We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“French patisserie NIRVANA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Papillon

Cafe Papillon
Ranked #5 of 26 Dessert in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“French patisserie NIRVANA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

In a word, wow. This, from a person who takes 3 days to bake baguettes in the traditional French manner, with separate builds and 6 hours start to finish on baking day. Eclairs made with house-made-from-scratch French custard. Croissants hand-rolled and baked on site. Generous portions of coffee.

I think I died and went to heaven.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stevek81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    15
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
142 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A trip back down memory lane in Paris...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I shared the ham and cheese with the hubby. We watched the man make it the entire way. Very neat. We opted for pepper as seasoning. I had thought crepes were slightly crispy, but it's been many years since I've been to France. It was delicious!! We actually also picked up 2 croissant from them earlier, but I didn't realize it was the same shop. They just looked so good, but I haven't eaten them yet. The owner had a French accent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peakibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Crepes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What more do you need to know? Stand in line. Get a crepe. Eat is standing up, because you won't get a table. Be happy. (I like fresh banana, cinnamon, and whipped cream.)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MacyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best crepes in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Crepes like you get in Paris...thin and delicious...the salmon is the best, but also get the Nutella for desert.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank OCtrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bon Apetit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Authentic french crepes prepared right in front of you by people from France. Filling choices include eggs, ham, cheese, fresh fruit, chocolate, tomatoes and more. Located in the Penny Lane shopping alley (first block from the boardwalk, btw. Rehoboth Ave. & Wilmington Ave.).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LuanaMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Papillon also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Cafe Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing