We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Always tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thrasher's French Fries

Thrasher's French Fries
Ranked #14 of 266 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Mass.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I look forward to Thrasher's fries everytime we come to Rehoboth. They are fresh, hot, tasty and addictive. They are a bit greasy, so I can't give them 5 stars, but hey they are french fries!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GardenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    67
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yuck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I get that there's no pizza like NY pizza. However, I've had pizza in many different places and this was by far the worst. For the prices they charge, I expected a decent slice of pizza. This was far from that. It was not only served cold, but it had very little taste. I had to smother it with spices in order to make it edible. Would not recommend this place for pizza.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Codysmom4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The fries are made in peanut oil and are AMAZING! They are wonderful with vinegar on them. You must try them while you are walking along the boardwalk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGranny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
241 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,535 helpful votes
“a staple on the boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family and I moved to Delaware about four years ago. We were told to check out Thrasher's fries when at the beach. Boy, was that a mistake. Now I went some every time we come! Here's why:

Thrasher's fries their fries in peanut oil for just the right amount of time. Golden brown on the outside with a perfect taste on the inside. They are always fresh and HOT!

Their customer service is always great. They are fast! There may or may not be a long line, but it moves very quickly. If the customer at the counter is finishing up, the person manning the fries might ask what size you want. By the time you are up there handing over the the money, your bucket is waiting for you.

They provide salt and vinegar which is excellent. Thankfully, no ketchup!

So why don't we visit every time we are at the beach? You could buy a sack of potatoes for the price of one bucket. Here are the current prices:

Small $4.50
Medium $6.50
Large $9.50

People gladly pay the price for these delicious fries. They are filling. We typically enjoy sharing a bucket maybe once per season.

They do accept Visa, MasterCard and Discover. Unfortunately, they do not accept American Express. I wish they did.

If you purchase a large drink, keep the plastic cup. You can return for a $1.25 refill (it was $1.00 up until this season) even in future years.

Please have a look at the pictures I have included. The bucket you see me holding is the large. You will also see a picture of the current menu with prices for both fries and drinks. If you find the pictures or this review helpful, please let me know by clicking the button below. Thanks for reading.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluecookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Only Game in Town Strikes again!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you want shore fries this is where you go. Lines of people waiting for hot fresh French Fries smothered in Malt vinegar and salt. The lines move fast and the fries are always fresh. Just don't ask for Ketchup. And you might as well get the big bucket because you'll end up going back anyway

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovetochew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thrasher's French Fries also viewed

 

Been to Thrasher's French Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing