver!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kathleen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Grotto Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing